We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whatever you do, DON'T miss this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whatever you do, DON'T miss this”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Elegant and inventive menu, served by professionals who are comfortable in their expertise (and therefore make you feel comfortable too), in beautiful Lake District surroundings .......... what more could you want.

I'd agree with the reviewer who says that this is not for you if all you want is a simple refuelling stop involving heaped plates and masses of chips - - the courses are carefully and beautifully constructed. I found the portion sizes just right, which meant that I managed to make it to the plate of four local cheeses ( I rarely am able to do that)

Their use of local produce, and the creative use of wild ingredients (wood mushrooms, toasted acorn, wild purslane, daisies and so on) makes the experience one to remember.

And of course, if you stay overnight, then you get to take breakfast, while watching the wild birds feeding, to a backdrop of mountains.

Superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weedocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    54
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
439
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A real gem on the aptly named Magic Hill. We've just enjoyed our best ever mini- break in the Lake District thanks to finding this lovely hideaway. Although only a short drive from the bustle of Keswick, where you can enjoy all the usual touristy delights, The Cottage is a haven of tranquillity in the Forest, from which you can walk or cycle the many surrounding mountain tracks. Or you could just sit on the conservatory terrace and relax, watching red squirrels in the garden, with spectacular views all around. Everything about this "Restaurant with Rooms" is first-class. Spotlessly clean, with tastefully understated, modern decor, our Tree Tops room was a self-contained attic suite, with a wonderfully comfy bed, separate walk-in wardrobe and beautiful "Farrow & Ball" style bathroom. The extra touches, such as white cotton bathrobes and yummy biscuits, were very thoughtful and typical of the wonderful care we received during our stay. From the moment you are welcomed, Kath and her young, happy staff show a genuine concern for your comfort and the enjoyment of your stay. The food is amazing, from the freshly cooked breakfast, with fresh fruit and Specials always on offer, to the delicious dinners (do ask for extra vegetables!), accompanied by an excellent wine list to suit all budgets. We'll never stay anywhere else in the Lake District from now on and are so looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: If choosing the Tree Tops room, avoid heavy suitcases as stairs up are quite steep. Garden room sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This review is going to be very brief.
It is a long time since we have stayed in a "non chain" hotel. What a delight to have such a personal and friendly service with someone who really cared about your comfort and well being.
We stayed in the Garden Room and were very pleased with the level of comfort. The wet room is totally fab.
The food is outstanding - not the size of portions that a strapping Yorkshire lad is used too but that's not a bad thing!
Having read other reviews regarding the menu....yes it is brief, but listen, this is a ploy by the owners to get you to engage in conversation and to ask questions. How refreshing to have someone who knows exactly what is in the meal and where it was sourced. The service was spot on, friendly and chatty but not intrusive.
I pushed the boat out for a two night stay here. It was money well spent, need I say more?

Room Tip: Go for the Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights in th garden room and ate in their restaurant on the second night. Room was great. Large comfortable bed and superb fully tiled bathroom. Food was great at both brakfast and dinner. I would highly recommend staying here. Owners were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJ0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

In recent years my parents had often waxed lyrical about The Cottage in the Wood and its owners, Kath and Liam. Having eventually found the time to spend 3 nights there last week, I can see why. The cottage is decorated to a cosy (not small, just cosy) but contemporary style, with modern rooms, comfy beds and good hot showers. There is a good sized restaurant, and a nice lounge area (with a well stocked bookshelf and games drawer) in which to sit for a pre or post dinner drink, as well as plenty of seating on an outside patio with far-reaching views of the hills beyond.

Kath and her merry team (including the ever happy Julie and her perpetual smile) run front of house, and all are friendly and welcoming. You will always find someone there when you need them, but in the background when you are deep into a good book, or an afternoon snooze! Kath does everything she possibly can to ensure you have an enjoyable stay, and is a perfect host. Liam runs the kitchen and turns out excellent food, making the most of seasonal ingredients and what the local forest and the garden have to offer. The menu is modern, and had an impressive choice for a restaurant with only 10 rooms. There is a choice of courses and an extensive wine list to choose from.

The Cottage in the Wood offers a great environment in which to catch up with old friends, relax with the family, or get away from it all with a loved one. There is no shortage of excellent walks in the area and for the more energetic; some superb mountain-bike trails to ride in the surrounding area. There is a hire location within a 5 minute walk which has very good bikes available.

The cost of the rooms, the food, and the drinks at The Cottage in the Wood is reasonable when you consider the excellent standard to which the property is finished, the excellent service you receive throughout, and the excellent quality of food and drink. This really is a place to savour (watch out as the restaurant does not serve dinner on a Sunday or Monday evening, and I think you need to eat there to really make the most of your stay) and somewhere I will certainly return to in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2011

From the minute we arrived, we enjoyed the most spectacular views, incredibly original and inventive cooking and were thoroughly well looked after by the extremely welcoming and helpful hosts. Our three night stay was faultless!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaLondon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I had a two night stay and found the location, the atmosphere and the food to be just outstanding. The hosts Cath and Liam could not do enough for us. We stayed in the Mountain View room which has stunning views and the luxurious bed linens and Queen size bed made for a really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandymoo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
622 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing