We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary visit”
Review of Coledale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coledale Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Braithwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Anniversary visit”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

There's a 'champion' hotel here in Braithwaite that's noted for fresh air and fun.
This year's been our 25th visit ~ and 'by gum' we've enjoyed every one.

We're looked after so well here at Coledale, the food is an absolute treat,
And this new refurbishing's smashing, with comfort and style you can't beat.

But what makes the difference is people and a welcome that's warm and sincere.
They really are happy to see us ~ so that's why we've come back each year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    44
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
131
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at the coledale even better now they have revamped the rooms.stayed for 3 days in room 1 with our doggie and was shown a few more rooms which were really nice. Now upgrading the beer garden and will return in the summer to see the outcome. Sorry for taking room key home didn't want to leave.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindal699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for a valentines treat and we weren't disappointed. We were in room 16 in the annex which has been recently renovated. It was lovey very spacious with tasteful furniture and decor. The shower / toilet area was small but clean and tidy. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We had lunch I the hotel before heading into keswick. The meals were good large portions and delicious usual Lake District choices on menu of Cumberland sausage, steak, lamb etc. A taxi to keswick cost us £6 so ideal if you fancy a night out in keswick without staying in the centre. Though we didn't take our dogs the hotel was very dog friendly too.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphrobiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Once again we had an excellent 4 night stay at the Coledale. We don't understand the negative comments left on this site. Our stay, as usual, had good food, good accommodation, & a nice selection of good, well kept beers. As usual all staff were very friendly and competent throughout our stay. Friends who have stayed here also agree fully with our comments.
Can only say that we are always made to feel very welcome and comfortable here.
We look forward to seeing the completed work to improve the beer garden, which should be done by our next visit. Also we had a newly decorated and furnished room, which was very nice.
As always sorry to leave, but very glad to go back.

Room Tip: A great dog loving hotel, so ground floor rooms good for this purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here last year and enjoyed the experience. The food was good "pub grub" and quite large portions, the staff were helpful and friendly and the accomodation was comfortable. I was a little apprehensive when i found negative comments this year. However these proved to be a long way from the point. The accomodation has just been completely refurbished and completed to a high standard . The food was just as good and the staff only too pleased to assist. The bar stocks a selection of real ales and service was always freindly and quick. The bar areas also boasting open fires which is great after a wet and cold days walking. We were a very large party and no-one had a complaint of any sort. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main hotel and others annexed off to the left and right. 1 review says the an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilkley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very well managed hotel. Eaten here before but quality has improved. A much better spot than the majority of mediocre Lake District hotels who don't have to try. Clean rooms, great food and lovely staff.

Room Tip: Room 24 in separate building but spacious for family of 3, modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverenoughbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January with our 2 dogs and couldn't fault it at all. Our room was newly decorated and the furnishings were beautiful. We were in Room 1 which has its own ground floor entrance which was handy for the dogs. All the food was delicious and we'll have to return to finish the menu!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Dogfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braithwaite
3.5 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
517 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
603 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
578 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coledale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coledale Inn

Property: Coledale Inn
Address: Nr. Keswick, Braithwaite, Keswick CA12 5TN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Braithwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Braithwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coledale Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A characterful country inn and bar/restaurant with open fires for the winter months and sunny beer garden for the summer. Families, walkers and Dogs welcome.2014 brings 20 Newly Refurbished Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coledale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coledale Hotel Braithwaite
Coledale Inn Braithwaite, Keswick, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing