We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a Motel”
Review of A K WEST Motel

A K WEST Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A K WEST Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Henderson
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not a Motel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is not a motel and should not be called one. $125 for a Tuesday night is Expensive as you have to go and use a kitchen somewhere else in the building. Foreigner (Korean) at desk was rude and had no customer service skills at all. Because I didn't have a credit card he made me pay a bond (which was pointless because no check of the room was done at checkout). TV had sky but the picture quality was poor.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    8
    1
    9
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Ak West in Henderson looks100 times better in photos than in real life. Be very careful when you book, the staff don't understand english. The beds are all on wheels and move around with every movement, the curtains were all mouldy, The bath had a black ring around it, and had pubic hairs on the bottom of the bath. No privacy and you can hear full conversations from the rooms beside you. Worst motel i have ever stayed in! Wasn't cheap either!

Room Tip: All the rooms were the same, Tiny, came with a queen bed and single bed, tiny bathroom and a bench w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henderson hotels

Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently, for a wedding. Because of a flight delay we didn't arrive until 1am! They waited up for us so they could let us in! Were friendly when we asked directions or advice.
Clean and comfortable room.
Clean communal cooking and eating area.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms. We were on the road front and had no problem with noise. The rooms that open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madjik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Efficient, clean, basic, but little else to recommend. Not a resort accommodation but price reflects.
Suited as a short stopover travelling north or south. Charge for Wi-fi was an irritant. Would have liked more facilities in room rather than using a communal area for snacking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This motel has good location for those that plan to travel to Waitakere and the western cost, as there are almost now accommodation options there. The price for the rooms (we had two) was reasonable. They have dining room with cocking facilities which was helpful (since there are no coking facilities in the rooms). The rooms were generally clean, except the carpet which seem old with a lot of spots, we also found a cloth below our bad that was not belong to us..It seem that the hotel have great potential but somehow the owners have difficulties to manage it well; the garden is hardly managed; there was a big playing room (which was excellent option for us with small kids) but the person in the reception said it’s a conference room (tough trough the glass you can easily see that it is playing room...) pity , they could have made our stay much mote joyful

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

More like a hotel than a motel. Quiet, clean & comfortable. Courteous, helpful & friendly staff. Great location, opposite Stuges Road train station and within walking distance of Henderson shopping centre and downtown. Laundry facilities. Offered use of kitchen plates, cutlery, microwave and fridge. Felt secure leaving car in parking area. Excellent experience wouldn't hesitate to recommend. P.S. The fruit market next door has fresh fruit ice-cream to die for!
Thanks AK West - The Blairs from Canada

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the inner courtyard which gave us more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was the second time staying here during our trip to Auckland. The layout of the place is ok as we used the kitchen/lounge area both times to cook our meals. Would tell people about the place as it was very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
7.9 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#48 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.6 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A K WEST Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A K WEST Motel

Property: A K WEST Motel
Address: 65 Swanson Road, Henderson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Henderson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A K WEST Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like share your dreams of Love, Liberty, and the Good Life. A K WEST Motel delivers 'Heart to Heart' service to each and every guest. Our staff will provide the best service for your cosy and pleasant stay. Come alone or bring your family with you, stay here for a night or for weeks, stay here while on business trips or at some kind of conference - either way our motel is the best possible home. Spacious executive accommodation in the heart of Waitakere Vineyards. (20 vineyards within 15min/18.5km. )Quiet location surrounded by residential houses. 21 newly refurbished (2008) units with quality furnishings.Close to park and vege shop.Sturges Train Station (500m, route west)Wave Waitakere City Aquatic Centre (3min / 1.4km)Trust stadum (5 min / 2.6km)Waitakere Hospital (2 min / 1.3km)Cassels (10min/ 8.6km)Morrison Funeral (3min / 2.7km)Davis Funeral (4min / 3.7km)Unitec and Waitakere city council (3min / 1.4km)Auckland CBD (20min / 17km)Auckland Airport (30min / 31km) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your A K WEST Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A K WEST Motel Henderson, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing