We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middle Ruddings Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was a quiet refuge and provided a peaceful, enjoyable and restful stay in this area. The staff were friendly, helpful, caring and very obliging. Breakfast was wonderful, varied and delicious. The hotel is close to the city but transport is needed to get about. There is a huge number of attractions within the area as well as many great walks. Access to other centres was ways and the hotel staff were helpful giving directions etc. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there sometime in the future and I will definitely be recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I were staying at the HPB property down the road and decided to eat here on a Monday night. The food was very good (the lamb in particular) and the beer was also excellent. They book the table for the evening for you so there is no rushing you out for another sitting. We liked it so much that we tried to eat there on the Wednesday but they were fully booked by 5.30.
All of the staff were really friendly, if you are in Braithwaite it is definitely worth trying.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EssexTiredDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from a 'too short' stay in the Lake District which included attending a family wedding. Middle Ruddings is a lovely small hotel and good value for money. The food is great - large portions, good quality and selection and lots of choice for those with special dietary needs. Special mention to Liz's homemade muesli. The rooms could do with a bit of updating - they are a bit dated but perfectly comfortable with every amenity. The main downside was the shower - not a trickle but definitely not a power shower and the temperature comes and goes. We also had a disrupted last night due to a large family booking who felt it was acceptable to shout and run from room to room slamming doors whilst other guests were trying to sleep!! However we would highly recommend this hotel and would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jjak-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have eaten at the Middle Ruddings many times because they are so friendly and welcoming of both us and our dog, but this was the first time we have stayed, having persuaded two sets of our friends from the South to sample the delights of the Lake District. We stayed for three nights at the beginning of August and we had a fabulous time - Beki and the rest of the team just couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome in this lovely hotel. We ate in the hotel on the first and last night and the food was excellent and yet such good value with a wide choice and a very good wine-list. Portions are large so you need to have had a good walk in the stunning Northern Lakes between the hearty breakfast and your evening meal. Our bedroom was at the back and was very welcoming and our king-size bed was exceptionally comfortable. Our bathroom was a little dated and the water pressure in the shower was poor (hence the four rating rather than a five) but everything was spotlessly clean and well set-up. The views from the front of the hotel if you have a room on the front are awesome The staff are the key to any hotel stay and without a doubt you come away feeling that all the staff in this hotel really do want you to have enjoyed being with them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeremybwfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at middle ruddings in June. Our second visit and travelled with friends. Had same room as last time and it was ok, comfy bed, old fashioned room but we like it. Gorgeous views. Food was great, huge portions too big for me. It did say on web that you could ask for smaller helpings, I did and was told not possible as how do you halve a steak or a gammon slice or a pie, fair point I had starters 4 nights as a main. None of us ever managed a desert which was a shame. If you use the restaurant please make sure you keep a check on what you have as it is really muddle not middle ruddings when it came to check out time. Our bills were totally wrong, some nights we were shown as not to have eaten there, some nights we had our friends meal on our bill and vice versa. The lady ( the chef and owner I think) who checked us out asked us what we had and tried to add it up manually. Even guessing some prices of the specials as she could not remember them. Only excuse offered was that they were very busy. Which was true. The young girl at the beginning of the week (fiancé of the son) was on the ball and seemed to run it great, busy busy bee and very cheerful, but she had some days off and it went to pieces.
Oh and whatever you do, do not upset Claire as she does not know the word sorry even when she is wrong and managed to make me feel very uncomfortable. Having said that I would still go back as I love the place, that is if they will still have me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just enjoyed a lovely stay, very homely, warm hospitality from all staff, and loved how dog friendly it was (though our pooch was left behind this time). Great breakfast - home made muesli, scrambled egg and sausage as the highlights. Cosy bar for our after dinner entertainment. This place helped make the Lakes District a winner for us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good value, good food, great breakfast, real ales and friendly staff. Great base for walking in the the Northern Lakes and Keswick 10 minutes away in the car. The local pubs were good for us to watch the World Cup on big screen. Will return

Room Tip: Good views at the front, quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikep49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
1.2 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
849 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coledale Inn
Coledale Inn
#2 of 6 in Braithwaite
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Ruddings Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Ruddings Country Inn

Address: Braithwaite, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range: £72 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middle Ruddings Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Middle Ruddings Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Ruddings Country Inn Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing