We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A group of 7 walking friends stayed here for two nights last weekend. The accommodation was excellent, the food (both breakfasts and dinner) was delicious and varied, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. It is superbly located - near the A66 but far enough away not to hear the traffic - and ideal for walking from right outside the hotel entrance. Tea and home-made cake on our return from the walk were also very well received! We would certainly recommend it and have already booked to return there next year.

Room Tip: The room with the roof garden is lovely in fine weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    79
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
120
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having been re directed here following a mix up with a booking at another establishment my sister and I imagined we would be merely salvaging our much needed weekend away. How wrong we were! Couldn't find one fault with this lovely Inn from the warm welcome, spotless and very comfortable rooms to the outstanding breakfasts.Dogs welcomed and will definately be returning with mine (when he stops eating cushions!} Many thanks to all the staff for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentleys359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been staying here on & off for over 20 years - that in itself should say something. Andy, Liz & the family make this hotel a very pleasant place to rest & eat [food excellent]. There is nothing pretentious about the hotel, bar or restaurant which is just how we like it; feels like staying with friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, some are better for families. Rooms at the back are quieter, but that is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for a couple of days with a walking group. We were made very welcome and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. A homely hotel where the room was comfortable with the added bonus of piping hot water which didn't run out, which is not often the case when a group of weary walkers descend on a hotel after a strenuous day! A variety of real ales added to the enjoyment as did the very good food, including excellent full Cumbrian Breakfast!
If you don't like dogs don't go there but all rooms are thoroughly cleaned, so apart from their possible presence, you shouldn't find and trace in your room.
A very good choice if you want to walk in the Keswick area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Back for the third time, can't say enough about this hotel,it is so handy for visiting all over the Lake District. The hotel itself is first class, Andy Liz n Tom run it so well. Its not the plushest hotel in the Lakes but is more than made up for with the friendly staff, excellent food and very nice surroundings. Special mention for "CLAIRE" young lass that works there you will never see her without a smile on her face, a real pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 5 ideal for medium size dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tensixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Very welcoming and staff were so helpful. Unfortunately I left too early on each day of my two day stay so can't comment on breakfast which I still paid for however, I was offered cereal and fruit to be left for me.
Location and views couldn't be bettered. Good VfM.
Very nice staff and very nice place.
Satnav/postcode directions are a nightmare - ask hotel for accurate directions when you book.

Room Tip: If you want a relatively quiet room ask not to be placed in room 1. You can hear conversations word...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Laing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A warm welcome, a warm and comfortable room, a fabulous evening meal and a truly delightful breakfast. Highly recommended! This was our second visit to Middle Ruddings, and we will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyRainie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
1.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
578 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
2.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Property: Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Address: Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Middle Ruddings Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Middle Ruddings Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Ruddings Country Inn Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing