We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy romantic break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Stayed at the Cottage in the Wood this weekend as a surprise getaway from my husband. Very impressed by the service and the idyllic location in the heart of the Lake District. We ate in the restaurant the first night and have to say the food was fantastic. Despite the freezing temperatures outside we were warmed by the atmosphere inside from the friendly staff and hearty log burner in the lounge. Breakfast was also very good with a chance to soak up the amazing views.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

This is one of nicest places we've stayed in in the Lakes. As soon as we walked through the door we were met by a warm friendly welcome from Kath and the staff.
Rooms warm and comfortable. Food excellent. Wonderful location with fantastic views from the conservatory resturant.
Kath was very helpful when our car got stuck in the mud at a car park 2 miles up the road, and having managed to hitch a lift back to the hotel to phone the RAC (no mobile signal) she let us use her phone and made us coffee while we waited for rescue.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millydog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We had a really beautiful start to married life with the first couple of days here. We stayed in the top floor suite which was full of character and with an awesome view out the window. It had a real feel of boutique luxury which is exactly what we were looking for. The food is second to none and without a doubt the best meal we had all honeymoon was our first meal there which was gourmet standard.

We were made to feel so so welcome and so at home that we've been reminiscing ever since and can't wait to go back.

Thank-you Liam and Kath!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynFairbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Cottage for 12 days. The location is perfect - isolated, quiet and yet not very far from all of the sights in the Lake District. Kath and her team make you feel welcome. Service is very attentive and friendly, never stogy. Kath is very knowledgeable about the area and can help you plan your day. (The detailed weather reports help too).

The Cottage is not a frilly, fussy Victorian place. Our room was big, bright and with a bit of luxury to make you feel special. The dining/breakfast room is modern, lively and active in the morning and in the evening is transformed into a romantic fine dining experience.

The food: We ate dinner there three times. The menu varied widely from day to day and that is because they don't plan the dinner menu "until we've seen what's best at the market today". And then they deliver the best. Staying 12 days at one B&B certainly is a test for the kitchen. They are up to it - you can order a full English (including award winning blood pudding), but I suggest that you try their "specials" like smoked salmon with scrambled eggs on a muffin or french toast with bananas and fresh figs.

We had a wonderful time here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzanorth62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We only stayed for one night as we were visiting a relative nearby, and we stayed in the new garden room which was large, beautifully decorated, innovative and well equipped.
We were made to feel very welcome and managed to get a table for an evening meal. This was very well cooked and presented and was a fraction of the cost of similar meals we have recently eaten in London and Cambridge. We liked the pre dinner drink in the comfortable lounge - the place was very busy and every table was booked. (we got a late cancellation.) Good choice of wine at good prices.
Excellent breakfast with great views across the Derwent valley. We really like the idea of ensuring that produce is locally sourced, or even better, from the wild.
Couldn't fault it really!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My husband and I stayed in the birch room. It was a bit on the small side, but fine for one night and very nicely decorated. Very comfortable bed. We had dinner as well as breakfast and both meals were delicious. The host, Kath was very welcoming. The b&b is in a lovely area and we managed to explore the whinlatter forest which is beautiful and has fantastic views over Keswick and the the Skiddaw hills. I would definately recommend this place and hope to go back for longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1azza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it a great base for exploring the area surrounding Whinlatter forest. The hotel is right next to this forest and the views from the garden decking looking out to Skiddaw mountain are outstanding. We stayed in a cottage room, and found it adequate for our stay. We had a lovely view looking out towards Skiddaw.
The owner was very helpful and friendly and helped with driving directions when needed. They provided a weather update each morning which was handy.
The food (we had breakfast and dinner there on both days) was fantastic.
The Lake District is a wonderful place to visit and we really enjoyed ourselves. Would definitely recommend staying at the Cottage in the Woods.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
475 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
671 reviews
6.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Magic Hill, Whinlatter Forest, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Braithwaite
Price Range: £118 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage in the Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century former coaching Inn located in the middle of Whinlatter, England's only mountain forest. Stunning views of the Forest Valley and Skiddaw mountain range. The Forest hosts a variety of wildlife including Deer and Red Squirrels. This restaurant with rooms has achieved recognition through the award of Cumbria Tourism's Taste Cumbria 2016 and 3 AA rosette for culinary excellence. 'The Cottage' is featured in the Good Food Guide and Good Hotel Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Braithwaite
The Cottage In The Wood Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing