We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average with reasonable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average with reasonable service”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed for business, room a good size but a little dated. As another review has said, a bit of a confusing rabbit warren to get around. Desk staff, with the exception of I think a gentleman called Raj, were not very helpful and gave the impression that they had better things to do. Raj on the other hand was very helpful. The restaurant overlooking the river was a lovely location and the service was quite good. I do think the Hotel is overpriced and apart from the lady in the breakfast area in the morning and Raj on the desk I was disappointed with the overall experience. I will not be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    78
    82
    43
    29
See reviews for
54
88
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Tradewinds - ok. The rooms/furniture is dated and it is a little too far from the action of Fremantle (if that's where you want to be spending your time). The rooms are overpriced in comparison to the rest of Australia but that is just how it is in Western Australia. Service left a little to be desired - I felt that I was inconveniencing the staff member on duty when checking in late at night. There are some nice places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We booked in at the Tradewinds to be close to friends we were visiting. What a terrible place!! Over priced, in desperate need of an overhaul. A rabbits warren that is dificult to get around in. The only positive is the restaurant that over looks the Swan River. The food is so so and service lacking. We stayed for 4 nights and it was 3 too many. This is a motel for tradesmen who can afford to pay too much and not expect too much. Not recommending nor returning.

Room Tip: all rooms are similar and have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Fremantle hotels

Watermans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff at the Tradewinds are friendly and helpful, the rooms are average but clean, the breakfast was excellent great Hot Chocolate! There are not many spaces for under cover parking, their phones were not working when we tried to call to see if we could get an early check in and the lift was under repair, so we got lots of exercise as well. The Tradewinds is located close enough for a 15 to 20 minute walk into Fremantle.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel has so much potential, but lacks so much. For the price it is overpriced, everything is so basic. The sliding door locking system, loud and passed the use by date, we could hear our neighbours come and go, the car park gate system, not enough key tags to go around, had to wait for people to check out, before we could park in the car park. The breakfast so very basic, ate there only once, and went elsewhere from then onwards. Lift being refurbished, okay, no staff around to help with suitcases UP and from third floor. Rooms extremely basic, but meeting the basic needs, and credit to the cleaning staff, very clean on a daily basis. For the price renovations are very overdue, for the location so much could be done. The staff give it their all, management needs to concentrate on the rooms and their surroundings, it really is very average.

Room Tip: Ask for river views, at least you get a bit more than the rest of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelies F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. Your comments are appreciated and helpful in our goal of improving our product and services. The replacement of the hotel's lift as well as the current kitchen renovations underway are just the first steps of an ongoing plan for refurbishment of the hotel facilities. Future improvements are planned for the rooms which will include a complete redesign of the sliding door entry and updates to other features throughout the hotel. With regards to the breakfast, I have forwarded your comments onto the Chef to follow-up. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback.
Kind regards,

Daniel Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with verandah overlooking the river and the view was very nice but the furniture in the rooms is a bit dated and ordinary. One of the bedrooms had no windows and was quite claustrophobic. Overall the rooms are comfortable if not basic, but over priced really.
There are no tables and chairs on the verandah which is a shame as it would be quite nice to wake up in the morning and have your coffee on the verandah outside your room. The whole hotel is looking tired, it just needs some new furniture, paint and plants. I don't understand why they have that huge outside area on the roof which is completely empty, basically just a large area of concrete which could be really nice if they did something with it.
The only breakfast on offer was a buffet style for a very limited time. I thought that considering they have quite a nice menu for lunch and dinner it is strange that they don't offer a breakfast menu, given the area I imagine would be quite popular if they did.
The pool area is quite nice and a welcome oasis in the middle of rather a bare hotel.
The hotel has loads of potential I just think they need to realise that and offer a higher standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieH6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. You have raised some very valid points, a few of which the hotel is already working on like how to better utilise the large area on the 2nd floor which is a portion of the roof and the breakfast offerings. Licensing and permitting restrictions have limited our ability to do more with that space. We will also look into perhaps adding seating around the veranda on the two 2 Bedroom Apartments that overlook the river. These are the only two rooms in the hotel that have that isolated balcony space, and I agree, it would be a nice place to have your morning coffee. You may have noticed the renovations currently taking place in the kitchen, which will be followed by further work including the addition of a new breakfast buffet area. This will allow us to improve upon the overall presentation and quality of the breakfast we can offer. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Kind regards,

Daniel Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I have to admit the place is old, they doing renovations and you can see that they trying to improve the look, (working progress) the restaurant is wonderful, I loved the food. But most of all the service I received from the staff was brilliant it's really rare to get good service these days. And will definitely go back to the Tradewinds.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jenna2888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Property: Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Address: 59 Canning Hwy | East Fremantle, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle > East Fremantle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradewinds Hotel The iconic Tradewinds Hotel is a riverside retreat of unparalleled style and service. Enjoy the tranquil calmness of your home away from home. Lounge around the garden pool or breathe in the view at the alluring rooftop terrace. The hotel is located on the doorstep of Fremantle’s vibrant cultural hub. Feast your way through the Fremantle Markets, cruise the Cappuccino Strip and explore the history of the Fishing Boat Harbour. Escape. Play. Explore. Meet. Train. Create. Restaurant and Bar Unwind, connect and soak up the atmosphere in the leafy courtyard. The soothing Swan River views, relaxed ambience and alfresco dining make it the place to mix and mingle. Hotel Facilities 83 beautifully refurbished large rooms, one and two bedroom apartments and suites.. Swimming pool. Cabanas, sun loungers and day beds. Expansive river view rooftop terrace. Indoor / outdoor restaurant and bar with beautiful river views. Open breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service. Seven event venues and meeting rooms. In-house gym. Complimentary tour bookings. Bus stop located directly in front of hotel. Complimentary secure car parking. Airport transfers and shuttle service – additional cost. 24-hour reception desk. Luggage storage. Fox Sports. Dry cleaning and onsite laundry service. Accessible rooms and services. Guest lounge. Complimentary Wifi. Business Centre. Accommodation Style meets luxury in the new sophisticated, spacious rooms, apartments, suites and penthouses. Each room includes High speed complimentary WiFi. Bluetooth® music sound system. Entertainment system with complimentary movies. Air-conditioning. Tea and coffee making facilities. Mini bar. Desk area and luggage compartment. In-room safe. Bathroom scales. Stylish bathroom amenities. Iron and ironing board. Hair dryer. Telephone. Complimentary bottled water. Rollaway bed - additional cost. Complimentary infant cot. Oversize chaise lounge. Rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing