We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a beautiful find. We were met by Kath and we were given a very warm welcome and complimentary tea and carrot cake after we had unpacked. We had booked into the Garden Room and what a room! A fantastic bed and the most amazing wet room. We could have stayed in there the whole night. The attention to detail by Kath and her team was second to none. The food was very different from the usual restaurant, and if you stay here expecting a huge meal after a day's walking you would be very disappointed. The emphasis is on quality not quantity and the quality is out of this world. The restaurant has lovely views over the countryside. I've been amazed by some of the negative views about Kath, as we found her very helpful. We were running a race in Keswick the following morning and had forgot to pack some towels. Kath was kind enough to lend us two. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just spent 3 nights here and we could not have enjoyed it more. FANTASTIC
We had the Garden room which had an amazing bathroom and the comfiest bed I have ever slept in....essential after a long days walking!
The food was to die for. Theevening menu was so interesting and all the dishes looked amazing. Huge attention to the provenance of the ingredients and a real twist to the dishes. Excellent value and we so looked forward to dinner each night> Breakfasts were equally good. Totally delicious cooked if you wanted or usual array of fruit , yogs etc. the breads used at all meals were delicious
The place is run so professionally and we were made to feel nothing was too much trouble from the owner and her charming staff.
We had a super , very functional packed lunch each day for the walk.
The weather ws not great and we were so pleased to be staying in such a fantastically cosy and well run place. Everything was perfect and we will def return.

Could not recommend more highly

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The owners of the 'Cottage' were welcoming and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble and.the rooms were exceptionally comfortable.. everything was spotlessly clean. The staff were supberb.The lounges were warm and the views from all the rooms were stunning. If you had left your reading matter at home there was even a choice of novels for you to browse. i recommend that this hotel is a must for your next visit to the Lakes. Last, but not least, Liams carrot cake is to die for !!

Room Tip: Spotless, comfortable and furnished to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A very last minute 2night break in the Lakes. On looking for somewhere to stay nr Keswick found ‘The Cottage in the Wood’ whilst reading reviews on recommended restaurants in close proximity.

- Location: Relatively remote with absolutely beautiful views. Within a reasonable travelling distance of Keswick and various Wainwright routes. As close as you can get to Whinlatter Forest Visitors Centre which has a great Mountain Biking run and there are lots of lovely way marked trails and a fab café. Directions on how to get to the cottage are on the website, although I tried to use the postcode and Google maps which didn’t quite us to where you need to be.

- Atmosphere: Welcoming and yet unobtrusive. Kath came across as the consummate professional and the team provided an excellent service (with a smile) that was both relaxed & engaging.

- Room: It was a late booking so we had the choice of the Cottage Rooms or the Attic Tree Tops. Plumped for the attic room based on the photos on the website and the lovely roll top bath. It didn’t disappoint, although I would have definitely booked the garden room if it were available. Previous comments regarding head room all ring true and my partner did have a bump or two, but then it is an attic room :) And if you like star gazing the view from the skylight is amazing.

- Dinner: Being pregnant and a Pescetarian I could easily be classified as rather a fussy/awkward diner, but nothing was too much trouble for Kath and the team. Excellent choices with fresh fish available both nights and a separate vegetarian menu. The menu was explained in great detail with an option to have certain dishes as either a starter or a main. Good choice of wine & drinks. Really good value, especially when combined with a midweek offer that was advertised on the website.

- Breakfast: As you would expect from somewhere with a reputation for excellent food & service. The lighter option to the full cooked breakfast was divine.

Free Wi-Fi service in the lounge area and whilst unable to get a signal on my mobile (o2) Kath was kind enough to let me use the landline to phone home!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_NW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The best small hotel we have ever stayed in.All rooms are different we got a cancellation and stayed in the smallest room which was perfect.Kath and Liam have a small dedicated team and they all make you most wellcome.Nothing is too much trouble and the views from the dinning room are breathtaking.Best of all is the food which awakens your taste buds .They make a simple beetroot taste amazing with their chefs cooking skills.If you are foodies it is a must to eat here as they are on the brink of Michelin stars but still at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejayaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The location is stunning, the hotel is spotless, immaculate and welcoming. Kath and her staff are exceptionally nice. Kath is like a mother hen, always there to check if things are ok for her guests.Nothing is too much trouble for this crew. Our only reservation was the trial menu, not sure we would feel confident recommending it to friends etc. All food was lovely but very up market and we would have appreciated a few more vegetables and the occasional steak. We discussed this with Kath when we booked out and I am sure she has taken our comments on board for the future.We did get to try some food we had never eaten before - I shall never look at a wood pigeon in the same way again! Overall, very good value for money.

Room Tip: we had one of the twin rooms, which was cosy and very quiet despite the fact that it was on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda2236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Cottage In The Wood. Looking at other reviews from before we went, it seems as if the majority of visitors 'get' the place and a small number just don't. It is a 'restaurant with rooms' with fantastic, ambitious and imaginative food which is the whole point! Our room (mountain view double) was a very good size with a tiny bathroom, but very comfortable. The views are wonderful and the residents' lounge area is well-planned and pleasant to relax in. The prices for the rooms are not cheap (although the food was still good value), but it is an incredible location which must have considerable costs. We would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debhillLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
652 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £117 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing