We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible and Worst !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gold Coast Morib International Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Banting
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The worst hotel / resort I ever stayed so far. Even a budget hotel / inn is far better than this resort. The water park smells awful and dirty.

Phone was provided in the room, BUT there is no cable attached for us to call reception desk to fix the faulty safe box. Standing shower water tap was broken. I wonder how they can release this room for sell.

Approached the housekeeping maid to ask for assistance to contact maintenance to fix both water tap and safe box, but was being told to go to reception desk and they make don't know.

I even saw some of the maid sitting on the bed and watch tv while they are on duty.. No wonder the room is not ready on time ! Also, 2 persons sharing a room but we only given one key card access.. Ask for another card, and they said cannot duplicate another key card.....

Buffet dinner and breakfast was so so, but don't name your buffet dinner theme as SEAFOOD. I do not see any seafood, except flower crabs and perhaps, fish ball ???

This resort is completely TERRIBLE !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edlee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

The management team & front office could do with competency & skills upgrading in managing customers. For example by saying to guest "I am sorry to keep you waiting for an hour because there is some technical issue with the access card" (on hindsight the front office should have oversight of which of rooms have problem with access cards. This is a good practice in operational mgmt) front office staff even made a error with no of nights I've paid for. Poor hygiene, fridge was infested with ants... Can u imagine the state of cleanliness!!! The safe is not working as the battery is flat... Yes the battery needs to be replaced. Seaside bistro personnel says can order a-la-carte at 8pm while kopitiam rest mgr says ala carte from 11pm else it's buffet rm$40/pax for dinner. Seems like poor coordination to me. In the end we bought dinner for whole family at Pantai Morib, 10mins drive for about rm$20. And last but not least there's no phone in room, very limited wifi access only at lobby & unstable supply of hot water, sliding glass done that keeps sliding because it is tilted & thus the door is kept open while bathing... making the bath room floor wet. By the way, ironically they are upgrading & constructing new buildings and pride themselves to be the largest banquet in Malaysia. This is done while the quality, workmanship & upkeep go existing building is seriously in doubt.

Room Tip: The beach experience is great, very authentic & fun for all ages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yours_2ruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was the worst hotel or resort ive stayed. the smelly thme park, hostel like buffet, rude n unethical staff ( knocked our door twice and straight away opened the door when we were inside packing the bag) and the list goes on.

Do not stay here. Do not.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ribss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Lousy service during peak season. Unable to manage big crowds of tenants with only one counter opened for key collection! Faulty room keys for all rooms! Public toilet ultimately dirty with unpleasant smell even from faraway! Wifi is not connectable. This place is just bad!

Stayed: January 2014
5  Thank Waifun7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Never heard of this resort until I was invited to participate in an endurance race. From the website, it looks great. However, the reviews was not that great. My personal opinion it would be a great property if they have entirely separate the water theme park and the resort. I meant TOTALLY separated.

Upon arrival, the lobby was a pandemonium of wet and slippery floors, coupled with half naked guests in their swim trunks, ladies in their wet clothes (I assume they were swimming too), kids running around and reception staff have no idea on a smooth and quick check in process. No senior managers was around when you need one. I waited in the for almost an hour and was informed for all race participants check in was at another location. Oh well ....

Noise level was at the highest decibel when you come across the water theme park. I have never, never in my life see so many bodies in a pool or pools before. Think of a canned of sardines! I am surprised there were no accidents at the water theme park! The ratio of swimmers to lifeguards was non existence. I was informed the water theme park was open to the public. I did not utilized it as after closing for the day, the water in the pools were a wee bit cloudy with flotsams and sad to see, rubbish around the pool areas with food packages and plastics.

The resort rooms was generous in space and I had a room with a jacuzzi built into the bathroom. The bathroom was large. They could do with more furnitures as the room was large and with little furniture makes the place looks cheap. Overall, the room was adequate for my needs with everything in good working order. However, the entrance door is thin and anyone that walks or talk along the corridor, the sound travels.

I had breakfast, lunch and dinner there as there were no other outlets outside of the resort or it was too far. My take on the food served was a poor one star rating. I even tried their specialty Korean restaurant and it was terrible.

The beach was beautiful but don't expect white sand. It's soft brown sand and the tide seems to go very low. Great for reef walk. Sunset was great. Bar at the beach serves a live band and not worth the time. If you need too, order a beer and not any cocktails cos they do not know their mixes well. Drown your sorrows over the whining of the band.

Overall, I would not return unless for a race or they do something to separate the areas between the water theme park and resort. Oh, the spa - nice decor but give it a miss - it's really bad!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Maxmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for a night in 3 bedrooms apartment. The apartment complete with small kitchen, dining and living area. Both bathrooms have free standing shower and no tub. Amenities include shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, soap, toothbrush, comb, shaver, cotton bud, shower cap and sewing kit. Overall the apartment in a good condition except for the 3rd bedroom which quite small, no air cond (fan only) and the wall full of graffiti by kids i assumed.

The water theme park was quite small but good enough to entertain kids. Guests didn't really followed swimming dress code here, i supposed it just not that strict. So, shirt seems to be acceptable in the pool.

Buffet breakfast near the beach. The resort set up huge canopy and it seemed a bit chaotic and hot as well with lots of people all in one place. There were 2 buffet lines but we need to line up quite some time to get the food as there just too many people. The table cloth quite dirty as i think they short of staff to control a big crowd and clean up the tables.

The resort just a short drive from KL, so very packed on weekend. Good accommodation but i think they need better planning for buffet breakfast. Beach wise nothing to shout about. They have nice huts to hang out but thats it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HandpkWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went on a short getaway with friends to Morib and chosen to stay at this hotel on a deal purchased online. It was a worthwhile-stay as a whole. Although it took us some time during the check-in, but i guess that's normal for a hotel that accommodates hundreds of rooms. Upon entering the room, we were delighted with the clean and nice studio suite completed with comfy bed and exciting jacuzzi experience. Our rooms overlooking out to the water theme park and beach are some of the best things ever happened in our trip. Water park is small, yet we could get all the fun playing around the low-challenge-level slides and tunnels, probably because we are not too fond of fierce water sports/ activities anyway. It's evident that everyone in there enjoys spending time with friends and family, in the water. So rather than going for might-be-way-too-vigorous-or-heart-pounding water sports in KL renowned theme park like the sunway's or other, I would recommend the water theme park in GCRM especially for the family with teenage and children. We were also surprised that despite some of the bad reviews for the food the hotel served, we managed to find our pleasure in enjoying their buffet dinner and breakfast. A wide variety of food was served and the taste was good and fine that we wish we had a bigger stomach! Just go for the buffet if you'd like to have both oriental and western delicacies at any one time, they are just superb enough to make you full and happy.

Room Tip: Request for a front-facing room overlooking the water theme park and beach. The scenery is just so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meiyeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banting
4.3 mi away
Hotel Impian Morib
Hotel Impian Morib
#2 of 6 in Banting
39 reviews
20.4 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
597 reviews
19.4 mi away
Citadines DPulze Cyberjaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Putrajaya Shangri-La
#4 of 9 in Putrajaya
641 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Centum
Hotel Centum
#6 of 25 in Klang
3 reviews
19 mi away
Dash Box Hotel Cyberjaya
Dash Box Hotel Cyberjaya
#5 of 5 in Cyberjaya
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Morib International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Morib International Resort

Address: PT 294, Kawasan Kanchong Laut, Morib Beach | Morib Beach, Banting 42700, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Kuala Langat District > Banting
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Banting
Price Range: £30 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Coast Morib International Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast Morib International Resort located in the lovely area of Morib Beach, enjoys a commanding position in the beaches, sightseeing, family fun hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Coast Morib International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Resort Morib Hotel Banting

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing