We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden oasis in the mountains with superb hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Fantastic hideaway matching comfort and warm hospitality with a great location allowing a range of good walking right from the door. Food was superb and the chef only to happy to share his passion for showcasing local produce. The whirlpool path was an excellent addition to soothe weary walking bones. Staff couldn't do enough to make us welcome and our stay enjoyable. would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weloveearlgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage in the Wood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome with a happy and warm greeting followed by complimentary coffee and cake on the comfortable seats by the cosy wood burner. The Cottage in the Wood is one of those special places that after five minutes of arriving you feel as comfortable as in your own home and I cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful Kath! She is so friendly and attentive and truly is an exceptional host.
We stayed for two nights and the food both evenings was exceptional. I had partridge and pigeon, dishes I would not usually choose, but they were really delicious and the desserts were fantastic. After our meal we were served coffee by the wood burner and we enjoyed a game of cards, chosen from the good selection of games and books available.
If you are looking for a small, cosy, friendly hotel with outstanding food, views and service in a great location, you will not be disapointed with The Cottage in the Wood.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The welcome you get from the host and staff at this very comfortable hotel makes you feel very special. You go from a cosy lounge area into a dining conservatory with magnificent views across to Skiddaw. The menu is presented in an unusual way to suit the needs of each individual diner and the kitchen produces some of the finest food we have ever tasted. If you like good food cooked and presented in an interesting way you will enjoy every course.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandbWorkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

A lovely stay in an excellent hotel and restaurant with rooms. Lynne and I stayed for two nights in the Garden Room, a lovely big room with superb views. It has its own entrance, so you don't need to go through the main house every time you pop in and out - very private too. The room was clean and fresh with a huge bathroom (although it has a walk-in shower rather than a bath).

The food is just fabulous - a good choice of four starters and four mains, always with at least one fish and two meat dishes. We were 'spoilt for choice' both nights. Very fresh, beautifully cooked and presented - every mouthful is a delight. A good choice of wines at reasonable prices too.

Kath was very helpful and pleasant throughout our stay, as were all the staff. A pot of tea and slices of delicious fig cake on arrival were a lovely thought.

The cottage is in a fabulous location, with great views across the fells. Ten minutes to walk to Whinlatter visitor centre with great facilities and walking.

Highly recommended - we will certainly return, and we don't say that very often!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is excellent, the only drawback is that it has a shower but no bath.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed here with friends to enable us to attend The Lakeland Trial. We were warmly greeted by Kath and the girls and once our bags had been taken to our room - rare these days! - we were offered complimentary tea/coffee and delicious carrot cake in front of the roaring wood burner. There is a very comfortable seating area with a good choice of books available. We had booked a 'Cottage Room', which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable with everything that a five star hotel would provide but was 'compact'. It is an old building and added en-suites have taken up quite a bit of the room. When we return, which we most certainly will I think we will book a larger room. We had pre-dinner drinks with home made nibbles - drinks being very reasonable, as was the wine with our dinner. The dinner was superb - choices from a relatively small menu - but all beautifully cooked and presented. More on the lines of 'Fine Dining' than your meat and two veg, which might not appeal to everyone. You could choose from three to five courses and some courses that were mains could also be had as a starter. All the desserts were to die for! Kath, Liam and the girls were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble and they were not too invaisive - appearing at just the right moment! Breakfast was also wonderful - either a Full English or a combination of items and a daily lighter option - I had the scrambled egg with hot smoked salmon on brioche which was really nice. Also there are cereals, muselli, yogerts, toast, fruit, juice etc. We would highly recommend - also lovely views from the dining room and many birds and Red Squirrels to watch if you'r lucky!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDCGertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Cottage in the Woods can't quite make up its mind. Many reviewers refer to it as an hotel but it styles itself "Resturant with Rooms" and in the past was listed with bed @ breakfasts. Tariffs have increased considerably so now it is priced not very differently from many hotels but without hotel facilites. How to judge it then? As a hotel or B@B? Whichever, you will pay hotel prices for a very smart guest house/B@B.
The resturant is obviously what is important to the Berney's with a exquisite standard of cuisine but expect still be hungry after 3 courses! Not fell walkers fare here in spite of being in Lakeland. Menus according to AA Gill should be self explanatory and not need a detailed and lengthy explanation as was necessary here. Just think how much time the staff could save then!
Breakfast, top notch with all cooked dishes cooked to order which can make things a little slow at times. Above average bacon, eggs, black pudding and sausages made a "Cumbrian breakfast" something quite special.
Any gripes? Yes, why wall to wall musak? Quite unneccessary in this sort of establishment.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whinlatter, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted to know you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. However, we feel some of your comments 'muddy the waters' regarding what we offer and thought it might be helpful to offer some clarification.
Firstly, we operate as a Restaurant with Rooms and as such have been accredited by the AA with four stars which denotes very good standards of quality. Additionally our stars are yellow, awarded to the top 10% in the category. Like an hotel, we provide food, drink and accommodation along with room telephones, free internet access, tea & coffee making etc. We do not have leisure facilities (unless you include almost 900 sq miles of National Park and the range of activities the Lakes has on offer). Under our ownership, 'The Cottage' has never operated as a B&B/Guesthouse. We were surprised (and pleased) to be recently nominated for Lake District Hotel of the Year 2012 and were awarded highly commended alongside some of the areas leading country houses.
The 'considerable' tariff increase averages around 14% and this follows extensive refurbishment throughout (and also the 2.5% VAT hike). I should also mention that there are significant additional costs operating in a such a secluded and beautiful location (private services, including spring water, LPG bills that would make you wince, keeping the forest wild life fed etc.)
We give considerable thought to portion sizes. We are aware that appetites vary. It is for this reason we offer a choice of three, four or five courses. If someone has a 'big' appetite, it is likely that they will enjoy four or five courses. Even for a 'healthy appetite, it is difficult to see how someone could still be hungry after three courses. We believe there is something between 'full' (what is this? can't eat another thing? discomfort?) and 'hungry'. Some of our guests will simply share a cheese plate ( a further £6.00, or £3.00 per person). A one size fits all (ie. three courses) is not really the way we want to do things. I'm afraid we don't give much credibility to the thoughts of A A Gill (this is a person who kills wild animals for fun). Our menus are generally innovative and include many unusual ingredients and as such our team find the interaction discussing the menu to be rewarding, rather than a waste of time.
Your comments regarding the music (though we are uncertain how Van Morrison, Elbow et al might react to this description) gives us food for thought and we will give this consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I booked this hotel for my girlfriend's birthday for three nights recently and it was a wonderful stay. We stayed in a cottage room which was very cosy and beautifully appointed, indeed, the whole place felt like a cosy cottage, miles away from a faceless cold hotel, yet private & unobtrusive. The meals were fabulous, beautifully prepared & presented and different dishes appeared each evening which were all explained fully over a G&T in the lounge area. There were many small touches which make this hotel special, to list a few....Kath's help with planning walks, amazing bird display in the garden to watch over breakfast, handmade bisuits in the room, the level of polite & discrete service from all the staff... and after travelling the world and staying in many fine hotels, I am rather picky, but would highly recommend Cottage In The Wood. Hope to stay there again some day. Thanks to Kath, Liam and all the staff.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms aren't big, but they don't claim to be. They are very cosy, well appointed...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOftenAndWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
647 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £113 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing