We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The location is stunning, the hotel is spotless, immaculate and welcoming. Kath and her staff are exceptionally nice. Kath is like a mother hen, always there to check if things are ok for her guests.Nothing is too much trouble for this crew. Our only reservation was the trial menu, not sure we would feel confident recommending it to friends etc. All food was lovely but very up market and we would have appreciated a few more vegetables and the occasional steak. We discussed this with Kath when we booked out and I am sure she has taken our comments on board for the future.We did get to try some food we had never eaten before - I shall never look at a wood pigeon in the same way again! Overall, very good value for money.

Room Tip: we had one of the twin rooms, which was cosy and very quiet despite the fact that it was on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda2236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    53
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
419
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cottage In The Wood. Looking at other reviews from before we went, it seems as if the majority of visitors 'get' the place and a small number just don't. It is a 'restaurant with rooms' with fantastic, ambitious and imaginative food which is the whole point! Our room (mountain view double) was a very good size with a tiny bathroom, but very comfortable. The views are wonderful and the residents' lounge area is well-planned and pleasant to relax in. The prices for the rooms are not cheap (although the food was still good value), but it is an incredible location which must have considerable costs. We would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debhillLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Hotel was friendly and in a beautiful location. The food was excellent both for dinner and breakfast. The seabass I had for dinner was the best I have ever had. Book early for the restaurant to avoid disappointment. We got one night and not the other but ate at the excellent kirksdale inn.

We were a little disappointed with the room for the price we paid. We took the attic room (treetops) and whilst it is very nicely appointed it is really small and awkward room to stay comfortably in. As an example I could stand up right in 2/3 of the room due to the low ceiling heights and the narrow staircase could be very difficult for those with mobility issues.

All in all a nice stay and if you are looking for a great location with great food and quirky rooms then this could be for you. I would recommend a 1 night stay with a table for dinner would get the best from this place.

If you are looking for an equally luxury break in the lakes with a bigger room (but perhaps less to do in the area and more "ordinary food") then we would recommend the Drunken Duck.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Elegant and inventive menu, served by professionals who are comfortable in their expertise (and therefore make you feel comfortable too), in beautiful Lake District surroundings .......... what more could you want.

I'd agree with the reviewer who says that this is not for you if all you want is a simple refuelling stop involving heaped plates and masses of chips - - the courses are carefully and beautifully constructed. I found the portion sizes just right, which meant that I managed to make it to the plate of four local cheeses ( I rarely am able to do that)

Their use of local produce, and the creative use of wild ingredients (wood mushrooms, toasted acorn, wild purslane, daisies and so on) makes the experience one to remember.

And of course, if you stay overnight, then you get to take breakfast, while watching the wild birds feeding, to a backdrop of mountains.

Superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weedocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A real gem on the aptly named Magic Hill. We've just enjoyed our best ever mini- break in the Lake District thanks to finding this lovely hideaway. Although only a short drive from the bustle of Keswick, where you can enjoy all the usual touristy delights, The Cottage is a haven of tranquillity in the Forest, from which you can walk or cycle the many surrounding mountain tracks. Or you could just sit on the conservatory terrace and relax, watching red squirrels in the garden, with spectacular views all around. Everything about this "Restaurant with Rooms" is first-class. Spotlessly clean, with tastefully understated, modern decor, our Tree Tops room was a self-contained attic suite, with a wonderfully comfy bed, separate walk-in wardrobe and beautiful "Farrow & Ball" style bathroom. The extra touches, such as white cotton bathrobes and yummy biscuits, were very thoughtful and typical of the wonderful care we received during our stay. From the moment you are welcomed, Kath and her young, happy staff show a genuine concern for your comfort and the enjoyment of your stay. The food is amazing, from the freshly cooked breakfast, with fresh fruit and Specials always on offer, to the delicious dinners (do ask for extra vegetables!), accompanied by an excellent wine list to suit all budgets. We'll never stay anywhere else in the Lake District from now on and are so looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: If choosing the Tree Tops room, avoid heavy suitcases as stairs up are quite steep. Garden room sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasonedtraveller074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This review is going to be very brief.
It is a long time since we have stayed in a "non chain" hotel. What a delight to have such a personal and friendly service with someone who really cared about your comfort and well being.
We stayed in the Garden Room and were very pleased with the level of comfort. The wet room is totally fab.
The food is outstanding - not the size of portions that a strapping Yorkshire lad is used too but that's not a bad thing!
Having read other reviews regarding the menu....yes it is brief, but listen, this is a ploy by the owners to get you to engage in conversation and to ask questions. How refreshing to have someone who knows exactly what is in the meal and where it was sourced. The service was spot on, friendly and chatty but not intrusive.
I pushed the boat out for a two night stay here. It was money well spent, need I say more?

Room Tip: Go for the Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights in th garden room and ate in their restaurant on the second night. Room was great. Large comfortable bed and superb fully tiled bathroom. Food was great at both brakfast and dinner. I would highly recommend staying here. Owners were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJ0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
22.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing