We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total gem - wonderful and the best hotel (and food) in the Cotswolds”
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner and I have just returned from three nights in this beautiful hotel and we will definitely be back. Everything about the Amberley Inn is value for money and simply excellent...from the spectacular and classy rooms, to the very friendly local people, to the exquisite food which was top notch. We ate in the restaurant every night for the three nights we were in the Cotswolds and were not disappointed...the food really is fabulous and worthy of five stars as opposed to four. The location of the hotel is spectacular and very peaceful which makes it an ideal retreat for young couples, families or older people alike and it really is a home away from home. We stayed in a garden suite, which has evidently been very recently renovated to a very high standard...it was perfect for us and gave us the space we wanted in a private area of the hotel. The breakfast was just as good as the dinners and the landlord/landlady went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and more besides. The restaurant was full on two of the nights which made for a very pleasant experience with the local people. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay and the location made it very easy to explore the surrounding areas. Even the local cows, which wander freely around the common, are very friendly and extremely funny to watch. Overall a definite ten out of ten and we will undoubtedly be back very soon. Thank you for a wonderful experience and a lovely, much-needed, relaxing break in stunning surroundings. EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: If you want tranquility without the view, I would definitely choose one of the garden suites. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel offers some of the best sunsets you will see in the UK. Located on the edge of the beautiful Minchinhampton common it is ideally located for those wishing to visit Cheltenham or play a round of golf on the common itself taking care not to disturb the cows and horses that wander freely through the village.
Newly refurbished rooms are extremely comfortable and the restaurant offers a menu with something for everyone at reasonable hotel prices. The oak paneled lounge bar and open fire is an atmospheric room to relax in and have a bar snack and a few beers supplied from local breweries. Whitebait starter was good followed by an excellent lamb dish. All in all a good hotel in a great location. A proper English country hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front face west and get the benefit of the sunset (weather permitting)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robtoon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Rooms had just got new on suites, evening meal was very good, roaring open fire, spectacular views, and a great breakfast. I would definitely go again as I thought it was great value for money.
The Amberley was full on the Saturday evening so word is getting around that they are trying very hard to produce a lovely family hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

£115 for an attic room three floors up a steep narrow staircase, no shower, cold tap running all night - could not turn it off, bathroom door handle faulty, clothes hanging space - a few hooks on the wall in the bathroom.
Cost of breakfast had clearly been worked to the last penny - one small rasher of bacon, one small sausage. the thinnest fried bread and already opened and used marmalade and jam pots.
It is this sort of pretentious place that gives the hospitality business a bad name.
Had to park car in several very fresh cow pats on grass
Never never go near it again

Room Tip: Do not bother with this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 64KAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed the atmosphere here. Real fire, wooden panelled walls, smart dining room. We met the owners and the chef also asked if we enjoyed the food. The dining room walls have paintings/prints for sale. It would have been nice to see local paintings on display-such is the beauty of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Moc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

On the 6th August we enjoyed a lovely couple of days stay at The Amberley Inn near Stroud in Gloucestershire.

This traditional Cotswold inn, built in 1855 serves good, wholesome food and is positioned on the crossroads of the village, overlooking the spectacular countryside.

You feel like you have stepped back into history, especially when you hear how the infamous highwayman, Tom Long finally met his death after fraternising with the landlord's daughter and causing her disgrace. Tom Long's post, marking his death can be found on the common.
The inn has original oak-panelled rooms, parquet flooring and stone mullioned windows, thus giving it charm and atmosphere.

There are 12, light, airy rooms, each with its individual style and comfy beds with soft, Egyptian cotton bed linen. Television and tea provisions are available and the bathrooms are spacious with good facilities. From our room you looked out onto the crossroads with views across the Woodchester valley. We had the added delight of seeing the local cattle grazing on the nearby bank in the early morning. They are free to wander around in the summer months, hence the need for cottages to have cattle grids outside their entrances! Being on a crossroads, there is of course some traffic, but it really didn't bother us.

It is a dog friendly hotel and has a golf course on the 'door step' for those keen on this recreational sport. Accommodation is also available in the adjacent Garden House reached through the hotel garden.

Staff very obliging and ready to 'chat'.

We had the two night mid-week break including dinner on one night, which was an extremely good deal. There is a wide breakfast choice ranging from continental to full English. The only disappointment was the 'mushroom omelette' where the mushrooms were mixed together with the eggs and turned out rather burnt looking! Fortunately, I chose the haddock and poached eggs which was delicious. The evening meal was very good, with a wide choice (and a bottle of very nice red wine was included as part of the deal). Local suppliers are used to purchase the fresh quality food including that from nearby Gatcombe Park Estate which supplies beef and lamb to the local butcher, Taylors of Minchinhampton.

Another bonus is the location providing easy access to National Trust properties, Highgrove House, Cheltenham races Slimbridge Wetlands Centre, Berkeley Castle, Gloucester Cathedral (used in the Harry Potter filming), Cirencester as well as many other places of interest.

A great couple of days, and we definitely hope to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grannysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay in their garden suite. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a delicious 3 course dinner and a wonderful filling english breakfast - definitely value for money. We would go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traceyt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
693 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#5 of 34 in Stroud
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range: £80 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley
The Amberley Inn Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing