We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'cosy' place in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The location of the cottage in the wood is hard to fault. It's easy to find, yet feels isolated and is very very quiet. The views are lovely, and it's well positioned for exploring the Lakes. After a warm welcome, we were shown to our room - one of the cottage rooms called Rowan. We found this room to be lacking in a lot of ways when compared to other hotel rooms of a similar nightly rate. It was very very small - we were tripping over each other all weekend, it had no bath, quite a small shower, no ironing board, no drinks fridge, no bath robes, no wifi, no seating area - only a single chair squeezed into a tight corner on its own. These are all luxuries of course, but luxuries one would expect from a room costing £110 per night in northwest England. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and despite overlooking the road, we had no problems with noise.

The room aside, the place was lovely. The lounge areas were very comfortable, the views from the restaurant every bit as good as advertised, and the food really excellent - full marks to the chef.

To anyone going to stay, I'd say provided you avoid the cottage rooms, you'll have a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rowan, one of the cottage rooms, was very very small & lacked certain extras you would expect to...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage in the Wood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

We lunched here this week and received a very warm welcome from the proprietors and their staff. Food was excellent, and as good as previous reviews stated. The view was wonderful too and the atmosphere was elegant. The menu choice was limited to two main courses, however I think that means either dish will be beautifully prepared, and it was. We will be happy to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

After reading rave reviews on Tripadvisor we just had to go there! We were not disappointed . A warm welcome, views from the dining room to die for, friendly and efficient staff for starters and then lunch. Superb! The ox cheek was melt-in-the-mouth perfect, the black cherry soufflé delicious. The prosecco chilled to perfection - what more can one say?
Next time we will go for dinner and stay the night.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LizSHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I booked a table here on a whim last year for me and my girlfriend, and can honestly say it is the best food I've ever eaten. The braised beef cheek, in particular, was divine. On top of that, the service was outstanding, and the price very reasonable. And, of course, the views were stunning.
After our visit, we bought vouchers for both sets of parents for Christmas, as we wanted to share the joy.
Wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Can i top the previous superlatives?-fantabulous--words cant really describe our experience. We stayed for 5 nights with the purpose of walking in the day and attending the Keswick jazz festival at night-we needed an early evening meal which proved no problem and only wished we could have spent longer experiencing the exceptional meals . Staff were very very helpful and friendly with nothing being too much trouble in this very organised/professional hotel with a caring/ friendly thread running through everything

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whartons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a really special place in the most beautiful location serving THE most incredible food I have ever tasted!
Having been before we knew we were in for a treat but if possible the food just gets better. It is seriously an award winning worthy dinning experience due to the taste and presentation of the food using local ingredients served at such high standards and delicious taste combinations. We had the lunch menu which I feel is amazing value for the level of cuisine and it feels like such a special treat going there for lunch. The service is so warm, hospitable, friendly and professional! The location is unique, magical and it feels like a hidden slice of perfection in the Lakes! I couldn't rate it more highly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahJW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

After reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, my wife and I were lucky enough to secure a reservation in the restaurant at the last moment. From our reservation to departure our experience was faultless but most importantly the food was Devine. You have the option to choose from a 7 course 'taster' menu or the 3 course menu. All the food is sourced locally and the freshness, taste and presentation of the food would be the envy of any Michelin star restaurant. Oh, I forgot to mention the views of Skiddaw mountain and the forest location of the restaurant is comparable with the Alps.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank BenhamParty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £113 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing