We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem with many wonderful facets...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A true gem with many wonderful facets...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just back from our first stay at The Cottage in the Wood. Hard to praise Kath and Liam enough for what they are creating in this wonderful location on the Whinlatter Pass, just up from Bassenthwaite village in the Northern Lake District. My partner and I had booked 3 nights here and arrived in the morning so that we could set off for a bike ride round Derwentwater and Newlands. Kath warmly welcomed us and said it would be no problem for us to leave the car in the car park while we did our ride. And so, after a fine, if inevitably slightly damp, day out, we returned to sit quietly on the shared balcony, admiring the stunning views to Skiddaw and sampling a glass from the excellent wine list. And here we also encountered what, I believe, helps makes The Cottage in the Wood so special - its attention to detail and the exceptional quality of the staff. Nothing seemed too much trouble - with front of house allowing us to store our bikes securely round the back at the same time as looking after us with some of the best cake I'd ever eaten. All done with real and genuine courtesy and warmth.

We'd booked into 'Larch', one of the smaller rooms, but still more than adequate for our needs. Decor modern, light and airy, spotlessly clean and a wonderfully comfortable bed. After a day on the fells this was bliss. As was the superb shower en-suite.

And so to the food. Hard to overstate the absolute treat in store for food-lovers here. Personally I'm a quality over quantity person and Kath and Liam with their kitchen staff delivered every time. Breakfast is heavenly, with a choice of the 'works' with locally sourced food, all cooked to order. You can choose a 'lighter' option, which we tried on occasion, and it, too, was absolutely delicious - setting us up nicely for an active day on the bikes or out on the fells. If you're lucky you might even be treated to the sight of some mischievous Red squirrels who clearly know which side their own bread is buttered by dropping by...

We dined at 'The Cottage' on one evening and, without question, it was one of the best meals we have eaten in a long time. Perfectly balanced and with ingredients of exceptional quality, complemented with a good wine list that only lacked a lighter glass of sparkling wine (a Prosecco perhaps?) to perhaps initiate proceedings. A minor point in an otherwise faultless, stunning experience - all with a view over Skiddaw as a backdrop. I felt the choice very good as I prefer to rely on the kitchen to provide seasonal offerings rather than a huge, bland, menu. It interested me to note that locals clearly travelled up the lower slopes of Grisedale Pike to sample the latest menu - with taxis dropping and picking diners up throughout the evening.

So, in conclusion, Kath, Liam and their staff deserve my heartfelt congratulations for their warmth, superb customer service and attention to detail. They certainly are bringing something special to this part of the Lake District. We shall certainly return. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazzaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    52
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
412
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Wirral
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was my second stay at The Cottage in the Wood. Back in April it was cold and stormy, but the hotel was warm and cosy. This time we arrived in sizzling heat to find the hotel welcomingly cool. We were welcomed by Kath with pots of tea and coffee and chunks of dilicious carrot cake.
One difference to my previous stay was that we were able to sit out on the terrace .... magnificent views down the valley to Skidaw and plenty of bird and squirrel spotting.
My younger son, a vegetarian who does not eat mushrooms, usually causes problems in terms of choice of menu items, but The Cottage's wonderful chef, Ryan, produced a genuinely bespoke vegetarian tasing menu, as creative and delicious as the main tasing menu ... Thank you Ryan!
Also, they managed to magic a portion of beans for breakfast. Apart from the excellent standard English breakfast options with porridge, kippers etc. there is a daily breakfast special such as scrambled egg and smoked salmon or fried duck egg on brioche with mushrooms.
Nothing is too much trouble for these very kind people.
We shall certainlt return to The Cottage in the Wood

Room Tip: On each visit we have opted for the Cottage rooms which are excellent, if a little small. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Cottage in the Wood for two nights for our wedding anniversary. They have a variety of rooms and we selected their best, the 'Garden Room'. We wanted a luxury room in a small hotel/guesthouse that also had a licenced restaurant.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owner, Kath. We were offered complimentary coffee and cake, and the walnut and carrot cake was outstanding.
We ate both nights in the restaurant. On the first night we had their 8 course taster menu, where each course was made from locally-sourced produce, we also had the wine flight that went with the menu. The meal and the service were outstanding. We cannot understand why they do not have a Michelin Star. Liam, also owner with his wife Kath, had chosen the wines and they were the perfect complement to each of the dishes.
On the second night we chose dishes from the a le carte menu and again had a Michelin Star experience. The Turbot dish was stunning!
Throughout the stay Kath & Liam made us, and all the other guests, feel really special, and the waiting staff were all excellent.
We booked the Cottage in the Wood hoping for a comfortable/luxury room with a good restaurant. What we experience far exceeded our expectations. Truly outstanding and pefect in every way.
Thanks Kath & Liam.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hogarthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chigwell essex uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Cottage in the Wood. Last year we treated ourself to the Garden Room. This year we decided to try another room and was not disapointed. The Oak room has mountain views to die for and a whirlpool bath, which after a long days hike was welcomed. I loved the little touches. A bottle of radox bubble bath to help you soak your aches away (thank you). A good size room with a huge comfortable bed. The restuarant and chef is worth its weight in gold The food is devine and you really need to reserve a booking in advance because they get booked up quite quickly. If you are looking to try some exciting new food then this is the place to be. A great location and even though you are literally in the middle of the forest, there is a bus that drives past the door which you can flag down or just walk approx 4-5 minutes up the long winding forest road for the bus stop. I could say so much more but I want to get back to my diary to check for dates. Thank you Kath & Liam for looking after us again. See you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Charming Hosts. Excellent staff. Superb food. Wonderful location. We enjoyed a short early summer break, the weather could have been better but did not mar our enjoyment. We can recommend the cottage with confidence and we look forward to an early return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesternat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our UK trip. My husband had been ill the previous night and was exhausted after the drive up. Kath and her staff were very concerned about his wellbeing and offered to help in any way necessary. Even the chef was concerned that he would not be able to enjoy his dinner! Fortunately after a good sleep he soon recovered and we were able to enjoy the magnificent location in the forest and the food! We sat in the lounge for tea and cake with a lovely fire, and the wifi was perfect. Our dinner here was the best on our trip - better than Jamie's Italian and Heston's pub at Bray! :) Wonderful tender lamb and fresh vegetables, followed by beautifully presented lemon curd tart, honeycomb and strawberries/ apricot souffle tart and apricot sorbet. Breakfast was also very special, including an amazing omelette with haddock and cheese sauce. We were very happy with the cottage bedroom - yes, it was quite small, and didn't have the extras a previous reviewer mentioned but we don't need those - the beds were very comfortable, the shower was great (we don't need a bath), and I don't iron at all on holiday! This was one of our best stays and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The cottage room was quiet and comfortable - it didn't have a view of the mountains, but a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary689_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here last year for my mum's 60th birthday and had a wonderful stay. A lovely family run place with excellent service. As well as the amazing views, we thoroughly enjoyed the food. Breakfasts and dinners were fantastic! Will definitely return in the future and would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing