We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 star hotel, but 5 star welcome, service, comfort and food!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A 2 star hotel, but 5 star welcome, service, comfort and food!!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2008

The Cottage in the Wood sits in a fabulous location on the Whinlatter Pass, on the wonderfully named 'Magic Hill'. We received such a lovely warm welcome from Kath on arrival - outside the weather was as bad as we could imagine, but that was soon forgotten as we melted into the warmth and cosiness of the Cottage. Our room was lovely - very comfy bed, telly with freeview, and a very clean and well-stocked bathroom. Pre-dinner drinks were served in the lovely lounge, with a roaring fire and smashing selection of books - especially regarding local walks. Dinner was brilliant - EVERYTHING is home cooked, with fresh breads, pasta and ice-creams amongst other items prepared freshly by Liam every day - and is worth every penny. Couple magnificent food with attentive but unfussy service, a very commendable wine list for a relatively small hotel, and you have the recipe for a superb meal. We enjoyed Friday's dinner so much, re-booking for Saturday was a real no-brainer. Breakfast again is of a high standard - with a daily 'special' available as an alternative to the 'Full Cumbrian', as well as all the usual selection of cereals, juices etc. Amongst all this, Kath or one of her staff were on hand to ensure we wanted for nothing.

Can't really fault this place for the money, we will be back - it's smashing value, a superb location, and a great base for exploring the magnificent Lakes!! Oh, and the sun shone all day yesterday and today - that helps as well!!

  • Liked — The welcome, the service, the food, the location - there's nothing to hate!
  • Disliked — Nowt.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mightyredbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    53
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
427
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at The Cottage in the Wood and had an excellent time.

Upon arrival we were greeted with coffee and cake and then made to feel extremely welcome the whole stay. The breakfasts were excellent and we also had dinner there on the Friday evening that also was excellent.

On the Friday we ventured up to Whinlatter Forest (10 min walk up the road) and did a few miles round the excellent walks up there, we also drove down to Keswick (10 mins drive away) for a wander round, so the location is great too.

Would recommend this place to anyone, I only wish we'd had a few more days up there!

  • Liked — Location, Views and interior design of teh cottage itself.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaffer_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

I stayed at this hotel last weekend with my husband and two teenage children. It is in a great position for walkers and Go Ape (a forest adventure course of rope bridges, Tarzan swings and zip wire slides) is a short walk away, you need to book in advance for this.
The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The food was amazing, the gravad lax was the best I have ever tasted. My daughter prefers simple food, on the first night they cooked her a plainer version but after that she managed the normal menu.
Kath, the owner, seemed to be on duty every minute of the day and nothing was too much trouble. This is the best place I have stayed in the Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyBurn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights last year on a visit up to the Lake District. The owners were very hospitable. The food was excellent and I would highly recommend this hotel if you like good quality, tasty food.
Our room was very comfortable with up to date furnishings. It didn't have a bath, just a shower. This was not a problem to us but worth mentioning when you book if you especially want one.
The location of the hotel was excellent. We were able to just walk out straight onto the hills from the hotel.
We would recommend this hotel to foodies and hikers.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDewhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We were looking at somewhere to spend 2 nights for our anniversary weekend and decided on the Lake District and The Cottage in the Wood. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the co-owner Kath who sat us down with a tray of tea/coffee homemade buscuits and cake whilst we checked in. We were shown to room 1 which is a deluxe room with the sleigh bed and jacuzzi bath. We had 2 windows in the room, one overlooking the forest and mountains and the second overlooking the rear of the property where we saw a red squirrel on 2 occassions.

The room was a reasonable size with lovely little touches like water in the glass decantor, Gilchrist & Soames bathroom products and bathrobes to use during our stay. Our room did have a very slight tilt to it but that didn't effect our stay at all.

The hotel is in a fabulous position just a couple of miles up from Keswick, which in my opinion is one of the prettiest towns in the lake district, within walking distance from the Whinlatter Visitor centre which has the Ospray nesting camera's which you can see live Osprays up to early September, and just a couple of miles from 4 lakes - Bassenthwaite, Derwent Water, Crummock Water & Buttermere with several other lakes/waters & Scarpike fell all within a short drive away.

We booked the table for Dinner on the Friday and had a delicious meal and we were going to eat out Saturday but after seeing saturday's menu we decided to eat in again (which we do not regret!) the food is definately to a very high standard and was in the region of £6.00 pp for a starter and between £13-£18 approx per person for the main course. The wine list was reasonable varied and not too expensive. The bar area is very small but you can sit in the lounge area & order from the bar if preferred. There are a few board games & lots of books in the lounge if the weather isn't good and you get a bit bored.

Just to add that we are a couple in our mid thirties and there were at least 2 other couples of similar age and the rest of the guests we spoke to being just a little older - this is a great hotel for couples wanting a great base for a walking weekend or for people who just like lovely views. I disagree with a couple of previous reviews saying this is a stuffy place for older people - you make the trip what you want it to be in my opinion & we found everyone very friendly & more than willing to stop and chat.

I will try to add a couple of photos once I have sorted them out if I can.

  • Liked — Small friendly boutique hotel, great food & service & most definately location
  • Disliked — Ran out of my favourite wine but not really a problem
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

If you are looking for 3 or 4 star luxury accommodation in the Lake District I suggest that you look elsewhere. This hotel doesn’t have trouser presses or 24 hour room service. It doesn’t even have level floors and the nearest pub is nearly two miles away with a steep walk back up the mountain. Although it has a restaurant / dining room, it is usually closed Sunday and Monday evening. The rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller. So what do you get and why is it so popular on Trip Advisor? And did I mention that it rains… a lot?

It does have great views from the new dinning room (see photos of the same view of Skiddaw within a few hours of each other). It does have comfortable rooms and although the bathrooms are compact they are spotless and up to date. But above all, it has the personal touch from the resident owners, Cath and Liam. Liam is an excellent chef and Cath does an outstanding job front of house. The quality of service is one of the things which make this hotel stand out.

We ate in the dinning room on our first night and felt like guests of honour with the best table in the new dining room with the wonderful view over Whinlatter forest park and the mountains beyond. The food was as good as the view, and so were the breakfasts the day’s we were there. The price is reasonable for bed and breakfast for this standard of hotel. The new dining room, which opened in April 2008, is a fantastic addition to the hotel. If you are eating out we can highly recommend the Jade Garden Chinese Restaurant in Compston Road (in the one way system) in Ambleside, which is about 45 minutes from the hotel.

There are bird feeders all over the property but the one by the landing window is a good place to see a variety of small birds and a red squirrel, the first wild one I have seen in England. There is also a pair of Osprey birds nesting near by and you can see the nest if you go across the Lake to Dodd Wood in the summer months. This is the only place in England you will see these birds in the wild.

The forest itself has an excellent visitor centre only a few minutes up the road at the top of the Whinlatter pass. This is really worth a visit, the Go Ape high ropes looks challenging, even for most adults. We hired mountain bikes and rode along some of the forest tracks and looked back at the hotel nestling in the forest. Beware, the forest tracks are not flat and for occasional cyclists like my family, the climbing up is really hard work but coming back downhill great fun.

The hotel is small, and being an old cottage the rooms are as well. However, the personal touch and hard work from the owners provides a relaxing and enjoyable experience in an outstanding location. We will be back, but with better waterproof jackets

  • Liked — Excellent service and fantatstic views of the mountains
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew-Trimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2008

My Girlfriend and I (both early 20’s for all of those people who say it’s a place for the over 50’s) stayed in The Cottage In The Woods for 3 nights. The breakfasts were fantastic with a choice of full English complete with Cumberland sausage, Kippers and buttered bread or a lighter option which varied daily. I personally tried all three on different mornings and they were all delicious. I thought the Kipper was the best one I have ever had.

They do not serve an evening meal on Sunday and Monday night therefore I was only able to sample the evening food on the last night of my stay, but I have to say it was simply fantastic. Each course was beautifully cooked with a healthy portion and for the quality was very reasonably priced. We actually ate at The Pheasant the night before and can honestly say we thought the food was better at the Cottage in the Woods.

The location is top notch situated right in the middle of the Whinlatter Forest. The view from the restaurant is one of the best views I have ever witnessed. The local walks are equally picturesque and are great for filling up a stray afternoon when you need to fill some time.

For the younger guests such as myself there is a rope course run by the company GO APE only 300m or so down the road. This is worthy of a visit as it was so much fun and the staff are a really good laugh.

It is also in excellent proximity of some of the best peaks the Lakes have to offer. We climbed Haystacks and Catbells in our time there, both of which are only a short drive away.

I highly recommend this place to all age groups and I thoroughly look forward to returning next year.

  • Liked — The food and the view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzza3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
600 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
516 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing