We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be nice if they're moved some of the extra tables they've squashed in”
Review of Hikers Rest

Hikers Rest
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in East Dean
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would be nice if they're moved some of the extra tables they've squashed in”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have been here a lot as it was a good combination of cafe and gift shop and especially enjoyed by less mobile friends. However on the last two visits we have been very disappointed. Half of the gifts shop items have gone to make way for four more tables, so close together that I could barely sit down because there was someone sitting behind me at the next table. I had to ask her to move so I could get seated. And when a less mobile member of our party tried to get up to go to the toilet, two other people had to get up for him to be able to extricate himself.

Not only uncomfortable but noisy, we could clearly hear the conversations at adjoining tables.

This seems a clear case of profit before patron comfort and we will not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    10
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great location, but café doesn't achieve its full potential.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

East Dean is a beautiful spot, but this café is quite a functional sort of place - a modern L-shaped room where they serve a range of hot and cold drinks alongside a pretty basic snack menu - the sort of things you could get anywhere. Don't expect a changing list of daily specials or any reference to local produce. The welcome can seem a bit flat, with smiles in short supply, but the place is certainly spotlessly clean and does what it does quite well. In addition to the food, they have a range of gifts on offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Lovely”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have been going to the Hikers since it first opened and love it...we take all our friends and family when they visit its always a hit, staff are friendly and the food is always freshly made.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real find!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Hikers Rest is a real find! Excellent coffee always served hot, a good range of light meals and their home made scones are some of the best I've tasted. You can sit either inside or outside next to the Village Green.The staff are very helpful and keep the restaurant beautifully clean. Plenty of parking,an added bonus.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 601John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue poor service”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have been going to this place for a number of years taking some elderly friends who love the area and a drive out across the downs. The Hikers Rest is the ideal pace to rest; it has been really nice having a open area for tea etc and a really nice gift shop area. But the service is not so good now, never a welcome to you even having been there so many times! Just a sullen expression from the staff who don't seem to want to work there. Also they have reduced the gift area and crammed more tables and chairs in making it not so nice and noisier. I and my friends will not go there anymore and will choose the local Hostelry instead. It's a shame that its the only tea shop on the green and they seem to be taking advantage of that and not trying hard enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hikers Rest also viewed

East Dean, East Sussex
 
East Dean, West Sussex
 

Been to Hikers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing