We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome and 5* accommodation”
Review of La Coulonniere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Coulonniere
Ranked #1 of 1 Wismes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed here en route from Calais, arriving about 6.30pm on a cold, dark December evening and couldn't have had a warmer welcome. We were offered a complimentary aperitif with our charming and very friendly hosts and then shown our fantastic bedroom where a complimentary half bottle of champagne and a plate of canapés were brought for us to enjoy in front of lovely wood burning stove. The room was a great size and wonderfully equipped - it even had a nespresso machine and a full section of coffee pods!

Next morning we had a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh juice, yoghurt and croissants and bread - we were offered eggs but declined.

We regularly stay in B&B's across France but this is by far the best one we've ever stayed in. We couldn't fault the accommodation or the welcome and friendliness of Monsieur and Madame Ottevaere and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WestSussexEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I cannot rate this place highly enough...we chanced upon it via the Web and it looked an interesting change to the usual B&B. The bedroom suite was exceptionally appointed, real quality fittings and furnishings, and a wonderful place for a romantic break.
We arrived at 6pm, and were welcomed warmly by the hosts. A bottle of wine was quickly brought out along with nibbles, and we sat in the garden chatting and laughing. They were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed.
In the morning we had breakfast outside, all local produce too.
When we return to the region again next year we will definiely make a point of returning for more than one night. Truly memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N3LLY333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it has been an unforgettable experience. The warm welcome we received from the owners (even though our French stinks!!) was incredible. Suggestions for the places to eat where very useful. As for the place itself it is so lovely!! We had own entrance, a very nicely deocorated room which gives the feeler of a boutique upmarket place. The place is very clean and the breakfast very delicous. But above all the charm of the owners makes this place even more special. They take very good care of their guests without being intrusive.

Wish we had stayed longer - it was so peaceful and perfect. We hope to be back in future. Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adventurer039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband arrived at La Coulonniere after a long drive from Cherbourg. We were given the warmest of welcomes by M et Mme Ottevaere with a cool a glass of beer in the garden! The room is lovely and unusual - a tall conical wooden ceiling (see the photos on the website) gives it a very spacious feel. It has its own private entrance and a small private patio with table and chairs. Huge windows overlook the garden. The room and all the fittings are spanking new and of the highest quality throughout. Obviously great care has been taken to provide everything a guest could want or need. It is furnished with a large and very comfortable bed, a table and chairs as well as two leather armchairs. There's a very swish woodburning stove (not that we needed it in August, but perfect for an autumn or winter stay), plenty of built-in wardrobe space, a small fridge/mini-bar and (my favourite) a Nespresso machine with all the coffees provided. Everything was spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. Breakfast was delicious. M and Mme Ottenaere are in the process of fitting out another guest room which will cater for families. The present room is perfect for a couple who like a peaceful, very comfortable rural setting. St Omer is within easy driving distance as is Calais. We stayed only for one night as we were on our way home from a holiday in Normandy. We'll definitely be back for a longer stay so that we can explore St Omer and the surrounding region. HIghly recommended.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vantassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We used this b&b as an overnight stop to Calais which is roughly 40 mins away. The welcome we received was fantastic and by the end of the stay we felt thoroughly spoilt. Nothing was too much trouble right down to booking a table for us at the nearby Auberge for an evening meal.
The accomodation was top quality in its own self contained suite comprising of separate toilet and shower bathroom. The bed room is in its own tower with high cedar ceilings. Full specialist coffee and tea making facilities, wide screen tv, wi~fi, electric shutters to all windows and electric double bed. A private front door and patio doors that lead onto the beautiful secluded gardens.
The continental breakfast was excellent and due to the lovely weather was served to us on the patio.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We have just returned from a lovely romantic break at La Coulonniere. Only 30 minutes from Boulogne and 45 minutes from the Tunnel in the heart of the countryside. The accommodation was lovely and clean and decorated to a very high standard. Own entrance, coffee machine, flat screen television, mini bar, electric bed, good shower and separate toilet. More like a boutique hotel than a bed and breakfast. Close to St. Omer with its many restaurants and bars and only around 30 minutes from the costal resorts.

The welcome and hospitality we received from the owners was fantastic and they were very helpful with places to visit and eat.

The breakfast was plentiful with lots of local produce and eaggs from the owner's hens.

I would highly recommend La Coulonniere for anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful break without spending the weekend driving on the motorway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean9618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nousdu62219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wismes
3.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
321 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Moulin de Mombreux
Le Moulin de Mombreux
#2 of 2 in Lumbres
214 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
184 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
14.9 mi away
La Fermette du Lac
La Fermette du Lac
#1 of 6 in Ardres
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Coulonniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Coulonniere

Address: 26 La Place Hameau de Cantemerle, 62380 Wismes, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wismes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wismes
Price Range: £110 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Coulonniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing