We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights at The Cottage in the Wood last weekend, what a fantastic place, Wonderful hosts & excellent staff, tea and cakes served in the lounge on arrival,well equipped rooms, Food was to die for we had the taster menu one night can't praise the quality of the food enough, well done to the chef.
Although next to a road the amount of passing traffic was close to zero so we had a peaceful nights sleep, surrounded by forest it really is a Cottage in the wood.
Wonderful stay, only downside the Red Squirrels didn't show up while we were there, but that's wildlife for you.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaitan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

On a recent visit to the lakes we decided to visit the cottage for a meal after reading all the great reviews. We did not book a table in advance, however, when we arrived the person attending to us was unsure if she could squeeze us in. After speaking to the chef they allowed us to be seated and much to our surprise the restaurant only had a further two couples in and only a further three couples joined us. It was practically empty! Before being shown to the table the waitress (Rachel) asked us if we had any special dietary requirements at which I informed her I was a vegetarian. She then told us to wait until she had spoken to the chef for a second time to make sure that he could prepare a suitable meal for myself. Upon her return she showed us to our table and informed myself that I could not have a menu and the chef would prepare a meal for me (she could not tell me what I was going to get in advance). I was slightly puzzled as to why I was not allowed a menu as both the starters and the dessert had a vegetarian option.
When the meal arrived my starter consisted of a minuscule portion of a nicely decorated parsnip, even though a vegetarian salad was listed on the menu. My boyfriend got the slamon for a starter which was no bigger than a size of a goldfish, equally disappointing.
My main (unsure of what it was) was a fancy array of tiny vegetables with a few herbs as garnish. The portion size again was minuscule and would not fill a budgie! My boyfriend got the belted galloway beef with no accompanying vegetables. Again two peices of beef that was no bigger than the size of a button and no side dishes were available to make up for the lack of food we had been served.
We decided against a dessert due to the disappointment of the first two courses.The cost was still £38 per person. We do not mind paying this for a decent sized meal but as we were still hungry we felt ripped off.
During the meal we felt scared to speak as the room was so small and quite and we felt as though the other guests could hear what we were talking about. We are a young couple in our early twenties and felt the staff were very intimidating to the point of being rude. We felt like we were being held there against our will.
We have eaten in other award winning restaurants which have all been better value.
We shall not be returning here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank crazydaisy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Tasting Menu - Ok…so my thoughts on Cottage in the Wood. As far as romantics go and couples wanting to simply escape from it all then it really doesn`t come any better than this. It really is a little den hidden away in the forests….Ssshhhh no one will ever know you`re there and you can simply vanish from everyday life.

The Food – Well Chris is cooking to a very high standard here , very much city centre fine dining and from what I ate it was evident that his previous employers have carved their mark into Chris`s cooking style. The food is very light and personally I could have started at the beginning and eaten every bit again….but don`t forget I done the 30 courses at Lenclume so don`t go by my style….and belly.

Chris is only a new Chef on the Cumbrian cooking scene so hopefully the menus will soon see more local produce and use of the enormous wild and free larder right outside of the front door. Rabbits , Squirrels , Wood Pigeon and a whole host of berries , Mushrooms and herbs lie in wait for this talented young man once he settles into post. As for the accolades , without a doubt once Chis and the team get to a smooth and confident flow then another Michelin star is heading to the lake district.

The Tasting menu is currently priced at £60 with accompanying Wine pairing £40

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cumbriafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hosts & excellent staff, most pleasant mannered ever. Lovely room stayed in 'Ash' bed to die for, no expense spared on decor. Excellent meal by a young up & coming chef. Kath is simply the most lovely natured lady who pays attention to all around her, thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DollyEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here in December and decided to take a rest one afternoon by the log fire in the lounge. However when we got there the fire was not lit. When we went up to our rooms we found the heating was turned off. It seems the heating is only switched on in the evenings and is off in the afternoons and at night. Not what we expected from a hotel.
We thought the food was expensive for what we had, it felt like tidbits rather than a meal.

Room Tip: Dont have the attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sewfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very relaxed and welcome. We had coffee and brownies after putting our luggage in our room. We stayed in treetops, which we found to be 'like a secret room' in the attic. Although small it was beautiful and the skylights were amazing to star gaze through. The taster meal was excellent. Yes the portions were small but the flavours were truly amazing. The following day we took a taxi to the keswick and did the peaks of catbells and high spy. Very challenging but rewarding. We opted for a pub meal in the peasant inn the following day. Overall we had a very special and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindsay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The food here is simply brilliant. The chef, a young lad who is clearly going places, produced a wonderful taster menu and an equally fantastic a la carte. It is very rare when two meals are entirely flawless.
The atmosphere is a little stuffy, but who cares with food like this? Service too is very good, though this reviewer found certain staff almost OVER attentive. A really REALLy good place for food, but on both evenings , sat in the conservatory looking into the darkness, we were cold. Turn up the heat or pull the curtains!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
653 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £117 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing