We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a night in Hurinui”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hurunui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hurunui River Retreat
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
“a night in Hurinui”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Thank-you for a lovely stay. Modern and clean accommodation that was super toasty on a cold night. Lovely and spacious with a homely feel and such fantastic hosts. Thank-you also for dinner and a great night with lots of laughs.

Thanks again and we certainly hope to be back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

PERFECT!! This place was just amazing, it easily exceeded my already high expectations. Ali and Steve were the perfect hosts, so friendly and generous. It was the perfect place to spend some quality time together, with the stunning views, bottle of wine and delicious homemade food made it very easy to relax , not to mention an outdoor bath by candlelight just to top it all off. These guys have honestly thought of everything for a romantic getaway. The Hurunui River Retreat is an absolute must. We will definitely going back in the near future.

Room Tip: Either Cottage would be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandii L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We recently stayed for the night, this being our third visit to Hurunui River Retreat. The setting is peaceful with fantastic scenery and we had a great time swimming down at the Hurunui River, lovely and warm! Ali and Steve were great hosts,as always, and we loved the modern comfort of the cottage. Highly recommend for a great getaway destination from Christchurch or for somewhere different to stay whilst exploring the South Island!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

These cottages are only surpassed by the amazing hospitality offered by the owners Ali and Steve.Wonderfully appointed with a view that is just lovely.If you want peace,isolation,but with every little convienience catered for-we can thoroughly recommend this place.
Only a 30 minute or so drive from there to Hanmer Springs.
This place is special,a place to recharge the batteries!
H and T
Christchurch

Room Tip: Either one of the two cottages would be excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrynheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here, had a lovely time and were very impressed with the accommodation. We were in the area to fly fish, and the fishing was really good. Ali and Steve were great hosts and were happy to help with the fishing by arranging river access for us on a neighbours land. They were extremely helpful and even took us out with them to a street party on one of the evenings, which was a lovely chance to meet the locals.
The units are spacious and beautifully fitted out. They both have good views and are totally private. We were happy self catering and the facilities were good for that. There is also a laundry, which is handy on a long trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anntheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Ali & Steve have thought of everything here to give their guests the perfect break. They are very generous in their hospitality, not least with their time. They obviously feel so much pleasure when their guests are moved, as we were, by the beauty and tranquillity of their home. It is a pleasant 15 minute walk to the river with a choice of access nearby and more a short drive away. We spent an idyllic afternoon along the Hurunui Gorge which Ali & Steve organised for us. It may feel like an effort, but the starlight bath with frog chorus is absolutely worth it and is the most luxurious of many special touches in a very comfortable, spacious and well equipped apartment. Our winter special included a hearty, tasty soup and the breakfast provisions with homemade muesli & bread set us up each day.
Take in the view from the deck with a glass of wine in your hand, and relax away your cares.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Previous emails from Ali and Steve at Hurunui River Retreat had made us feel at home and welcome but turning the key in the lovely Tussock Cottage transformed our expectations. The cottage is modern, tastefully furnished and extremely well appointed. The views and tranquillity have to be experienced to be described and it is the perfect spot to read, write or paint with constantly changing light. Our hosts were a delight leaving provisions and a welcoming note. We made friends with the resident sheep and alpacas but otherwise felt that we had this magical spot to ourselves. We were just sad that we had so few days to spend at Hurunui but I am sure we will be back. Ursula and David Starkie

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hurunui River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurunui River Retreat

Property: Hurunui River Retreat
Address: 560 Hurunui Bluff Road, Hurunui 7385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hurunui
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hurunui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hurunui River Retreat is the perfect place for a relaxing break.Situated in a peaceful rural valley alongside the Hurunui River, the Hurunui River Retreat is just a one hour drive from Christchurch and a little over thirty minutes south of Hanmer Springs.With two stunning architecturally designed apartments – aptly named ‘Tussock’ and ‘Flax’ – situated a stone’s throw from the Hurunui River, your accommodation offers relaxation, tranquillity and stunning views from every room. Once there, enjoy a glass of wine on the deck or a soak under the stars in our heated outdoor bath, which boasts uninterrupted views of the Southern Alps.In summer, take a short stroll through the paddock to swim in the river; in winter, make the most of the nearby ski fields; enjoy a leisurely ride on the mountain bikes provided; or duck out for some fishing at the renowned Hurunui and Waiau rivers. There’s plenty to do, with the Hurunui River Retreat handy to many popular destinations and local activities.Each apartment has a stunning fully appointed kitchen and barbeque for self-catering, with a continental breakfast provided each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing