We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly interesting”

Seven Sisters Sheep Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in East Dean
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were expecting a few dismal sheep allowing themselves to be touched. Good fun! Not a cheap place to go, but I was sorry we had no children with us because the children there obviously loved it. There was a party of French schoolchildren being lectured about the great variety of breeds at the centre by a teacher with a Welsh accent - very appropriate! Good cake in the little cafe, but sadly no cheese made on the premises in the shop. Ample parking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanettaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    8
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Night time Lambing”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was lucky enough to visit the farm for a night lambing experience. Although no lambs were born we got to feed the orphan lambs and help out with the other farm activities. The barn is absolutely beautiful and had a special feeling of peace about it. Lovely Beck, the Shepherdess, was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their flock. It was an amazing experience I'd happily recommend to anyone.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_J4ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We visited the Seven Sisters Sheep Centre this week, what a fantastic time. Delicious homemade food in the cafe, served by a lovely polite lady. Lambs everywhere plus one litter of piglets. We all got to bottle feed the lambs and just before we left a sheep gave birth. The farmer was very informative and good fun.
Thoroughly recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“GGOD FUN FOR LITTLE ONES -BUT PRICEY”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Took our 30 month old grandson and his mum to the lambing season visit including being able to quickly hold a bottle and feed a hungry lamb. Three adults and child £23. Free parking in field opposite.
Site consists of barn areas housing pens with sheep and lambs, handful of pet rabbits, guinea pigs and chicks. There is a play area with basic climb on wooden style toys (train / tractor.rocking horse and rocking sheep, tyre on a rope. Free range sprinting chickens as chased by kids.
There is an onsite café which we didn't visit. In lambing season you can queue up and go up on a small stage where a farmer holds a lamb and you can hold a bottle and feed it whilst parents etc can take a photo. Obviously all very cute, can hand feed sheep with shop bought feed and they are real characters. You are able to get right next to the sheep and lambs in their pens and stroke etc. Little ones will love it.
There is some basic education stuff about wool etc small room showing shearing tools over the ages and a lady spinning yarn on a tradition wheel.
Tractor rides lasting about 2-3 minutes round the perimeter of a field are £1 per person.
All in all a bit of fun and maybe 2 hours stay without a picnic, seems a little pricey for what it is.
Family ticket 2+2 is £21
Lots of handwashing facilities around with anti bac gell.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank grantlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I was here yesterday afternoon with my mother who lives in Eastbourne and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We started the day with a lovely cream tea, not too heavy but very tasty, and then watched the lambs being born and the older ones being fed by the children. You don't have to be young to enjoy the visit as our ages - 86 and 62 will show - but it was a very gentle way to enjoy learning about farming past and present and mixing with all ages. It was a much bigger farm than you would imagine from the road and the man who sold us our tickets in the shop was very helpful although it should be noted they don't take credit or debit cards, only cash and cheques as apparently the internet doesn't work in the wilds of East Dean! I look forward to a return trip later in the year.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly56_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Sisters Sheep Centre also viewed

 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Seven Sisters Sheep Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing