We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday!”
Review of Camping L'escapade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahagnolles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping L'escapade
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked a Super Venus chalet for the four of us, which was just right- good price and enough space. It had a nice balcony, with table and chairs and also a stone barbecue tucked round the corner. Our two children (7 and 2 years old) shared the second bedroom.
The site is extremely well presented and very clean. The swimming pool is excellent; warm enough for our two year old to spend a long time splashing about and deep enough for our seven year old to practise his diving. There are two free bouncy castles suited for both our children, which they used a lot! The bar area is very good and serves reasonably priced food.
The very best aspect of the site are the ownersValerie and Didier and their family, who made us feel very welcome and consistently provided excellent service. We are intending to return for another visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bicycletripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    46
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
90
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just got home from 5 nights here. Although it was quite quite (which isn't a bad thing!) the site was immaculate. Great staff, great facilities and a super location to tour Normandy and the D-Day beaches. Our first camping experience and we'll make sure we book with them again, faultless!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abetts2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is without a doubt one of the best, friendliest campsites in Europe
On the plus side
No planes on a flight path.
No main roads with noise.
Recycling.
A Lake.
Bucolic countryside.
Super clean facilities.
A super capable, friendly host in Valerie who can do most things to make your stay terriffic
A good restaurant and bar.
Close to Bayeaux, Giverny, D Day beaches and Mont St Michael.
We arrived in rain, no booking, went to set up a tent, valerie arrived to say a mobile home had come free."Did we want it?"
Oh yes we did and what a great home it was, all clean, tidy and warm.
Free wifi and all.
This was a perfect start to Flower camping and they are the best that we stayed at in three months of camping in Europe.
The NZ flag on the door is ours and they earned it.
Taste of Calvados as well,given free .
you will not find better.
On the minus side.
You may not want to leave.

Room Tip: Mobile homes so comfortable we almost gave up tenting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacadnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family and I stayed on this site for 10 nights with our touring caravan. The pitches are large and private , separated by low hedges. The toilet block is spotless , plenty of showers with hot water included in the price of your stay. Facilities on the site include tennis court, ping pong, boule, and a fabulous swimming pool which is warm and has a opening cover to convert into outdoor pool when weather allows. We were there from first week in July and the pool roof was able to be opened every day bar one. Again all of the cost of the above is included.
The owners are very friendly and welcoming and their English is adequate.
The site is perfect if you want a quiet retreat as it is out in the countryside, but is within a short journey of Bayeax, Aromanche and many Normandy war memorial museums etc.
I would fully recommend his site, just one point to note, as the pitches are large you would be better placed to have a lengthy electric hook up cable, ours only just reached the hook up point.
PS We will be going back !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

June into July 2013 We stayed at this site for 11 nights. From the first we were impressed. The owners/managers speak very good english and gave us a local guide book and map, upon which she marked the nearst fuel and supermarkets, as well as reccomending sights of interest.
She then took us up to our pitch and ensured we had everything before leaving us to it.
As there are only 19 tent/cravan pitches the (Unisex!) Toilet and Shower blocks are never busy. The showers work on a fob system, whereby you are given an electric fob that not only operates the site access barriers but operates the shower pump. It might sound weird but it works and the only downside is that everyone in you party has to shower at a seperate time.

The nearest large towns are Bayeux which is very pretty and Tilly sur seulles which is OK but is very new and not so pretty.
We used it as a base for both touring the D day beaches and as a relaxing holiday for which it proved perfect. There is a very nice heated indoor pool which is also an outdoor pool ir required. there are also plenty of facilities on site for kids of all ages.
All in all this is a very nice clean site which has no drawbacks and they are few and far between these days!
i would thoroughly recomend it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Great campsite. Owners speak English and are extremely pleasant and helpful. The campsite is incredibly clean. When we were there, the penultimate week of july 2012, there were plenty of people there but it was quiet. There was never a queue for showers. If fact rarely saw more than one other person in shower/toilet block. Pitches are big- we had a family tent with 2 pods and 2 three man tents. Our pitch was very private, with trees and fields behind it. Plenty for young teenagers to do. Lovely heated swimming pool, beach balls provided by campsite for use in pool, tennis, table tennis ect. Kids made friends with other kids. Little shop and bar - well away from camping pitches. Cycled from site to Bayeaux, quiet roads, also nice circular cycle from site. Easy drive to beaches.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We travelled around Europe for 3 weeks by our caravan and this camping place was the most lovely camping place we´ve been at!

It´s a family business situated next to Caen/Bayeux/Normandie and you can feel that there´re good people caring about this place.

You can find there a heated swimming pool, a lake where you can angle too, a nice little bar/bistro, and lot of tame animals, very family friendly!
The whole camping area is beautiful, toilets and washing rooms are sanitized!
There are mobile homes, even a wedding society celebrated and booked a part of the campsite! So nice, so are the owners and the staff.

We´ve really been to many campsites in different countries as in France.

In conclusion camping léscapade, L'Église, 14490 Cahagnolles/Normandie/France
is defineatly worth to see it and highly recommended to have an enjoyable time in wonderful France!

L&G

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahagnolles
8.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Bayeux
Premiere Classe Bayeux
#13 of 21 in Bayeux
454 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
12.1 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Camping Port'Land
Camping Port'Land
#1 of 4 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
289 reviews
7.4 mi away
Siblu Villages - Domaine de Litteau
3.6 mi away
Camping Le Clos De Balleroy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping L'escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping L'escapade

Property: Camping L'escapade
Address: 14490 Cahagnolles, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cahagnolles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cahagnolles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’escapade campsite gathers all Normandy’s charms. Space and nature, the pleasure of an indoor heated pool, fishing pond, air-filled games for kids, to enjoy a great time.From our location you will be able to visit the D-Day beaches and the numerous museums devoted to it, the city of Bayeux and its famous tapestry, and a litlle further the outstanding Mont Saint Michel.Mod cons mobile home and camping sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping L'Escapade France/Cahagnolles, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing