We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a small hotel room”
Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than a small hotel room”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at this property for two nights and what a surprise, the rooms are very large and clean, you get free breakfast ,wifi , parking and free ferry tickets to the city with the ferry just a short walk down the road. Room 303 was quite with a small peak of the water. Staff were nice and helpful when required keep up the good work. A+

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    180
    68
    30
    13
See reviews for
153
298
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed for just one night but the rooms are massive and would certainly be awesome for a long term stay. We were more than happy with the cleaniness of the room and the staff were nothing sort of lovely from the call I made to book that morning to the check out the next day. The complimentary breakfast the next day was handy but the dining room was very full and we had to wait a while... some more tables or a staff memember to clear tables or just let us know we were in the right place would have been a bonus. But all in all happy :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Takapuna Oaks is in a wonderful location, quiet and overlooking the harbour, and the quality of the hotel matches that of the views. The superior room was one of the best we have encountered in NZ with facilities exceeding our expectations. The evening meal was of a high standard and reasonably priced, and having breakfast included in the price was just great. One of the few hotels that we have stayed in that includes free Wifi - this is a bonus. Did not expect in-room laundry facilities! Excellent rates and great service. Our only regret was that we were only staying 1 night!!!! Will definitely return when in the Auckland area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. As stated by other reviews not really two bed as only bathroom access is off the main bedroom . However just husband and me so perfectly fine and nice to have the extra space. Would be fine for young children in the second room.
Lovely views as advertised for a harbour view room.
Kitchen has a two burner cook top, microwave, pantry and dishwasher but no oven. So not really a full kitchen but worked fine for cooked breakfast or lite lunch or dinner.
Good size bathroom and whole suite spotlessly clean and in very good condition.
Absolutely need a car but only an easy ten min drive to the cafes of devonport
Did not try the ferry due to weather
If you want to be out of the cbd but near enough to drive or ferry and with a bit more space then perfect. Staff also friendly and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suziesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

10 day stay while on Business and training central Auckland.
-This is my 3rd stay at this Hotel for business and training Auckland CBD.
I have stayed at most hotels Auckland CBD but rate Takapuna Oaks as one of my Top Choices!!
Reasons being-
-Great Location
-Great service from management and staff,
-Excellent rates for extended stays,
-Free return ferry tickets to CBD.
-Free breakfast,
-No need to pay for expensive parking CBD.
-Great rooms,Great quiet location while on business and training.
-1 block from ferry and Bayswater mariner(Just a stroll down the hill)
-Free shuttle to mariner if required.

Now if you where to add up all the above extras-And take these costs off the price per night the accomadation is very cheap for a 4-5 star Hotel!!

Free Ferry 11$ a day return (unless you by a 10 trip which costs 41$)
Free Continental breakfast-Cost in City?15-20$?
Free Parking at Hotel and at Bayswater Mariner- in CBD cost $20 a day min 24hrs

I also have children in the area and the hotel staff and management where more than happy to accomadate my children at no extra cost when they where able to come and stay on the odd occasion.
If available ..on extended stays gave me a 2 bedroom apartment for pretty much the price of a 1 bedroom.
.For all the above reasons I am always happy to tip management and staff at the end of my stay!!
I highly recommend this Hotel for Business, Families, Couples and Solo's and look forward to staying here again when my business and training requires.

Rgds and thanks
Mr Hollows

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taihula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

In Devonport with friends for a weekend seminar. The Takapuna Oaks was ideally located, lovely views, quiet, comfortable apartment with separate sleeping for 3 adults (not easy to find). Staff very friendly, polite and helpful. I would stay here again and unreservedly recommend it. Convenient for dinner, had a good meal, good value.

Room Tip: Room 12 amazing view day and night over harbour to city and bridge. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecily N Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was such a lovely place. Beautiful room and really nice staff. Couldn't speak more highly of it.
Breakfast and wifi included a were the ferry tickets into town. Food was great too. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
1.8 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Property: VR Takapuna
Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
VR Takapuna Auckland/Bayswater, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing