We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional but not Fab”

Coconut Grove Miners Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Grove Miners Lodge
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just left Coconut Grove after a 3 night stay for work - it was fine, rooms are clean with very high ceilings which give a nice impression of space. I actually preferred the room here compared to Anyinam Lodge where I've also stayed many times. The food was not as good though, very basic, staff were friendly enough, particularly the lady on Reception. There is a friendly little dog, attached to the hotel, Ziggy, who runs around greeting everyone. No Wifi during my stay.

My laundry was done efficiently, and the cleaner kindly returned a WiFi USB key I'd accidentally left in my shirt pocket, so "Medase Pa" for that!!!!

Bathroom was very clean and spacious, separate toilet, everything worked fine, but having to turn the water heater on/off 10min before showering is slightly irritating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DameDuFerAustralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for Coconut Grove Miners Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spent nearly four weeks here for work in june, and it was ok.

Rooms basic but clean, food fine but limited, and staff generally good and friendly.

Cost wise I think was around$60-80 per night so not cheap.

Had previously stayed at anyinam lodge, and anyinam for me would be preferable, as I believe it is slightly cheaper. The rooms are similar at both places but a better range of food at anyinam and the surroundings are nicer, particularly the bar, grounds and pool.

Wifi worked in the room but was very slow, better in public areas but still a little slow.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was at Coconut Grove for over a week.
WIFI : didn't work most of the time
Food : not good in comparison with price
Staff : some good, some very bad.

Room Tip: get a room near reception, atleast you may have WIFI sometimes !
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShahriarParvaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Good alternative to the anyinam lodge std. Wifi in reception.
Rooms ok, food good enough.
Staff welcoming and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank fremian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Coconut Grove Miners Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Miners Lodge

Address: Gausu, Obuasi 233, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Ashanti Region > Obuasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Obuasi
Price Range: £72 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Grove Miners Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miner’s Lodge is located at Gausu in Obuasi, five minutes drive from the historic township of Obuasi. It is the most competitive hotel in Obuasi and rated among the best in the Ashanti Region. The Lodge is located only 45 minutes drive from Kumasi and offers an ideal ‘escape’ from the hustle and bustle of Kumasi at a very competitive rate in a clean and secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Grove Miners Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing