We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful restaurant with rooms, thoroughly enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant with rooms, thoroughly enjoyable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

In recent years my parents had often waxed lyrical about The Cottage in the Wood and its owners, Kath and Liam. Having eventually found the time to spend 3 nights there last week, I can see why. The cottage is decorated to a cosy (not small, just cosy) but contemporary style, with modern rooms, comfy beds and good hot showers. There is a good sized restaurant, and a nice lounge area (with a well stocked bookshelf and games drawer) in which to sit for a pre or post dinner drink, as well as plenty of seating on an outside patio with far-reaching views of the hills beyond.

Kath and her merry team (including the ever happy Julie and her perpetual smile) run front of house, and all are friendly and welcoming. You will always find someone there when you need them, but in the background when you are deep into a good book, or an afternoon snooze! Kath does everything she possibly can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay, and is a perfect host. Liam runs the kitchen and turns out excellent food, making the most of seasonal ingredients and what the local forest and the garden have to offer. The menu is modern, and had an impressive choice for a restaurant with only 10 rooms. There is a choice of courses and an extensive wine list to choose from.

The Cottage in the Wood offers a great environment in which to catch up with old friends, relax with the family, or get away from it all with a loved one. There is no shortage of excellent walks in the area and for the more energetic; some superb mountain-bike trails to ride in the surrounding area. There is a hire location within a 5 minute walk which has very good bikes available.

The cost of the rooms, the food, and the drinks at The Cottage in the Wood is reasonable when you consider the excellent standard to which the property is finished, the excellent service you receive throughout, and the excellent quality of food and drink. This really is a place to savour (watch out as the restaurant does not serve dinner on a Sunday or Monday evening, and I think you need to eat there to really make the most of your stay) and somewhere I will certainly return to in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    52
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
417
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

From the minute we arrived, we enjoyed the most spectacular views, incredibly original and inventive cooking and were thoroughly well looked after by the extremely welcoming and helpful hosts. Our three night stay was faultless!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaLondon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, Surrey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I had a two night stay and found the location, the atmosphere and the food to be just outstanding. The hosts Cath and Liam could not do enough for us. We stayed in the Mountain View room which has stunning views and the luxurious bed linens and Queen size bed made for a really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandymoo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

this place is in a very nice part of cumbria and the food is great i expected more menu choice and expected more from the dessert but overall it was a very good meal i realy enjoyed the starter and main course and would recomend for special occasions. cost of 3 courses is £34.00 and there was a choice of only 4 dishes on each course. but very good quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbrianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is a lovely little hotel in a great location. The food is great, the staff are really nice and very helpful, I am not particularly easy to please and I have no complaints about this hotel.

It is small, it describes itself as 'a restaurant with rooms' and so don't expect a large reception area, bell boys etc ! but what it lacks in size it certainly makes up for in style and comfort. It is lovely and quiet, has beautiful views and the guests are treated really well.

I felt really comfortable here immediately, they serve lovely meals in a dining room with wonderful views and the bar prices are really very reasonable, also there is a good wine list. In addition to this as we had a dinner B & B reservation I did not expect to be given a great table every night, usually I find that you are treated as a second class citizen in this situation being that you are a captive audience, at the cottage in the wood I felt that we were treated especially well in this respect.

What more can I say, I will be going back next year !

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppdeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed two nights in June as part of a week at three hotels in The Lakes - all of which were great and all of which we'd recommend (got from Trip Advisor).

Like the other two, this place has excellent personal service and great food. The difference is the location. This was the best!

The day we arrived, we spent climbing Skiddaw. We'd booked a room with a mountain view - and what was it? Skiddaw! The room was very comfortable with a fine bathroom.

As I said the food was great, stylish and imaginative. Both dinner and breakfast were superb. If you get to breakfast early, you can get a window seat, look at the mountain and, if you're lucky ,see red squirrels (one day out of two). We were also able to be next to the window for one of our dinners (rotation system). We had very good service and felt welcome from the start.

I recall a notice at the front saying 'restaurant with rooms'. I'd add that it has a comfortable bar area.

We want to come back next year for a walking weekend with our adult sons.

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
184 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were given a one night stay as a wedding present (a voucher for £120, however, the cost had increased from last year to this by £30 – making a B&B stay £150 for one night!). After looking on the website chose the Garden Room which unfortunately was booked; the website showed this room to have a large bathroom and bed – we were offered instead a ‘Mountain View Room’, we took this and also booked a second night. We were very excited and turned up on the Bank Holiday week end. We were sorely disappointed. There was no one in Reception to greet us, in fact there was no real Reception area at all. We asked if we could have dinner that evening and witnessed the front of house staff being barked at by the back of house staff, being told to ‘check the diary’ – not an auspicious start. No one offered to carry our bags. After having viewed the website and been advised all rooms were of the same standard, we got a small room with a tiny bathroom. The view was stunning out of one window, IF you raised your eyes from the car park as the room as overlooked from both windows (car park one side, main road the other), which meant if you emerged from the bathroom naked you could be seen from both sides. The bathroom was so small my husband, who is very tall couldn’t actually sit on the loo without crashing into the bath. There was no space and the hand towels were placed on top of the loo cistern. We had asked to take the menu to the room and were told that this was not allowed – we did eventually get the menu but it was simply incomprehensible – single words like ‘skate’ and ‘panacotta’ with no explanation of what this meant. We decided not to eat there. I went to see the proprietress and told her of our disappointment and that we wouldn’t be staying the second night and in fact would be leaving very early the next morning. She wasn’t bothered. What she said was ‘I am taken aback’ and then ‘what am I going to do with the room on a Bank Holiday week end’. There was no empathy with me despite the fact this was a wedding present and we were very disappointed. We stayed the night but as the rooms have been crammed in we could hear people on either side snoring. We left – no offer of continental breakfast had been made for the following morning. We have written to this establishment explained our complaints and how we felt. We have since been summonsed for the cost of the second night – we have paid it – so there was no recourse to show our displeasure by that means. So what turned out to be a much anticipated wedding present has turned into somewhat of a nightmare. We would not recommend this place – the only thing magic about it is the address!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank McDonald184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
As you know, we have addressed the issues and complaints you have outlined in this review through several direct correspondences. In your most recent letter, you made clear your intention to post your views here. You also took the trouble to speculate on the likely financial impact your review would have on our business. This, of course, is your right and we are more than happy to defend our position in a public forum.
We acknowledged that the welcome you received was below our usual standard. We apologised and explained the circumstances; The young lady who received you became flustered in trying to deal with your arrival and serving drinks to a group who had arrived for dinner. She tried to reserve a table on the kitchen's planner, you overheard her being told, in an exasperated way, to register the reservation in the restaurant diary. Unfortunate, but your experience hardly warranted trauma counselling. At this stage, when she escorted you to your room, you did not have luggage with you, thus an offer of assistance was not warranted.
You indicate that when you made your reservation, you were hoping to book the Garden Room, which was unavailable. We advised you a Mountain View room was available, and suggested you view this on our web site. You clearly did not, as you proceeded to book this room with the expectation it was a similar style room. We have never suggested that our rooms are all the same. We have a range of rooms and this is reflected in the images on our web site and price range. The second sentence on our rooms page reads as follows 'all the rooms reflect a cottage style ambience within the décor and furniture'. A statement that perhaps 'undersells' our Mountain View rooms and certainly the Garden Room (we await the launch of our new web site that includes updated images of our refurbished rooms). You complain that your room was “small”. It measures just over 22 sq metres with a super king size bed. Most people would not share your view. The 'en suite' is small. Given the size of your husband, we believe this to be the source of your dissatisfaction. The room is high above the garden and road and is not overlooked (the Whinlatter Mountain Pass will be delighted with its elevation to a 'main road'). You would need to stand at the window for your naked body to be seen. You could of course, have slipped into one of the bath robes we provide. The complaint of hearing snoring is difficult for us to verify. However, the adjoining room is separated by a two foot thick stone wall. Your claim that the rooms have been 'crammed in' is baffling, as we have maintained the original layout of a 17th Century coaching inn.
You did not raise any of the above issues until after your departure, when we contacted you to request settlement of your bill. You simply stated that you were dissatisfied with the room and would be checking out a day early. We accept that between you going out for dinner and our busy dinner service, it was not the best time to talk. However, we had expected the opportunity to discuss any causes for complaint, either on your return from dinner or the following morning. We had not expected your departure in the early hours, before breakfast, and without any further discussion.
Your letter of response to our request for payment was 'high handed' and bombastic and clearly intended to intimidate. Your suggestion that you had no recourse is not accurate, as you had the right to dispute our claim. It is also untrue to state the price of the room has increased by £30 on last year. The price increase is £20, and this follows complete refurbishment to all our rooms and public areas, and of course a VAT increase.
In summary, we believe the source of your dissatisfaction to be the small en suite, and the traditional style of the room when you expected something more modern, ie. in the style of our Garden Room. We suggest that you failed to look at what we offer and then attempted to justify your early check out and non payment by 'nit picking'. It is perhaps understandable that we 'don't take kindly to criticism' when this includes complaints such as 'the view was stunning, IF you raised your eyes' (in fact, no such exertion is necessary, as the view is at eye level) and 'there was no real reception area'. You are critical of our menu without sampling dinner or breakfast. This is a pity, as our food has won many accolades and awards. It is ironic that you charge us with being 'Pricey' on the forum that awarded us 'Travellers Choice' in 2008 for best value in Europe. Finally, it is difficult to respond to the charge we are 'pretentious' as this is not really developed in your review, other than to say we offer warm, friendly and professional service. We actively avoid a formal or 'stuffy' ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
22.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing