We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just about perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Petaloutha

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glossa, Skopelos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Chris G
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Petaloutha is a stunning villa to visit. There are rooms galore but we enjoyed a trip for just two and we couldn't have asked for more. You won't find better views on Skopelos, that's a fact! And when not outside enjoying the vista, the villa offers a couple or family a home from home. Glossa is lovely little place that has some great places to eat in the evening, most in beautiful settings. Agnanti (spelling?) is a little more expensive than others but worth evey euro - ask to reserve the table for two with the sea view. Idyllic.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, Chris. It's especially good to know that you and Julie were really happy in the villa, as I know you were celebrating a very special occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Views to Die For”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Picture the scene ... sitting by the pool, glass of chilled wine in hand, gazing out over neighbouring Greek islands, with nothing to spoil the view.
This was our second stay in the fabulous Villa Petaloutha. It is situated on one of the highest points on the island, where the views don't get any better.
The house has all the amenities you could possible need.The kitchen is well-stocked, the locker room has snorkels and flippers, and the utility room has a washing machine,
This year, we brought all three sons along for a scuba diving break. They loved it. The house and grounds have so many private areas, that you are always guaranteed a bit of privacy, should you need it.
Each bedroom has air-con, which was a life-saver for us. Skopelos was experiencing its hottest June for some years, with temperatures into the high 30's.
The people in the nearest town of Glossa are so friendly and there is a lovely 30 minute walk from the house into the town. Glossa has tiny streets, so leave your car behind.
I can't really offer any negatives, although be warned that the private drive up to the house is steep. That aside, this is a fantastic place to chill for a week or two. We have already re-booked for 2018.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you for that lovely review. I'm delighted to hear that you had such a good time on the island and really loved the villa. It's also wonderful to know that you enjoyed the whole experience so much that you will be coming again next year. You are so welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne B
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic Setting Look Forward To My Return ”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Visited Petaloutha with some seasoned travellers who have visited the island & villa before to rave reviews & comments
The villa & island did not disappoint
Petaloutha is set high up in the hills & to have such an idyllic location & views, not far from bars & restaurants of Glossa is fantastic.
The villa set has such character & charm and that is its appeal .The main house and the annexe allows room for people to move around freely .The views from the main terrace are breathing taking and hard to drag yourself away .
The villa is set up a windy track but that allows for the amazing views, it doesn't have all the mod cons but that is its charm & appeal as a traditional comfortable Greek villa.
Saying that the very needed air conditioning worked perfectly throughout our stay.The outhouse has a great storage & washing facility area. The Gardens are situated at the back of the property.
Everything we needed was at the villa & plenty of towels and clean sheets to accommodate everybody .
The main living space is housed with beautiful ornaments from around the world
I would throughly recommend Petaloutha if you like a traditional villa with bag fills of charm & a view and location to match any Greek Island
Fantastic holiday and look forward to my return .

Date of stay: June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for this review. It's greatly appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector58o
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab week in a fab villa”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a wonderful time in this charming quiet villa. It is in a remote peaceful private location where we all managed to completely relax and forget about our busy lives back in the UK.It was great base from which to explore Skopalos.
Wonderful views. Comfortable accommodation. Very helpful manager who met our every need.
A thoroughly good time was had by all.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your generous review. I'm delighted that you had a wonderful, relaxing time at the villa, and also that you chose a week in late September when the weather was perfect. (I was following the forecasts closely!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelswi...
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, tranquil and quite lovely.”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you so much to the owner. We had a wonderful time. The weather was a little inclement for a couple of days (this was late September), but it improved as the week went on and even if it initially kept us out of the pool, it never once marred that astonishing view. The villa is simply lovely and every bit as relaxing and tranquil as we’d hoped for. We didn’t do very much - had some great meals in some of the fine restaurants on Skopelos, went snorkeling in the sea a few times, walked around the hill in the early morning sunshine to pick up bread in Glossa and otherwise sat around reading, playing backgammon, gazing at the sea and drinking wine, but then that’s our idea of a perfect break. Everything was very well organised; our reception was warm, friendly and helpful, our hire car was waiting for us at the quay as promised, the house was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable… This is a calm, restful, romantic place, on a quiet beautiful island with great beaches and all quite magical in its own way. We’ll definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for this generous review. It was always such a pleasure dealing with you, and I'm delighted that the house and the island lived up to your best expectations. My only regret is that you had bad weather for a couple of days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a family of 5 adults ranging from 19 to a lively and able 94 year old. Expectations were exceptionally high as the reviews were amazing! This was our second time on Skopelos in consecutive years having spent our first visit in a 5* hotel and Spa. Arrival was very organised, Eleni and Antony were extremely helpful, but thank goodness we followed Eleni as I don't think we would have found the Villa. It was very remote and had a steep track to it but this was not an issue, it  had the most amazing views and was very peaceful and tranquil.  However, we were expecting rustic but for us it was just too rustic. Inside felt cluttered and shabby as did the patio and pool area, where one could not walk barefoot because of the condition of the tiles. The kitchen was very tiny and very tired and not really appropriate for 5 adults. (I would expect a dishwasher in any villa in the 21st century). The showers didn't work very well. And the TV was  outdated and in an inappropriate location for viewing as a family when the weather was poor.  The villa really wasn't somewhere we could spend 2 weeks it was too remote and too rustic, and there were a few small, brown, furry, four legged non paying guests frequenting the kitchen and we would see them scurrying across the kitchen worktops! The villa really wasn't for us and I am disappointed that it didn't meet our expectations.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
I'm really shocked by your comments. Every single review we've had has been "ecstatic" and five star. None of our guests have made any of the complaints that you have, with one exception -- the showers -- a problem that occurred at the end of the season, and which has already been solved by replacing the main water pump. . What I find particularly upsetting is that you and I actually had a chance to meet. You were very friendly, and didn't make any of these criticisms when you spoke to me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverlyb5...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a stunning villa! It sits proudly on what must be the highest point on the island and the views are unbelievable. I cannot add a great deal to the other reviews on here, apart from attaching one of our wonderful sunset photographs. The Villa is full of character; Anthony, the owner, is charming and takes a personal interest in the people who are renting the villa, with a welcome note and bottle of wine when you arrive. Eleni is delightful and knowledgeable about the local area. In his welcome letter Anthony recommended Flisvos Taverna, right by the sea in Loutraki and we went there several times. It did not have the grace or style of Agnanti in Glossa, but the food was wonderful and the staff were welcoming and helpful.
Be warned that the car hire firm appreciate cash for hires at the moment. The roads are not for the faint hearted, but the views and personality of the villa make a little bit of nerve so worthwhile!

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for that lovely revue, Beverly. I'm really sorry if the car hire people were grumpy about card payments. They've assured me many times that they will always accept cards, though they prefer cash. I've just phoned them, and they promised that this policy won't change, and they are sorry about any misunderstanding!!With best wishes and thanks again, Antony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.