We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"So Very Central"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“"So Very Central"”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have been visiting the Lake District for many years, mainly around Windermere/Ambleside area. Last year we tried Middle Ruddings and found it superb for our needs, its so central for everywhere around the Lakes, its near the liveliest and in our opinion the best lakeland town of Keswick which has something for everyone. The hotel offers a very substantial breakfast with a superb evening meal menu, the atmosphere in the bar at night is great, the price of drink is very reasonable. Andy, Liz and Tom are very friendly and helpful, we will go back again for the third time next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 2 and 5 both are roomy and bright ideal for our rough collie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tensixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    80
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
41
122
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

A friendly welcome greeted us on our latish arrival - Friday after work - but we were soon sitting down to enjoy an excellent meal on the D/B/B package which we found good value - although it does encourage you to have pudding! My partner was also very pleased with the selection of real ales on offer. Our room faced the back so no problem with noise and the bath (with overhead shower) was very relaxing after a long walk on the hills. Breakfast was a delight with home-made jam/marmalade, custom-made seed/grain museli and newly baked buns.
We like the location of this hotel, being c4 miles from Keswick, with Whinlatter and excellent walking on the doorstep. The owners have taken care to provide those little extra touches which really make this a great value place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

warm. welcoming, fab breakfast and presentaton 100%- evening menu varied, fresh and home made puds!! i had a balcony so could have a ciggie ( with garden balcony door closed) only downer was bath took 20-25 mins 2 fill, but shower great staff fab nothing 2 much trouble thanks all

Room Tip: all good spotless rooms done daily- if want garden balcony ask for rusking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A nice small and friendly hotel. We stayed two nights and dined on both nights in a lovely conservatory. The service on the first evening was far better than the night after, I think this was due to the lovely lady who seemed to be the manageress, she was excellent and we certainly missed her the following night when two young people were in charge.

The evening meal was good but the breakfasts were a little disappointing. We had one of the bedrooms overlooking the main road, and it was far too noisey. On the second night we closed all the windows during the night to cut down on the vehicle noise from the main road which passes in front of the hotel .This would have been a problem if the weather had been very warm. The bedroom was acceptable apart from the shower which needed some tidying up, but this may be unfair as work was in progress modernising another room, maybe our shower was the next to be updated.
If you like quieter places as we do then request a bedroom at the back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherman99503937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

A friendly welcome and an excellent meal in the evening. Single bedrooms are very small and breakfast was unimpressive - perhaps an off-day. The hotel is close to main road but has a pleasant terrace to enjoy a summer's evening drink,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. Great room, excellent room, delicious food, warm friendly staff, and wonderful local ales, I thouroughly enjoyed my stay, and will definately go back again..... and again and again. Any complaints? None. Well some might find the portions too big, but that's hardly a complaint.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animalfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we stayed for 2 nights with our dog and this place is dog friendly but doesnt smell of dogs, it was spotlessly clean altough a little old fashioned, we stayed in room 1 which was quite small overlooking the carpark. I was a little disappointed as I had emailed and asked for a room with a bath and a shower but room 1 only had a shower, not a particulary god shower but it did the job.( I didnt tell them that I had asked)
The staff were excellent from the moment we stepped through the door and us and the dog were made to feel welcome.
The food was very good and we ate there both nights and the drink prices were very reasonable. again the staff and service was excellent
I would recomend Middle Ruddings to all age groups

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellesfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
1.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
701 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Property: Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Address: Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middle Ruddings Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Middle Ruddings Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Ruddings Country Inn Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing