We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food eaten in a restaurant with a stunning view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We found the food was excellent, from the breakfast 'specials' to the evening meals - those wonderful puddings! Kath and her staff made us most welcome and were more than helpful - even making sure my boots were dry for the next day's walking. The hotel was well situated, with all the places we wished to visit within easy reach and some beautiful forest walks just a few hundred yards away. Our rooms were immaculate and the beds comfortable. I enjoyed having relaxing baths gazing through the skylight at the stars - wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashhurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

This was our first visit, we were warmly welcomed & given complementary tray of tea, coffee & cake. During our stay the service was friendly, attentative & efficient. The owners were very "hands on" with nothing too much trouble, this also showed in their staff. Our room was comfortable & quiet with a coffee machine to make the real thing & lovely views of the Skidaw Mountain range.
The food was excellent, presentation good without being too fussy & the flavours of the superbly cooked local produce absolutely hit the spot for a couple of food lovers. The wine list was comprehensive if not extensive, but the value for money here was certainly above average with mark ups considerably less than many other hotels we have visited. We will certainly return, soon hopefully.
Adrian & Sue (South Yorkshire)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creaky_Joints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Thanks to Liam kath and their team we had another lovely weekend at their beautiful hotel. The rooms have been updated since we last stayed, ours was very comfortable, very clean and had nice little extra's. The shower room looked brand new. the new conservatory and decked area is sympathetic to the original building and we enjoyed sitting outside looking at the stunning view whilst listening to a stream.
Food as ever was first rate. Liam's Creme Brulee is to dye for!. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in a very comfortable hotel. The staff are very friendly and each guest is met with a very warm welcome every morning/evening. we had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Visited this hotel with my wife for a two night stay. We were welcomed and shown to our very comfortable room and then presented with a tray of tea and cakes to welcome us. A lovely touch. Our room was on the first floor with wonderful views over the area. The room appeared to have a sloping floor which I suppose is the norm for a building of its age. It really didnt detract from our stay. The lounge has various maps and books available to assist you with local places to visit.

We were visiting on Sunday and Monday, which just happened to be when the restaurant is closed in the evening. The staff have to have a night off occassionally I suppose. We were told that this was the case when we booked so this was not an issue. Im just sorry didnt get a chance to sample the food. Had wonderful breakfasts which were well cooked and varied, with specials on offer each morning. We even had the red squirrel visit in the morning and put on a display outside the restaurant window. A real treat!

Spoke to Kath the owner one morning and she suggested suitable walks for us to take and gave us maps so that we could find our way back! I didnt find her intimidating in any way, just genuinely helpful.

All in all a very relaxed stay at a wonderful hotel with attentive staff. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_L76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Have just spent 2 nights here in a deluxe room. We felt well cared for, from the moment we arrived. After we were shown our room, we were provided with tea and cake in reception and this was very welcome as we'd just finished a 3 hour walk. The hotel is very well placed for ascending Grisedale Pike which we did the next day, up one route and down another, followed by a visit to the nearby Visitor Centre's excellent cafe. And followed by more tea in the sun on the hotel's terrace! We saw a woodpecker and a red squirrel during our stay. Our room was very comfortable, bathrobes were provided and the whirlpool bath was much appreciated after our long walk. The food was delicious. although portions are not large, we were pleasantly full after dinner. There was an excellent choice at breakfast with fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals as well as kippers, eggs etc. There was a "special" cooked course each day too. Spoiled for choice. We enjoyed the peaceeful location. Although the hotel is next to the road, we were not disturbed by traffic at all and we felt very away from it all, despite being a short journey from Keswick.
What made this break especially memorable for us was the welcoming, friendly and efficient staff. The owner,Kath, exemplified these qualities. The staff were clearly well trained in their jobs and we found the service to be excellent at all times .Sadly, we don't often find this to be the case in our travels!
Will we go back? Definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We spent 3 nights at The Cottage in the Wood. This is the place to stay if you want a gourmet breakfast (fabulous free range eggs, local bacon and sausage and other great treats), and would like to come back to a superb dinner after a long day exploring the Lake District. It is really nice not to have to go back out in the car for dinner, and also the driver gets to have a drink. The dining area has a sleek, glassed-in section overlooking the forest with a long view to the mountains - gorgeous. Kath is the hostess and she helped us in every way, including mailing our lost cellphone to the U.S. after we left! She is gentle and kind and enthusiastic. Our room and bathroom were spotless. We slept with the window open and it was totally silent except for the sound of the breeze in the forest. Forests are rare in the Lake District. Kath has birdfeeders filled to the top, complete with a picture guide next to the window so you can learn their names. There is a tiny bar in a cosy little lounge, very English! The main lounge is packed with interesting books and magazines and it is also cosy and warm. We enjoyed meeting other people who were staying at The Cottage in the Wood - we had some nice conversations. If you are looking for top-quality, environmentally sustainable gourmet food in a peaceful forest near a trail system in a spotless room, this is the place for you - and it is only a few minutes from Keswick which is a really interesting little town full of more sports supply stores than I though existed in England!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norsechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 3-night stay at the Cottage in the Wood over our wedding anniversary. We've stayed at many other hotels in the Keswick area, including excellent establishments like the Punchbowl and the Pheasant, and found the Cottage to be their equal in terms of the overall experience, and cheaper too.

The setting is magnificent. Yes it's in the middle of a forest, which is clear from the web site and for us is a major attraction - just check out the view of Skiddaw from the conservatory restaurant! And there are superb walks straight from the front door. Some reviewers have commented that there are no pubs nearby - indeed not, and that's a good thing. If you want pubs on the doorstep then stay in Keswick or Ambleside; if you want peace and amazing scenery then the Cottage is for you!

Kath is a superb hostess; the warmth of her welcome is genuine and she keeps it going throughout the stay. The other staff were also extremely courteous and friendly at all times and soon remembered our preferences. The food is superb. The menu changes each day and there is an excellent choice each evening. The breakfasts are also a fantastic start to the day.

No place is perfect – the attic room is short of headroom and the building has the quirks that come with age and character. But the superb location, relaxed ambience, fantastic service and amazing food produced an unbeatable experience in this area of the Lakes. Many people seem to share our view as the place is very popular; we have already rebooked our return for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
20.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £117 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing