We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very welcoming with interesting food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage in the Wood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“very welcoming with interesting food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The night we went to The Cottage in the Wood it was pouring with rain--well it is the Lake District. We were met at the door by very friendly staff and made welcome. The menu was talked through and we were offered a good choice of drinks. The starter of lobster salad was not as we expected and rather fussy--it did taste fine. The turbot was excellent with tasty accompaniments. The desert was devine--passion fruit soufflet. Throughout the staff were chatty and service was good. If you like fancy food try it, we did enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    52
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
411
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better setting for my first stay in the Lake District. The Cottage in the Wood is outstanding on every level, perfection down to every detail. The staff are attentive and friendly, the location is breath-taking with views over Skiddaw as you set yourself up for the day over breakfast and the room (we stayed in Tree Tops) was beautiful.
This place is really special, we managed to spot our first wild red squirrel feasting on the feeders in the grounds and it is a truly perfect base for all the local adventures the Lakes has to offer, whilst being secluded from the hustle and bustle of the town.
The food standard is very high, the staff are well informed of the menu and offer explanations of some of the less heard of dishes without being patronising, you can tell the chef is very passionate about his dishes and the attention to detail is second to none.
As soon as we left the hotel this morning we were already madly trying to find another weekend when we can book to return ... which we will do very soon!!!

Room Tip: If you are very tall I would probably give Tree Tops a miss, my 6'3 partner has a slightly sore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishcoblover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The setting in the Whinlatter Forest is a great start, my first red squirrel sighted almost straight away! Our mountain view room was obscured by mist and rain but wasn't reflected in the welcome we received. Every member of staff we met were warm, friendly, interested and clearly love the place. Our meal was a true delight, from the superb local ingredients to the wealth of choice for my vegetarian husband. What stood out was the unparalleled knowledge of the food and drink we were served by the waiting staff. Plenty of more upmarket restaurants could take a leaf out of their book. The service was impeccable. We were delighted with our stay, it exceeded our expectations and if you haven't eaten there, we recommend you do!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Invinoveritas65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The Cottage in the Woods is a lovely B&B. We chose Rowan room which is a cottage room in the main house. The room was very well furnished with a good television, comfortable bed and decent bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant on the second night and was impressed with the standard of the food, it was all delicious.
We loved the lounge area, it had lots of magazines and books to read to choose your next walk. We had coffee several times and enjoyed the ambiance of the room.
What stands out are the staff and especially the owners Kath and Liam, Kath is a perfect hostess and really makes you feel welcome, the other staff we met are a credit to the cottage, and we thank them all for making our stay so pleasurable.
Finally breakfast, very well done, in a beautiful setting watching the birds and red squirrels and my husband also saw a deer.
The breakfast was cooked well, perfect poached egg three days running. All products used were sourced locally and very fresh. I loved the fresh tea and great coffee.
We would go back to the cottage in a blink, and the area is stunning with some fanstatic walking on the doorstop.
Thank you Kath & Liam you have a wonderful home.
Best wishes Jane & Mark

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just back from our first stay at The Cottage in the Wood. Hard to praise Kath and Liam enough for what they are creating in this wonderful location on the Whinlatter Pass, just up from Bassenthwaite village in the Northern Lake District. My partner and I had booked 3 nights here and arrived in the morning so that we could set off for a bike ride round Derwentwater and Newlands. Kath warmly welcomed us and said it would be no problem for us to leave the car in the car park while we did our ride. And so, after a fine, if inevitably slightly damp, day out, we returned to sit quietly on the shared balcony, admiring the stunning views to Skiddaw and sampling a glass from the excellent wine list. And here we also encountered what, I believe, helps makes The Cottage in the Wood so special - its attention to detail and the exceptional quality of the staff. Nothing seemed too much trouble - with front of house allowing us to store our bikes securely round the back at the same time as looking after us with some of the best cake I'd ever eaten. All done with real and genuine courtesy and warmth.

We'd booked into 'Larch', one of the smaller rooms, but still more than adequate for our needs. Decor modern, light and airy, spotlessly clean and a wonderfully comfortable bed. After a day on the fells this was bliss. As was the superb shower en-suite.

And so to the food. Hard to overstate the absolute treat in store for food-lovers here. Personally I'm a quality over quantity person and Kath and Liam with their kitchen staff delivered every time. Breakfast is heavenly, with a choice of the 'works' with locally sourced food, all cooked to order. You can choose a 'lighter' option, which we tried on occasion, and it, too, was absolutely delicious - setting us up nicely for an active day on the bikes or out on the fells. If you're lucky you might even be treated to the sight of some mischievous Red squirrels who clearly know which side their own bread is buttered by dropping by...

We dined at 'The Cottage' on one evening and, without question, it was one of the best meals we have eaten in a long time. Perfectly balanced and with ingredients of exceptional quality, complemented with a good wine list that only lacked a lighter glass of sparkling wine (a Prosecco perhaps?) to perhaps initiate proceedings. A minor point in an otherwise faultless, stunning experience - all with a view over Skiddaw as a backdrop. I felt the choice very good as I prefer to rely on the kitchen to provide seasonal offerings rather than a huge, bland, menu. It interested me to note that locals clearly travelled up the lower slopes of Grisedale Pike to sample the latest menu - with taxis dropping and picking diners up throughout the evening.

So, in conclusion, Kath, Liam and their staff deserve my heartfelt congratulations for their warmth, superb customer service and attention to detail. They certainly are bringing something special to this part of the Lake District. We shall certainly return. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazzaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was my second stay at The Cottage in the Wood. Back in April it was cold and stormy, but the hotel was warm and cosy. This time we arrived in sizzling heat to find the hotel welcomingly cool. We were welcomed by Kath with pots of tea and coffee and chunks of dilicious carrot cake.
One difference to my previous stay was that we were able to sit out on the terrace .... magnificent views down the valley to Skidaw and plenty of bird and squirrel spotting.
My younger son, a vegetarian who does not eat mushrooms, usually causes problems in terms of choice of menu items, but The Cottage's wonderful chef, Ryan, produced a genuinely bespoke vegetarian tasing menu, as creative and delicious as the main tasing menu ... Thank you Ryan!
Also, they managed to magic a portion of beans for breakfast. Apart from the excellent standard English breakfast options with porridge, kippers etc. there is a daily breakfast special such as scrambled egg and smoked salmon or fried duck egg on brioche with mushrooms.
Nothing is too much trouble for these very kind people.
We shall certainlt return to The Cottage in the Wood

Room Tip: On each visit we have opted for the Cottage rooms which are excellent, if a little small. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Cottage in the Wood for two nights for our wedding anniversary. They have a variety of rooms and we selected their best, the 'Garden Room'. We wanted a luxury room in a small hotel/guesthouse that also had a licenced restaurant.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owner, Kath. We were offered complimentary coffee and cake, and the walnut and carrot cake was outstanding.
We ate both nights in the restaurant. On the first night we had their 8 course taster menu, where each course was made from locally-sourced produce, we also had the wine flight that went with the menu. The meal and the service were outstanding. We cannot understand why they do not have a Michelin Star. Liam, also owner with his wife Kath, had chosen the wines and they were the perfect complement to each of the dishes.
On the second night we chose dishes from the a le carte menu and again had a Michelin Star experience. The Turbot dish was stunning!
Throughout the stay Kath & Liam made us, and all the other guests, feel really special, and the waiting staff were all excellent.
We booked the Cottage in the Wood hoping for a comfortable/luxury room with a good restaurant. What we experience far exceeded our expectations. Truly outstanding and pefect in every way.
Thanks Kath & Liam.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hogarthr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing