We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and lovely people!”
Review of La Coulonniere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Coulonniere
Ranked #1 of 1 Wismes B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place and lovely people!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in September 2013 at the end of your honeymoon.
The couple who run this place are truly welcoming. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they were very keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

Breakfast was amazing, the best we had in France!

If we are ever in the area again I would definitely stay again. I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordshireL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Every review gives richly deserved praise to this tranquil retreat and ours is just as positive! There is a real sense of welcome from Dominique and Genevieve that instantly makes you feel both relaxed and glad to be there. This is more than a business for these two lovely people it is an opportunity to give guests a special sense of their home, their hospitality and their pride in what they do. Our only regret was that we weren't staying for longer than the one night we had planned as part of a journey back from Italy - we will definitely return and stay longer to explore this area of France and enjoy a longer stay. Every aspect of this apartment is well-considered and thoughtfully put together to ensure that guest are comfortable. The standard of furnishing, design and attention to detail is first class and we can only echo the praise of other reviewers who clearly think this too!
Thank you for a wonderful stay, some good memories of generous hospitality and we really hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Only one room - book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing two night stay in La Coulonniere recently. Dominique and his wife were perfect hosts. They made us feel very relaxed and welcome in no time at all. We would recommend this place for a luxurious romantic break, within easy reach of Calais, Boulogne, St.Omer and the amazing La Coupole. If we travel this way again we will definitely re-book. Dominique is a real gentleman and goes out of his way to make visitors feel at home. We were delighted on the final morning by his superb breakfast in the garden - perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thursford Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

There are not enough adjectives to describe this wonderful place!
Dominique and Genvieve are the perfect hosts, welcoming us as old friends and offering the kind of hospitality normally reserved for family.
The appartment is spotless, well equipped with everything one could want. Quiet and calm with an outlook into the garden.
Breakfast is carefully prepared using local produce and eggs from their own hens. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, warm pastries and ground coffe or tea. A feast!
On discovering it was our anniversary we were treated to champagne and canapes.
We had a wonderful time in this lovely village and will return very soon!
Thank you

Room Tip: Car essential Perfect for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonrepas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinver, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

It is rare to find a place with only excellent reviews. We stayed for 3 nights in late August; the welcome, accommodation, breakfast and grounds were superb. The facilities are considerably more than would be expected from a 5 star hotel room. There are so many extra nice touches that make this place an absolute gem. Dominique and Gennerviere deserve all the praise noted in other reviews. We have recommended La Coulonniere to our friends and fully intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Believe all the reviews. This B&B is an absolute gem. We arrived to a really warm welcome from Dominique and his wife. Out came the wine and beer and we had an excellent evening chatting. The garden room was superb, more like an individual apartment. We had a great night's restful sleep and then sat out on the terrace in the morning sunshine to enjoy the best breakfast we have ever eaten anywhere! Beautiful fruit,yogurt,croissants,eggs...the list goes on. All the produce was locally sourced and we were looked after like royalty. We will most definitely visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Surely this couldnt live up to the previous reviews - well it was even better than we expected. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and treated like long lost friends. The wine on the patio was a delightful touch as was the conversation we had with the friendly host and hostess, with our little French and their little English we muddled through. The room was obviously a labour of love and has been completed to an extremely high standard by the host himself who proudly showed us around. The amenities and the finish are what you would expect in a very high end hotel - it was an absolute joy to stay there. Breakfast was divine - cooked by our lovely host who makes sure to use local products whenever possible - the jams (again local) were amazing and so sophisticated. We enjoyed next door's eggs so much, we were given half a dozen to take home. Please please stay here, you'll be surrounded by luxury and welcomed like family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottevaere, Propriétaire at La Coulonniere, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Hello Elisabeth,

My wife & I are exceedingly grateful to you for your very pleasant message on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wismes
2.5 mi away
Le Moulin de Mombreux
Le Moulin de Mombreux
#2 of 2 in Lumbres
181 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
177 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
303 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
427 reviews
11.8 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Coulonniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Coulonniere

Property: La Coulonniere
Address: 26 La Place Hameau de Cantemerle, 62380 Wismes, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wismes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wismes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Coulonniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing