We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Having read the reviews on trip advisor, booked the Cottage in the Wood for a two night break. Kath and her staff were excellent - extremely welcoming and friendly. Coffee and cake on arrival was a good touch and set the standard of service provided during our stay. The room was spotless, and the breakfast and evening meal was of a very high quality. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    53
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
432
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This was only our second visit to Cumvria and last time we stayed in Windermere, so we decided to try somewhere different. The first point I want to make is that staying in Keswick rather than the tourist-filled Windermere and Bowness was definitely an advantage - Keswick is still very popular but I feel that Derwentwater is more beautiful than Windermere, and the Theatre-By-The-Lake is also highly recommended. Keswick itself is a ten minute drive from the guesthouse, and if you drive down after breakfast you should be able to find ample parking spaces - lots of lovely walks and picnic spots round the lake, and a multitude of teashops in the town centre! It's also easy to park in the evenings too so you don't need to eat at the guesthouse/hotel every evening - though you might well wish to.
The Cottage In The Woods is situated about two thirds of the way up the Whinlatter Pass, overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake (with its ospreys) - they have recently extended their conservatory area which now forms a very attractive part of their restaurant, open to guests and others, and with stunning views. This restaurant is a key selling point - we ate there for three consecutive evenings, and we found the food excellent, the service friendly and efficient, and the hotel flexible. There were a choice of four starters, mains and desserts every evening, with a few changes made each day - around £24 for two courses, £28 for three. We rated every course out of ten - some achieved ten out of ten, none achieved less than seven, and the average was 8.
The hotel has a cosy, comfortable lounge area and small bar, serving a good range of drinks. It is very relaxed, almost like sitting in your own front room, but with other people to chat to if you wish. The staff are extremely welcoming and pleasant and are the hotel's greatest asset.
Our room was rather small, but very clean and with a spotless, though small, bath/shower room (excellent shower) with heated towel rail. There were coffee and tea making facilities and good quality biscuits replenished each day, but none of the 'extras' we've come to expect in recent visits to guesthouses such as mineral water and chocolates - but that wasn't a problem. There was a hair-dryer. The TV was okay though the volume kept going up and down randomly and reception wasn't entirely reliable (due to hotel's location, I suspect) - no dvd player, which was a pity. However, we were so tired by the time we went to bed that we weren't too bothered!
The cleanliness, general comfort and friendliness of the place, plus the marvelous restaurant, made this a short break we will definitely want to repeat. I would recommend this place to everyone. On our first evening there, purely by chance, we met some old friends and they too were impressed by the place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWingFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south Wales
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We recently had a wonderful three-night stay at the Cottage in the Wood. We had a deluxe room which was plenty big enough for us to spread our stuff around; the bathroom was a bit small but that didn’t present a real problem. Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

Kath and her staff made us feel very welcome – they were very friendly, whilst being totally efficient.

We didn’t meet Liam, but everything which came out of the kitchen was lovely – so no complaints there either. The breakfasts were great and set us up for the day. We had dinner there on the three evenings and enjoyed every mouthful of the food and wine. Dining in the conservatory was a real pleasure – we saw the view in sun and rain, although luckily, there wasn’t much of the latter!

We had pre-dinner drinks each night in the lounge and relaxed there after dinner with coffee and more drinks. Other reviewers have said the lounge is too small; we found it comfortable and cosy and spent more time there after dinner than we would have in other hotel lounges – we were totally chilled out!

It was our first visit to the Lake District and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We hope to return in the future and we won’t have to research hotels this time as we’ve found the perfect place to stay. Highly, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrackersouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester, England
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed at the Cottage in the Wood for 2 days last week, and was very impressed. It's in a stunning setting, with amazing views through the valley towards Skiddaw. Great welcome when we arrived. Rooms very nice, if a little small. Would go for the larger room next time. The food was of high standard, and mostly local produce, and with that view from the restaurant, truely stunning.
A great visitors centre 5 mins up the road, with nice cafe, and information about the local area and wildlife.
I would definately recommend here. Very cosy, and great location. Thank you very much Kath for a nice couple of days...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cashy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed two nights at Cottage in the Woods. Its location is superb within the Whinlatter Forest, great all sorts of outdoor activities.
One of the owner Kath greeted us on arrival and made us feel very welcome, the staff were all very good. Our room was clean and comfortable,it had a shabby chic feel about it, you have to bear in mind that the cottage is a very old building.
The restaurant was lovely in a new part of the cottage. The food cooked by the other owner Liam was fab.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithandsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Visited the hotel on the recommendation of a friend. I was sceptical because it seemed a bit twee and it was a bit but the food was fabulous. We go to lots of 5 star hotels and this is nothing like that but we had a really calm time here. No pressure, very relaxed and so different. Quiet and accessible for walking up mountains without a car. Good for a stop over for a couple of days. No crap pub food, just good, really good cooking with exceptional food. Not for folks who like burger and chips or those wanting to feed their over fed bellies but great for those wanting balanced, well cooked food, locally sourced, tasteful and fullsome.

Great walking. The lakes is the biz. Love it to bits. Will be back. want to see more of the chef.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xcanatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cottage in the Woods for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The staff quite simply couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome and help us with any queries we had. I've recommended Cottage in the Woods to a number of people. Especially mountain bikers. There's an awesome mountain biking center about 5mins walk away. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Keswick, in indeed The Lakes at large, I recommend you stay here. I almost forgot to mention the food. It is fantastic, as is the wine list!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProductDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
614 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
22.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of EnjoyEngland Silver Excellence in Tourism Award 2011, The Taste of Cumbria and Taste of England's North West 2010, and 2 AA rosette for culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing