We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We cannot praise the Cottage in the Wood highly enough. The welcome we received was warm, professional and very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. The food, as previous reviewers have already stated, excellent. Rooms were very comfortable and clean with lots of nice touches. This is a true gem of a place to stay in the Lake District.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tudorfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    53
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
427
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Wirral
Level Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My sister and I had a short break here. We met perfection at every level. We had a warm welcome with offers of help with luggage and a complimentary pot of coffee and delicious carrot cake. Our small twin room was cosy and warm, essential as the weather wasn't! I'd swear the bathroom was brand spanking new! Very good value for money considering how well appointed the room was and the hotel's general location.
This hotel is excellent for walkers as there are several good walks of differing levels right from the front door. We stuck mainly to the walks in Whinlatter forest. The 'blue' trail walk is not as strenuous as it looks and offers some magnificent views.
We had decided on the Cottage in the Wood because of its reputation for good food, but were not prepared for the level of excellence we met. I am fussy! I have eaten at several places which have boasted Michelin stars, but none have matched the inventiveness and attention to detail that are clearly the hallmarks of The Cottage's chef.
This will be somewhere I'll return to again and again for hospitality, value for money and culinary arts that can't be matched.

Room Tip: We stayed in Larch. Although our room overlooked the road, our main view was of the Whinlatter fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We had a wonderful meal here. A very warm welcome with excellent attentive service. The food was wonderful, my wood pigeon was beautifully cooked and the pork belly with langoustines was full of flavour. The chocolate delice with salted caramel was one of the best chocolate deserts I have ever had and I have had a fair few! Rounded off with a nice glass of nz sauvignon and coffees with lovely petit fours. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend without hesitation and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorktraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I booked the restaurant to celebrate my birthday with family last week, and wasn't disappointed. The location was lovely, the food was fantastic and the service exceptional. The warm welcome and attention to detail was superb. The 3 course set dinner, whilst not cheap, is still very good value for the quality of food. The menu is local and very interesting. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Lovely little boutique hotel on the edge of the woods, we didn't have the opportunity to spend that much time at the hotel as it was a working weekend but it was very pretty, rooms small but perfectly formed, the breakfast was good and the view from the dining room breathtaking. Would be very good for a romantic weekend away as it's quite remote but book a bigger room if your budget allows. Friendly staff and the chef takes pride in his food...we saw him picking fresh whatever-he-was-using that night in the woods!

Room Tip: Go bigger and better if budget allows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyDancer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Wonderful food & super service. Rooms are smart and well kept with nice litte touches to make this feel like a special place.

Away from the crowds of Keswick but only a short drive or Taxi if you fancy being elsewhere for the evening. Amazing views.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden room is below the main house so quieter - lacks a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel1091345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal with my wife to celebrate Easter.

Had a lovely evening and the staff were really attentive and catered to our every need.

The menu was really interesting and was amazingly presented.

The food was cooked to perfection and was just the right portion size without it being too over facing.

Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a special meal in a great surrounding.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
599 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
516 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing