We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beresford B & B #2924389” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beresford B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayswater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beresford B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Bayswater B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Beresford B & B #2924389”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lesley & Gordon were excellent hosts and I cannot add any thing further that would have made my stay any better than what was provided. My needs were catered for above and beyond; the bed was cosy and warm; the amenities and hospitality warmer still which was much appreciated after a long journey. Thank you both

Room Tip: Nothing to add - perfect in my book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley B, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're very pleased to have had the opportunity to make you welcome here. Hope to see you again when you're in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Lesley and Gordon were lovely hosts and for a solo traveler made me feel welcome in their home while still providing ample privacy. The house is clean, modern and nicely decorated and between the bedroom, bathroom and lounge there were a lot of spaces available for guest’s private use. The fresh warm pastries in the morning were delicious and flowers picked from the garden added a nice touch to breakfast.

The location is close to the ferry terminal and the very pleasant Devonport. Unfortunately there isn’t a bus into Devonport from Bayswater but Lesley was very accommodating picking up or dropping off at any of the local spots.

I can happily recommend the Beresford B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley B, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to recommend us to others and writing this review. Having travelled on my own, I know that it can be difficult to find good yet affordable accommodation for a single person so one of our aims is to provide just this - pleased to know that we are succeeding! Very best wishes, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I cannot recommend this bed and breakfast highly enough as a single female travelling alone, i was made to feel so welcome and a part of the family by Lesley and Gordon who gave me superb advice on everything kiwi to help my transition into kiwi life.
The Beresford really is a slice of heaven, so peaceful and tranquil. Lesley really has decorated the whole house with such love and care, everything is finished beautifully to a very high standard and every need is thought of and catered for....i did not have to ask for anything during my stay :)
I loved the location of the Beresford as the ferry terminal is literally at the bottom of Beresford Street, so a short (beautiful) walk and you are on the ferry straight into the city, perfect for days or nights out in Auckland without the stress of parking and driving inner city!

I truly feel as though i have made 2 lovely friends in Gordon and Lesley, and i thank you both very much for making my stay so warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Tip for everyone is STAY HERE :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review and for staying here. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help make the start of your stay in NZ a very positive experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Welcome to NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed for two nights in January and one night in March. The hosts Lesley and Gordon are very hospitable and helpful. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was delicious and prepared wheat free at my request. The B&B is situated in a convenient location for buses and a ferry that runs to Auckland City.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We're so glad you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. We're always happy to cater for special dietary requirements so thank you for letting us know about that so that we had the opportunity to do so. Thank you for staying with us on both occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just like being at home in this very comfortable B & B. Everything clean and crisp with an excellent hot or cold breakfast in the morning. The warm welcome from Lesley - she is the one who bakes the yummy tea cake for you to eat and Gordon who makes sure your WiFi is working are the extra special touches that make for a lasting impression. Handy to interesting spots on the northside of Auckland but also an easy ferry ride to downtown Auckland. Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Perfect place for 2 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We're pleased to hear that you found our place welcoming and the location convenient. Apart from all the things that a good B&B should provide, we believe the extra touches are very important so it is very good to hear that they are appreciated. Thank you! Hope to see you again when you're in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wonderful stay, just what I was looking for. Nice quiet place, lovely People, Nice clean rooms, beautiful breakfast........could not ask for more. I needed a break from hotels in Auckland, only 10 minutes with the ferry and I was picked up by Lesley; my first impression was Right, a lovely person as her husbond Gordon. I had this Nice feeling during the 4 days, I stayed here. It was so good that I decided to Cancel my hotel in Auckland. I Will be back:-) Best wishes from the Danish tourguide Lone Jakobsen

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hello Lone! Thank you! We're very happy that we were able to provide you with the quiet respite you needed in Auckland. A pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gross-umstadt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Beresford was perfect for our needs:
- quiet location;
- very kind hosts who received us even in the middle of the night and had a open ear for all our questions;
- not to near, not to far from the city;
- a gourmet-breakfast;
- all in all a perfect start to be on holidasy in New Zealand

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorthe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
So glad we were able to contribute to making your first days in NZ a welcoming experience and your stay in Auckland enjoyable. Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
0.3 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford B&B

Property: Beresford B&B
Address: 46A Beresford Street | Bayswater, Auckland, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located centrally in AUCKLAND CITY. Bayswater is a small suburb across the harbour on Auckland's North Shore - a 10 minute ferry trip away from Downtown Auckland. We warmly welcome travellers to our comfortable, modern home here in peaceful Bayswater. Relax and feel at home, away from the hustle and bustle but within such easy reach of all Auckland City and the wider area has to offer. Easy walk to ferry, downtown Auckland 10 minute trip away. 5-10 minute drive to motorway, Devonport or Takapuna, restaurants and shopping. On bus route. Two light, airy, upstairs bedrooms next to private bathroom accommodating one group (or single person) of up to 4 people at any one time. Your own TV lounge, tea & coffee making, internet, laundry, spa pool, generous continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beresford B&B Auckland/Bayswater, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing