We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay at The Amberley Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at The Amberley Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Amberley Inn last weekend. Our room was very comfortable with amazing views. Fabulous dinner and cooked breakfast. Cosy bar with open fire and a very warm welcome by Trevor & Jane made our stay very enjoyable. We will certainly return with the children next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    79
    26
    12
    6
See reviews for
48
147
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Despite the somewhat drab exterior(like all cotswold stone buildings) The Amberley Inn comes highly recommended from us...and we're hard to please. Room was very comfortable with a view over the distant hills. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and all freshly cooked. Staff friendly and helpful...we will go back and we don't say that about many places.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a 4 poster bed and wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Sunday lunch is best and was highly rated by both of us. two evening meals were somewhat disappointing, although the desserts are rather good. Presentation is good, but the food quality was a bit variable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 147DCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Idyllic location with pretty cows roaming around but thankfully free of tourist groups.
Lovely old building renovated with care.
Friendly and helpful Landlord and Landlady.

I stayed only for one night but I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAC265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A delightful old Inn, beautifully restored to provide very comfortable accommodation. The bar was warm and welcoming and the open log fire helps create a homely atmosphere. Helpful, friendly staff added to the overall experience and the food at lunch and dinner was well worth experiencing. To cap it all we had a great view from our room. We've been before and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

......a lovely stay. The owners and staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. Wonderful food, drink, glorious setting and so comfortable. You contributed hugely to a memorable weekend, thank you. Nottingham couple.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yesiforgotagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner and I have just returned from three nights in this beautiful hotel and we will definitely be back. Everything about the Amberley Inn is value for money and simply excellent...from the spectacular and classy rooms, to the very friendly local people, to the exquisite food which was top notch. We ate in the restaurant every night for the three nights we were in the Cotswolds and were not disappointed...the food really is fabulous and worthy of five stars as opposed to four. The location of the hotel is spectacular and very peaceful which makes it an ideal retreat for young couples, families or older people alike and it really is a home away from home. We stayed in a garden suite, which has evidently been very recently renovated to a very high standard...it was perfect for us and gave us the space we wanted in a private area of the hotel. The breakfast was just as good as the dinners and the landlord/landlady went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and more besides. The restaurant was full on two of the nights which made for a very pleasant experience with the local people. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay and the location made it very easy to explore the surrounding areas. Even the local cows, which wander freely around the common, are very friendly and extremely funny to watch. Overall a definite ten out of ten and we will undoubtedly be back very soon. Thank you for a wonderful experience and a lovely, much-needed, relaxing break in stunning surroundings. EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: If you want tranquility without the view, I would definitely choose one of the garden suites. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
23.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Property: The Amberley Inn
Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley
The Amberley Inn Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing