We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chancellor Executive Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varsity Lakes
Buderim
Level Contributor
440 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

$195 a night. Unhelpful reception experience - no information provided about where the car park is or how to access the apartments. Both bedside lights in the bedroom did not work. The TV did not work. The bathroom tap dripped/ran all night (washers need replacing) and nearly drove me mad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    20
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
9
15
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I booked and stayed in this apartment late last year. The convenience of the late check out was great, quick and hassle free. The staff's are all so lovely and helpful. For an apartment, it is very nice, clean and tidy and close to compare to a hotel. Its very close to Bond University, restaurants and small shopping center. I like the facilities and the public area is always looked after. I will definitely return and recommend it. Reading few comments from the other commentors, all i can say is..."Its a serviced apartments, not a hotel."

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The apartment is large and close to Bond University and the restaurants and shops. Strange configuration air-conditioning in the lounge but no air-conditioning in the bedroom. The gym is a joke. The place is clean but the smell from the garbage disposal system wafts down the passage at times. The WIFI is rapacious. Not worth the price but not much choice in the area either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at this apartment severals times 2 years ago and I was quite satisfied with the overall experience. Very unfortunately, everything seemed different this time. The apartment is under new management now. The new receptionist was unfriendly and the manager was fishy. I had to pay 50 dollars extra as I arrived too early to check in. The room I stayed in wasn't cleaned properly, I made complaints to the receptionist who didn't show any care. I don't think I'll ever come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varsity Lakes hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It ia a terrible experience , I wish I never come to this place.You can see some trash on the floor,the bathroom was so disgusting ,and the service was terrible .How outrageous charging 145 dollars per day for using the wifi! What a filthy business! If the staff had been more courteous the entire experience would have been more berable but even that was lacking.You better book a cleaner hotel rather than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights while on a business trip visiting Bond University. They seem to market themselves as a good place for business trips, yet the internet was $18AUD a day...and even if you did choose to pay that ridiculous price, there was no facility for wifi at all. You had to bring a laptop and connect it to the wall via a network cable. So bizarre. If you are staying here, the Jets gym across from the main entrance has free wifi 24/7, but you do look a little strange hanging out in the carpark! The cleanliness of the apartment was fairly good. Receptionist english is not the best and hard to understand at times.

The other thing that I found very bizarre was that check in closed at 5pm...if you arrived after this time, you had to talk to a speaker box which would open the door for you and then direct you to a lock box which you had to open to get your key.

The room was much larger than I needed and I didn't use the kitchen at all, although it was fairly well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The front desk was very inefficient, and unprofessional. I went to check out at 8:30am (Reception opening time), the receptionist arrived at 8:50. When I was ready to finalise the check out, a couple just came in, and the receptionist just ignored me and started to deal with the couple so I had to wait for another 10 mins.

The bathroom wasn't very clean and during night time the apartment was quite noisy, I hardly got any sleep. I don't recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varsity Lakes
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
5.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
7.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancellor Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancellor Executive Apartments

Property: Chancellor Executive Apartments
Address: 19 Lake St, Varsity Lakes, Gold Coast, Queensland 4227, Australia (Formerly The Chancellor)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Varsity Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varsity Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chancellor Executive Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancellor Executive Apartments at Varsity Lakes presents superior accommodation and can accommodate visits from a single night to extended stays of three months or longer. Within easy access is all the entertainment, activity and tranquility that The Gold Coast has to offer. The Chancellor features one bedroom apartments that are designed in a sophisticated manner with luxury and comfort in every detail. Facilities include a well equipped fitness room, resort style pool and barbeque entertainment area. The Chancellor also offers a conference/function centre and separate meeting room. Catering from the intimate board meeting to larger conferences of up to 200 or weddings or social functions, The Chancellor presents the perfect mix of function and accommodation venue. Amidst the landscaped gardens are various al-fresco restaurants, business suites and a tavern. Step out your door to Varsity Parade where you will find many more restaurants and cafes all offering superior quality and service all in a relaxed environment. Located within a 3 minute walk to Bond University, Skilled Park Stadium and world class golf courses a 5 minute drive, Pizzey Park Sporting Complex and beaches within a 10 minute drive. The Chancellor with its fully furnished self contained apartments is well placed to cater for the astute sporting traveller, or the perfect setting for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chancellor Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing