We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Access to this hotel from Adelaide is via M44 Bus. Bus Stop 24. The bus stop for south bound travel is outside the hotel. The bus stop for buses to the city is across the street. In peak hours the road is very busy and can be hazardous. The nearest light-controlled crossing is a 100metres or so to the south. Taxi from the airport is $A30. A more scenic route to the airport is via Marion Centre and Glenelg Interchange. was tested. For seniors its $A2.50 each way.

The hotel has 12 rooms for accomodation upstairs. Bedrooms contain usually two single or one double bed. An interconnecting door is available to cater for both combinations. Bedrooms are not large, but the beds are comfortable.. The rooms and bathrooms are meticulously clean. The bisto dinning room is adjacent to the casino on the other side of the dividing bar. Meals including breakfast cater for most tastes at reasonable prices.

The hotel has a well patronised entertainment area, but our experience was not compromised by exessive noise.

A good place to stay off campus for the Flinders University or Flinders Medical Centre.

Wifi was a bit iffy, but we were shown table 3 in the Bistro where it worked fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zambuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks for you lovely review - will need to follow up on WiFi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    27
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
24
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mannum, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We just wanted an overnight stay in the southern suburbs of Adelaide, in order to be close to our destination early the following morning. The room was small, but comfortable and very clean. Bathroom very tiny but overall everything was adequate for our needs. Food in the dining room downstairs was excellent. No lift up to the rooms, only stairs, but this is not a problem generally.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review - look forward to seeing you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Exactly what you expect! Close to hospital and shopping centre. Nothing flash but all that we needed.
Food in the dinning room was fantastic, best fish (whiting) I've found across S.A.
Reception staff could not be more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussieriddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review - hopefully the front office staff will more friendly next time you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed two nights and found the place to be average. The sign at reception says free wifi Internet but there's no Internet to be found unless you hang around the lobby. The following is a letter that I sent to them after my stay there. It pretty much sums up the experience.

Well, thanks for nothing! I stayed at your hotel for 2 nights and paid cash (saving you the VISA fee) and unfortunately left a book behind that my wife gave me for my birthday. It turns out that this book is worth around $30. I called your reception and was told that it was there but it seemed that it was going to be a hassle and the "boss may not be happy about somebody having to go to the post office". Really? I just got the card in the mail today that it was sent COD with a $21 pick up fee! This book would have cost no more than $5 for you to send which is around the fee that I saved you by paying cash. I could have given you this $5 with my VISA card over the phone By the way, I worked it out that the book was left there on my first nights stay and not mentioned to me when I booked later on for the second night. Again, thanks for nothing!
Ivan

There you have it, where has the service gone these days? $200 worth of business and no customer service for it. My ne t stay in Adelaide will not be at the Marion. There are other places for around the same price with excellent service...try Hotel Minima in North Adelaide.

Room Tip: No Internet whatever room you get even though they claim that it's there. Bathroom somewhat outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maplegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will follow up re the WiFi. We are definitely not a 5 star property and I think our price reflects that. Our rooms were recently renovated although I admit our bathrooms are very clean and functional but dated - but did you find the bed comfortable?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at this place for 1 night on our way to Adelaide airport. Easy 20 minutes drive. Rooms are upstairs with no lift; pretty basic. Bed was comfy and room was clean, but bathroom was pretty small. Also, it was a bit noisy as rooms are above bar and bistro. Free Wi-Fi. Our only complaint is regards the payment: we booked this hotel via booking.com and although you provide your credit card details for pre authorization, you don’t expect the hotel to deduct the full amount in advance on the day of the booking; rather on your check in or check out! Be aware!

Room Tip: Be awrae that payment is on your booking day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review - we are aware of an error made with your payment and ensure it doesn't happen - we know we are not 5 star but we aim to give 5 star service!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We recently stayed at this Hotel after a flight from Darwin. It is a very big and well presented hotel with only a few, maybe 12, rooms upstairs. Facilities were good and the free parking was the big attraction. We had a very comfortable stay and would recommend it to others. However, if you're not good on stairs or need a place closer to the CBD, it might not be for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paknasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRH2010, Owner at Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review - we are very happy that we decided to renovate our rooms - whilst there are only 12 rooms and they are not huge! - accommodation is in short supply in the area and we are only 11km from the City - 10km from the Airport and just 30km from McLaren Vale and the wonderful vineyards and beaches of the Fleurieu Peninsular
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertram
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel has got it ALL right! Not many rooms (12) , all upstairs, well appointed even though they appear quite small, but WOW they are very clean, very QUIET, and the service is EXEMPLARY! As stated in their advertising 15-20 mins from city and airport with ample onsire parking. See you next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRJADrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell Park
1.8 mi away
Marion Motel and Apartments
3.1 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
5.5 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Tonsley Hotel Motel
Tonsley Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Clovelly Park
81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marion Holiday Park
Marion Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Bedford Park
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Hotel

Property: Marion Hotel
Address: 849 Marion Rd | Adelaide, Mitchell Park, Marion, South Australia 5043, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Marion > Mitchell Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open 7 days from 8am - Accommodation 12 well presented rooms with en-suite bathrooms. 2 Bars - Bistro - Breakfast - Lunch - Dinner served daily - Function rooms - Quality Food & Wine - Browse Bottle Shop / Wine Store - Onsite Gaming Room - Live Entertainment Marion Hotel gateway to the Fleurieu Peninsula & Kangaroo Island Sealink - Marion Road just 4 km south of Cross Rd **Distance from *City - 12km *McLaren Vale - 30km *Airport - 10km *Adelaide Oval - 12km *Cape Jervis - 96km (KI Sealink) *SA Aquatic & Leisure - 4 km *Finders Uni & Medical Centre - 3km *Westfield Shopping-town Marion - 3km *Glenelg Beach - 7km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing