We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel, Naypyidaw-bizarre style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mingalar Thiri Hotel
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Naypyidaw
United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, Naypyidaw-bizarre style”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Previous two reviews are pretty spot-on, so I will just add my two cents:

- Rooms and the the high-rise building is spacious, Chinese bigbox style bizarre, modern-ish, but perhaps not wearing very well: carpets are already stained, scuffed and need maintenance/touch-up
- As of late February 2014 there's construction going on that I would expect to last at least a few months. Any room facing the back of the hotel is going to be NOISY during the day
- Aircon units seem to work inconsistently (my traveling companions reported this, too)
- Wifi connection was great
- Bathrooms share ventilation, so that smoker next door or even a couple doors down will be polluting your lungs
- TV offerings are sparse for the foreign visitor
- Lifts were not functioning
- Food: breakfast was pretty basic and pretty bad, lunch and dinner is OK, One night I ordered room service. I was intrigued by the "fast food" room service menu that offered "pussy food". Despite a seemingly hopeless conversation with someone who spoke no English I got a very nice chicken/rice/egg dish within 10 minutes.
- Apparently a fitness centre will be part of the new construction in back. I would not expect it for another year. No matter, the almost empty Naypyitaw roads are great and safe for running and walking.
- Staff are friendly, ubiquitous and helpful

Room Tip: In the high-rise, get a room facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalHealthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

What I liked:
-I arrived here with local colleagues late one night and they were able to accommodate us
-Staff, like all in Myanmar, are smiley and helpful; but don't expect a lot of English
-Location close to Junction mall
-The room is new and very large, modern, clean (carpet could be cleaner), stylish, and has GREAT lighting.
-Great bed linens, slippers and robe
-Internet was great!
-Standard restaurant although a small menu compared to many places in country- I am eating pork, water cress and rice for $4

What I didn't like:
-The A/C says 16 but it blows out warm air. I asked one morning to look at it, when I got back 12 hours later they hadn't looked. They said there was nothing they could do because it was working OK and all other rooms are the same (they did show me another room but no change)
-Lots of construction going on so it's loud- not good for business guests. I stayed on the first floor in room 1003 and I would hear workers at night in halls, outside, and above me seemingly moving furniture. My colleague said she heard a "party" at about 3am
-Breakfast wasn't great- there was an egg station which is good, but only white toast, one type of fruit, cereal, and some Asian breakfast items. They had instant coffee sitting out (blech) but would make you espresso if you ask
-I felt like I was watching scrambled analog channels in 1987 on their TV
-The shower, like many in country, is a pain. HOT water worked great but the shower head was unadjustable and so I always flooded tub and bathroom, and there is only a half shower curtain. But at least there was one.....

Room Tip: AC in 1003 didn't work great and it was overlooking back of hotel with construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megmcnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

First impression is of a top of the line place, masses of friendly staff holding doors, welcoming, carrying luggage. Large rooms and very modern bathrooms, good wifi etc. The rooms are a bit tatty, need some renovating, I killed a few cockroaches and politely escorted several crickets to the garden. Breakfast is simple but ok,and the wonderful friendliness and courtesy of pretty much everyone in Myanmar makes up for any small gaps in standards

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed for one night for a business trip. The staff were excellent - welcoming, eager to help, and even forwarded phone calls through to the dining room for me. Food was excellent. Room was fine - good wifi connection and, although perhaps not really luxury based on Western expectations, it was clean and peaceful and aircon was working OK!

I would stay here again. Note that the hotels in Naypyidaw are all based in a 'hotel zone' and you will need a car or taxi if you want to get anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naypyidaw hotels
0.0 mi away
Excel Capital Hotel
Excel Capital Hotel
#17 of 34 in Naypyidaw
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lake Garden Nay Pyi Taw - MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Great Wall Hotel
Great Wall Hotel
#12 of 34 in Naypyidaw
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Myat Nan Yone Hotel
Myat Nan Yone Hotel
#23 of 34 in Naypyidaw
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tungapuri Hotel
Tungapuri Hotel
#20 of 34 in Naypyidaw
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apex Hotel
Apex Hotel
#16 of 34 in Naypyidaw
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Thiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Thiri Hotel

Property: Mingalar Thiri Hotel
Address: Yaza Thingaha Road, Dathkhina Thiri City, Hotel Zone 1, Naypyidaw, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Naypyidaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Naypyidaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mingalar Thiri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, Mingalar Thiri Hotel is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Nay Pyi Taw. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mingalar Thiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing