We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner”
Review of The Amberley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Amberley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Amberley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Went to the Amberley Inn for dinner with a friend. My lamb & her Venison was superb. We ate in the Public bar beside a crackling fire, the atmosphere was so very friendly. Trevor & Jane, the owners, greet guests with the most warm welcome & there wasn't a spare table to be had. Best dinner out in ages

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for The Amberley Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

We has a great four-day break at the Amberley Inn, this week. The owners and all of the staff have really got hospitality nailed. The food is excellent, the place is spotless and there's a well-stocked bar with a log fire. Combine this with the fact that The Amberley is (very) dog-friendly and in a beautiful scenic location and we've found our little bit of Cotswolds heaven. We'll certainly be back. Greg and Lyn Cook.

Room Tip: We had the Garden Suite, which is separate from the main hotel. Lovely and quiet, spacious and warm...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Amberley Inn last weekend. Our room was very comfortable with amazing views. Fabulous dinner and cooked breakfast. Cosy bar with open fire and a very warm welcome by Trevor & Jane made our stay very enjoyable. We will certainly return with the children next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Despite the somewhat drab exterior(like all cotswold stone buildings) The Amberley Inn comes highly recommended from us...and we're hard to please. Room was very comfortable with a view over the distant hills. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and all freshly cooked. Staff friendly and helpful...we will go back and we don't say that about many places.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a 4 poster bed and wonderful views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Sunday lunch is best and was highly rated by both of us. two evening meals were somewhat disappointing, although the desserts are rather good. Presentation is good, but the food quality was a bit variable.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank 147DCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Idyllic location with pretty cows roaming around but thankfully free of tourist groups.
Lovely old building renovated with care.
Friendly and helpful Landlord and Landlady.

I stayed only for one night but I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAC265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A delightful old Inn, beautifully restored to provide very comfortable accommodation. The bar was warm and welcoming and the open log fire helps create a homely atmosphere. Helpful, friendly staff added to the overall experience and the food at lunch and dinner was well worth experiencing. To cap it all we had a great view from our room. We've been before and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
1.1 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#5 of 34 in Stroud
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amberley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amberley Inn

Address: Culver Hill, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Amberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range: £79 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amberley Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine example of a traditional Country Inn situated in the heart of the Cotswolds. Only ten minutes' drive from J13 of M5, The Amberley Inn sits proudly overlooking the famous Woodchester Valley in an area of outstanding natural beauty.Recently refurbished and under new management, this Cotswolds hotel makes the ideal location for Gatcombe Park, Badminton, Cheltenham, Tetbury, Nailsworth, Cirencester, Stroud and for those who wish to explore the Cotswolds. Located a just a seven iron from Minchinhampton Old Course, the Inn offers Golfers complimentary rates at all three Minchinhampton courses. Our restaurant serves local seasonal food to an excellent standard, with an extensive wine list to compliment the dining experience. Wireless broadband available in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Amberley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amberley Hotel Amberley
The Amberley Inn Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing