We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great views, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had a wonderful meal here. A very warm welcome with excellent attentive service. The food was wonderful, my wood pigeon was beautifully cooked and the pork belly with langoustines was full of flavour. The chocolate delice with salted caramel was one of the best chocolate deserts I have ever had and I have had a fair few! Rounded off with a nice glass of nz sauvignon and coffees with lovely petit fours. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend without hesitation and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank yorktraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

I booked the restaurant to celebrate my birthday with family last week, and wasn't disappointed. The location was lovely, the food was fantastic and the service exceptional. The warm welcome and attention to detail was superb. The 3 course set dinner, whilst not cheap, is still very good value for the quality of food. The menu is local and very interesting. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel on the edge of the woods, we didn't have the opportunity to spend that much time at the hotel as it was a working weekend but it was very pretty, rooms small but perfectly formed, the breakfast was good and the view from the dining room breathtaking. Would be very good for a romantic weekend away as it's quite remote but book a bigger room if your budget allows. Friendly staff and the chef takes pride in his food...we saw him picking fresh whatever-he-was-using that night in the woods!

Room Tip: Go bigger and better if budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinyDancer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Wonderful food & super service. Rooms are smart and well kept with nice litte touches to make this feel like a special place.

Away from the crowds of Keswick but only a short drive or Taxi if you fancy being elsewhere for the evening. Amazing views.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden room is below the main house so quieter - lacks a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel1091345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal with my wife to celebrate Easter.

Had a lovely evening and the staff were really attentive and catered to our every need.

The menu was really interesting and was amazingly presented.

The food was cooked to perfection and was just the right portion size without it being too over facing.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a special meal in a great surrounding.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We cannot recommend The Cottage in the Woods highly enough. We arrived very late on the Friday and Kath, the owner, was waiting with a chilled bottle of wine. The room (the Garden Room) was luxurious, with every detail perfect. We had delicious breakfasts and dinner in the restaurant, and loved exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside. Really enjoyed ourselves, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Fantastic short break. Rooms very comfortable and warm. Restaurant is outstanding. All food locally sourced fresh and beautifully presented. Attentive friendly service from all the staff. The bonus was watching the array of birds and the red squirrel on the feeders whilst eating breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
652 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £117 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing