We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I have to admit the place is old, they doing renovations and you can see that they trying to improve the look, (working progress) the restaurant is wonderful, I loved the food. But most of all the service I received from the staff was brilliant it's really rare to get good service these days. And will definitely go back to the Tradewinds.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jenna2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    75
    82
    42
    29
See reviews for
52
86
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Friendly staff, poor breakfast - lack of choice and badly cooked.comfortable beds, room furniture could be replaced. Good location.Would try again once it's been refurbished.No free Wi Fi and very expensive

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebby2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, they certainly work hard so it is nice to be able to pass along positive comments to them. I have forwarded your comments onto the Chef regarding the breakfast. Although we are currently undergoing kitchen and restaurant renovations which has affected our set-up and service area, there is no excuse for the product being poorly cooked as you mentioned. I apologise for that and this will be followed-up by the Executive Chef personally. Again, thank you for taking the time to share these comments.
Kind regards,

Daniel Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Renovations currently going on, however no inconvenience experienced. Rooms are very large but average lay out and not very inviting. I was surprised at the price, quite expensive for the product, not great value for money. A little disappointed and I think overrated. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrySacilotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leinster
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

stayed 19th & 20th Feb. renovations where still underway. 6:50am the noise started which was a disturbance to our sleep. I would think that with all the noise & construction a lower rate would be in place, or at least breakfast included. Overall i wouldnt reccomend this hotel at all. Restuarant was over priced and only 5 or 6 mains to choose from. staff where very nice & helpful.
Room wasnt that bad, comfy bed. Aged bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for just under two weeks in February 2014. There were a lot of renovations going on during our stay, so we obviously didn't see it at its best. I don't know how far their refurbishment is going, but it could do with a lick of paint at least in some areas around the entrance and lobby.

We were put in a room right next to the laundry, which would kick in around 8am every morning. This was very loud and made our room shake. We asked to be move and this was completed without hassle. The rooms themselves are of good quality, clean and spacious.

The pub overlooks the Swan River and there are bus stops right outside the hotel which makes transport very easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Its not an awful place to stay, but there are certainly much better. In all honestly it is extremely overpriced, the rooms aren't too bad, moderately self contained, definitely dated but large enough with a comfortable bed. I stayed here for 5 nights, the breakfast was clearly served up by a very tired and unloved brekky chef, with the only variation for 5 days was the lack of bircher muesli on one of those days…however the bar/resto menu was good, large portions, cooked well and quite tasty. The shining lights being an ok pool and a nice place to have an afternoon beverage overlooking the main road overlooking the Swan River. The staff however were always friendly and helpful and there is a conveniently located bus stop right out the front, and a bottle shop around the corner if the inflated Perth prices scare you away from the bar!

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor with the pool at my door, not too bad at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariwahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I have forwarded your comments regarding the lack of variety on the breakfast buffet to the Executive Chef. These comments are appreciated as they help us in identifying areas where we can improve. I'm glad to hear that the service you received was satisfactory and the other meals were of good quality. Thank you again for your honest evaluation and we hope to see you again next time you visit Fremantle.

Kind regards,
Daniel Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Not sure what to say that other recent reviews don't already repeat. Nice enough building but nothing like you would expect for the price. Shabby bathroom and facilities $6 for a coke from the fridge, mouldy shower, poorly designed access for staircase when carting suitcases due to an out of service elevator! Poor service in the bar expensive too for a beer. They are the cons the pros being the location on the left bank, the room was spacious the bed clean big and comfy, in the main the staff seemed nice enough just wouldn't go back! Thats all you can really do vote with your feet and give an honest appraisal. With investment it could be superb!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory.

With reference to the Hotel needing a refurb, we are currently in the planning process of improving all Hotel facilities, as you know we have already commenced by replacing the elevator. As with all projects there is bound to be some inconvenience to our guests, however we do attempt to update all guests of this through various medium.
I would like the opportunity to discuss the other issues you have raised with you, I would appreciate it if you can contact me at the Hotel or via email at peow.lim@tradewindshotel.com.au

Regards
Yew-PEOW Lim
General Manager
Tradewinds Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Fremantle hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Property: Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Address: 59 Canning Hwy | East Fremantle, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle > East Fremantle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds Hotel offers 83 fully self contained apartments, alfresco and indoor bars, a delicious seasonal menu created by Executive Chef Gary Martin in our Restaurant and is conveniently located on the beautiful Swan River in East Fremantle. The hotel offers amazing river views and is only 5 minutes to the heart of Fremantle and 20 minutes by car to Perth's CBD. All apartments are spacious and equipped with a kitchenette and private bathroom, 24 hour reception, room service, outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, new state of the art gym and complimentary undercover security parking. Located within easy 5 minute walk of an extensive range of cafes and dining options along the river, and on George Street, East Fremantle. We offer in-house buffet breakfast for hotel guests including children and have highchairs available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing