We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We loved our stay here!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here during a recent UK visit! The room was clean, Kath was a wonderful hostess, the food was well prepared and delicious. I would heartily recommend staying here. A great experience!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    54
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
439
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at the cottage.....would have loved to stay longer. It is a wonderful location with fantastic views. Our room was stunning, beautiful decor and very comfortable. Our dinner was probably the best meal we have ever had...a real compliment from a pair of foodies. The staff were excellent and very informative on the sourcing of local products, they were also very attentive and respectful at the same time. We will be back.:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our son kindly invited us for a meal at The Cottage in the Wood. We had heard that they had won many awards and we were really excited about our visit. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Kath. The food was beyond our expectations, we live in Cumbria and have eaten at many of the restaurants, but The Cottage in the Wood surpasses them all. Simply the best, perfection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawksheadCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just spent a delightful weekend here,I cannot praise The Cottage enough.The staff are very welcoming and attention to detail was evident throughout our stay.The room was clean and had all one would need.The location is ideal.The highlight was the amazing resteraunt ,the food was of the highest standard.would we stay again.most definitely.we even had red squirrels to watch during a well cooked traditional breakfast.

Room Tip: Any will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonboyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can honestly say that this is one of the finest little hotels I have ever visited. From the moment my wife and I arrived we were made so very welcome. The rooms were clean and beautifully appointed. The food was just outstanding (it is really an excellent restaurant with rooms) and the location is magical, close enough to do endless walks in the Lakes.
I don't usually gush about places I have visited and am quite happy to give bad reviews (when this is required) but this is - honestly - one of the nicest place I have been to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oranjezicht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Deep in the only indigenous mountain woodland in England, this small hotel offers charming, relaxed service, very comfortable rooms and a terrific restaurant. We chose the Cumbrian tasting menu on our first night and thoroughly recommend it, the serving staff were impressively knowledgable about the dishes and the provenance of the produce. The second night we dined a la carte and the quality was again excellent although some of the dishes were the same as we had sampled on the tasting menu which impacted a little on the choice. Although the food and wine is very fine and the service is attentive, the atmosphere isn't at all stuffy or oppressive. We stayed in the cheapest room overlooking the road and although not large, it was very comfortable and immaculately clean. We were able to store our bikes in the locked boiler room which was a bonus.The breakfast was a treat, taken looking out over the birds and red squirrels towards Skiddaw emerging from the morning mist. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hullite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I ate here on Tuesday 08/10/2013 having chosen it from Tripadvisor.
I rate the meal only 6/10 due to many points, lack of flavour, inadequate seasoning, small portion sizes and limited presentation being the main points.
Please do not get me wrong the cooking is reasonable but not outstanding and at these prices I could not recommend it to my friends and family as value for money.
The staff are very good indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
720 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing