We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit and I'm already planning another” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
chigwell essex uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2nd visit and I'm already planning another”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Cottage in the Wood. Last year we treated ourself to the Garden Room. This year we decided to try another room and was not disapointed. The Oak room has mountain views to die for and a whirlpool bath, which after a long days hike was welcomed. I loved the little touches. A bottle of radox bubble bath to help you soak your aches away (thank you). A good size room with a huge comfortable bed. The restuarant and chef is worth its weight in gold The food is devine and you really need to reserve a booking in advance because they get booked up quite quickly. If you are looking to try some exciting new food then this is the place to be. A great location and even though you are literally in the middle of the forest, there is a bus that drives past the door which you can flag down or just walk approx 4-5 minutes up the long winding forest road for the bus stop. I could say so much more but I want to get back to my diary to check for dates. Thank you Kath & Liam for looking after us again. See you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    52
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
411
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Charming Hosts. Excellent staff. Superb food. Wonderful location. We enjoyed a short early summer break, the weather could have been better but did not mar our enjoyment. We can recommend the cottage with confidence and we look forward to an early return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesternat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our UK trip. My husband had been ill the previous night and was exhausted after the drive up. Kath and her staff were very concerned about his wellbeing and offered to help in any way necessary. Even the chef was concerned that he would not be able to enjoy his dinner! Fortunately after a good sleep he soon recovered and we were able to enjoy the magnificent location in the forest and the food! We sat in the lounge for tea and cake with a lovely fire, and the wifi was perfect. Our dinner here was the best on our trip - better than Jamie's Italian and Heston's pub at Bray! :) Wonderful tender lamb and fresh vegetables, followed by beautifully presented lemon curd tart, honeycomb and strawberries/ apricot souffle tart and apricot sorbet. Breakfast was also very special, including an amazing omelette with haddock and cheese sauce. We were very happy with the cottage bedroom - yes, it was quite small, and didn't have the extras a previous reviewer mentioned but we don't need those - the beds were very comfortable, the shower was great (we don't need a bath), and I don't iron at all on holiday! This was one of our best stays and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The cottage room was quiet and comfortable - it didn't have a view of the mountains, but a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary689_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here last year for my mum's 60th birthday and had a wonderful stay. A lovely family run place with excellent service. As well as the amazing views, we thoroughly enjoyed the food. Breakfasts and dinners were fantastic! Will definitely return in the future and would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

lovely hotel
small is beautiful
clean compact room great nites sleep
woke up to magnificent surroundings
what a view
staff super
food wonderful
amazing surroundings
what more could you ask?
best value wine list ever

Room Tip: garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here in August 2012, as a belated anniversary treat. This is a fantastic place, great rooms, fantastic food, great service and right in the middle of fantastic countryside. We had magnificent breakfasts and enjoyed the meal on Saturday night. We had drinks on the veranda with great views over Whinlatter, it was really relaxing. The owners and staff were very attentive and even gave us guidance on walks and buses back. Couldn't recommend highly enough, and would definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redders499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were welcomed very warmly by the staff at the cottage. As a whole, all the staff, including Kath - our hostess, were very helpful and friendly. The location of the cottage is magnificent. Isolated and quiet, yet not far from Keswick.

Our mountain view room was a good size with a very comfortable bed. The room was neat and clean, and had a television, bedside clock, landline and desk. It is difficult to get mobile phone reception in the room and wifi is very weak also. Wifi in the sitting area at reception is much stronger. The bathroom was small. There is a whirlpool bath (which we didn't use)/ shower and toilet.

Overall, we had a great stay here and would recommend the restaurant, particularly the tasting menu. Wow!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing