We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”
Review of Brahmaputra Hotel

Brahmaputra Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sibsagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brahmaputra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Sibsagar B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The facilities of the hotel were ok considering the location. The food quality was poor, when we ordered Parathas they bought cold ones, and with smelling curd.

When discussed with hotel staff, at the max they agreed to reheat them.

Even after paying for full tariff of 2,200 we were not provided complimentary breakfast, because we checked in at 4 a.m. and checked out 11 a.m. same day.

in morning at about 7.30 am they started to repair something in adjoining room, which obviously woke us up, and they didnot seemed to be bothered about our complaints.

Hotel is smelly in corridors. AC was competely jammed, so we had to first wash its filter to get some cooling. Grrrr.

But obviously its nearest thing you can get bear ONGC so we had no other option.

Credit card machine never works... so carry cash.

Room Tip: Inspect the facilities first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdityaPratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
2
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I am a regular business guest at this hotel since last 10 years. However, I have visited Sibsagar last week after 3 years and I was pleasantly surprised to find the marked improvements viz. re-decorated lounge and restaurant, complimentary breakfast facility, wi-fi facility in the lounge and payment by credit card facility. House keeping and room service are also fantastic. The food is tasty but the quantity is too much for a single person; any dish can be shared easily by two persons. Good value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samukh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I am a regular guest in this hotel as I need to visit the place for my work 4-5 times a year. the rooms are huge, looks like waste of space. The TV really appears to be a teleview due to the distance from the bed. The food, for outsiders may appear a little alien. I am fine with it, being an Assamese. Check out time takes eternity as the cashier writes everything manually, checks, rechecks. So, get out of your room at least 20 minutes ahead. Will not help if you call up from your room before leaving. They could clean the bathroom better, specially the commodes.

Room Tip: Most rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have been here long time back and have found the staff to very sensible especially if you are strict veggie! Not that the rooms are the best I have been to but then you dont tend to stay long in Sibsagar once you have seen the tea estates and the biggest attraction of Sibsagar!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoliodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Did not expect much in this remotest corner of the country. Hence, was happy to see the simple yet clean hotel in this town. Was my second stay here, the first one being in May-June 2008. Stayed during that period (2008) for 10 days and had no problems as such. However, got bored with the food in the restaurant, hence went to skychef for a change. The dished tasted the same everytime and the choice too was limited.
The rooms are simple, both a double bed, a TV and side tables. Lobby is small and has a TV where one can pass time during bandhs and chakka jams/blockades).No complaints !

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv_Phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibsagar
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
Hotel Brahamputra Ashok
#14 of 61 in Guwahati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jora Palace
Hotel Jora Palace
#1 of 7 in Jorhat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Natraj
Hotel Natraj
#1 of 21 in Dibrugarh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brahmaputra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brahmaputra Hotel

Property: Brahmaputra Hotel
Address: Opposite Bus Stand, Sibsagar, India
Region: India > Assam > Sivsagar District > Sibsagar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sibsagar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing