We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to stay in The Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Anna & Paul, Warrington - 21&22 Feb 09
Our 2 night stay at The Cottage in the Wood was absolutely wonderful and I would recommend you book a visit soon! From the breathtaking location, the cosy log fire in the lounge to the modern setting of the restaurant which serves the most mouthwatering food (sourced locally) – I really can’t fault it and can’t wait to return.

On arrival, we were greeted by Kath who, along with her small team, does a fantastic job front of house. We were shown to our snug but beautifully furnished (Standard) room and then enjoyed complimentary tea and cakes by the fire – bliss!

We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on both nights. Liam’s food is delicious – his menus are uncomplicated and focus very much on the quality of the ingredients resulting in beautifully cooked and presented dishes. We were also very impressed with the wine list which was extremely reasonably priced too.

If you can tear yourself away from the cosy Cottage, the location really is superb and definitely my favourite part of the Lake District. As we are novice walkers, Kath was great in suggesting a few ‘easy’ walks – one of which started literally on the doorstep of the Cottage. This encompassed a trip to the Whinlatter Forest Visitor Centre (Go Ape fans will be glad to know there’s a great course here!) and a moderate ascent to Seat Howe with it’s stunning views of Bassenthwaite Lake and beyond. 10 minutes up the road is the town of Keswick with it’s superb range of shops and charming cafes and restaurants. This area in my opinion is much more appealing than Bowness, Windamere for example where we briefly stopped and hastily left due to the crowds of people and limited choice of ‘decent’ restaurants. In fact, after our brief trip to Windamere we couldn’t get back to Keswick and The Cottage quick enough!

We have stayed at a number of 5 star luxury hotels and resorts around the world and it is lovely to see that Kath and Liam have managed to maintain the traditional style, integrity and comfort of the Cottage whilst also adding to its appeal with all those little extra touches which make somewhere truly first class. So, hats off to Kath and Liam for a perfect little place – I’ll certainly be recommending it to friends!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2009

What a lovely place. The location is perfect and the views from the dining room are simply stunning. The owners are very welcoming and the food delicious. I dont hesitate in recommending 'The Cottage in the Wood' and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v5bjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I booked the 2 night stay for the 2nd and 3rd of Jan 09 as a supprise for my wife's birthday.
The weather was very cold and clear, the scenery stunning and the welcome and hospitality absolutely first class.
We ate in the both nights and were knocked out by the food quality. Kath was a super host and the staff were friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble.
Would we go back ? yes without a doubt.
The Cottage In The Wood has already been highly recommended to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Myself and the wife went here on the strength of trip advisor reports. I can honestly say that the vast majority of good reports got it just right. The whole experience was refreshing and of the highest standard. Despite rain all day we were welcomed warmly, and although our room was a little small ( I could not get in the superior rooms they were booked) it was spotless and very comfortable. The shower in particular and the bathroom was first rate, and the bed very comfortable. The host was more than attentive, she even got us ice for our wine ( a bit cheeky on our part, but we did not realise util arrival that they had a licence to serve alcohol !). The food was sublime, and the restaurant very warm, intimate and welcoming. Some reports have mentioned it is a little cramped, but we had no problems and service was first rate. The same can be said of the breakfast, just great. This short stay was just what we needed, and wished we could have stayed longer..but work calls. we would not hesitate to return here, and we shall be doing in the new year. The best for value I think in the lakes, just great !

Dr Malc

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SentaFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We called to make a booking, and we were turned away because we have an 8 week old child and they would not except a child in their hotel. I imagine if I had a dog, this wouldn't have been a problem.

Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
2  Thank SpecialK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whinlatter, Owners at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2008

The Cottage in the Wood is a mid 17th century inn. Many aspects of the building are unsuitable for young families. This includes some steep staircases, narrow doorways and open fires. Additionally, a large part of our USP is the beautiful and peaceful location, which led us to focus on a 'restful break' market. As a small establishment, it is difficult to be all things to all people. Although we are unable to cater for children under 10 years, rather than 'turning away' enquiries, we try to be helpful by recommending a hotel that we know can do a good job of catering for young families. We are also unable to accept pets.

Finally, can we thank all those who take the time and trouble to write reviews. We find the feedback invaluable and do take heed of all comments.

Liam & Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Stayed at the Cottage in the Wood in October 2008. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Fantastic location, very friendly, homely and warm atmosphere and absolutely fantastic food.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evie11_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

The Cottage in the Wood sits in a fabulous location on the Whinlatter Pass, on the wonderfully named 'Magic Hill'. We received such a lovely warm welcome from Kath on arrival - outside the weather was as bad as we could imagine, but that was soon forgotten as we melted into the warmth and cosiness of the Cottage. Our room was lovely - very comfy bed, telly with freeview, and a very clean and well-stocked bathroom. Pre-dinner drinks were served in the lovely lounge, with a roaring fire and smashing selection of books - especially regarding local walks. Dinner was brilliant - EVERYTHING is home cooked, with fresh breads, pasta and ice-creams amongst other items prepared freshly by Liam every day - and is worth every penny. Couple magnificent food with attentive but unfussy service, a very commendable wine list for a relatively small hotel, and you have the recipe for a superb meal. We enjoyed Friday's dinner so much, re-booking for Saturday was a real no-brainer. Breakfast again is of a high standard - with a daily 'special' available as an alternative to the 'Full Cumbrian', as well as all the usual selection of cereals, juices etc. Amongst all this, Kath or one of her staff were on hand to ensure we wanted for nothing.

Can't really fault this place for the money, we will be back - it's smashing value, a superb location, and a great base for exploring the magnificent Lakes!! Oh, and the sun shone all day yesterday and today - that helps as well!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mightyredbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
475 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £118 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing