We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Although the general ambience was acceptable, rooms are small and the description was misleading. It said 2 bathroom and sufficient for 6 persons but was actually just 1 shower with the other just a wash closet. Unreasonably impractical. Reception was helpful but did not compensate room quality and space. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Hani,

We thank you for your valuable feedback. Sorry to hear we missed to meet your expectations; however I would like to mention that Auckland Takapuna Oaks also offers its valued guests larger rooms also across different room types in comparison to its peers.

However, we look forward to welcoming you again and hope to change your experience to a more delightful one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    182
    70
    32
    14
See reviews for
156
304
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

No complaints about being outsdide of the city centre - we knew that when booking. The ferry was handy, 10 minutes walk away at most and the ferry is a fun way to get to the heart of Auckland.
The room/apartment we booked had two bedrooms and was nicer/bigger/more comfortable than the first apartment I ever lived in, so no complaints there. Clean and spacious, daily room service was top notch and the restaurant onsite was better than expected - good views, clean and food was pretty good too. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, even helping to resolve an issue with the GPS in our car at one point. Really no complaints, was better than expected even after reading the positive Tripadvisor reviews.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJCSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATO M, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear RJCSingapore,

Thank you for uploading your review of our property. We really enjoyed having your family stay with us! While we were trying to fix your GPS, I was really amazed by your daughters sound knowledge of the islands in the pacific and the general geography of Asia! Also I am really glad to read you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and took advantage of what our property offers.
We all hope the rest of your holiday is enjoyable and would love to welcome you back on your return stay.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel after flying direct to New Zealand from the UK. It was just what we needed, a nice quiet location but just a ten minute ferry ride away from the heart of Auckland. The ferry is a very short walk - maybe 5 minutes - from the hotel.
The apartments are very spacious and comfortable and the staff are fabulous, so helpful and friendly. We didn't get to eat in the restaurant as we were a bit jet lagged and had a tendency to fall asleep very early in the evening, but we're going back there in a few weeks time before our flight home, so will report back.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to stay in peaceful surroundings, but doesn't want to be too far from the city.

Room Tip: Our hotel room looked out over the car park, which wasn't a problem it wasn't noisy. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValH902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATO M, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Val,

I would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback on our property. We look forward to your return visit and would love for you to enjoy the great service, food and stunning views from our restaurant.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Quiet and peaceful hotel with great views, very convenient for the city without the noise and rush. Easy walk to the ferry and marina (good for an evening stroll). Pleasant and helpful staff, clean and smart rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATO M, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Jas,

Thank you for your excellent review of our property. I am extremely satisfied to read you made the most of your stay with us at Takapuna Oaks and took advantage of our properties quiet and beautiful outlook. It's also great to read that our staff facilitated in your excellent experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Takapuna Oaks on our first night in New Zealand and were very happy with our decision to stay here. We arrived a bit earlier than the check-in time and though our room wasn't ready yet, we were able to store our bags with the front desk and take off into town.

The room itself was great. We had a living room with a mini kitchen, separate bedroom, and an ensuite bathroom, all of which were very clean. And the price was very reasonable compared to some places closer to downtown where you would pay much more and get much less. The Takapuna Oaks even offers each guest a free ferry ticket across the bay to the city centre if you want to go there but not bring your car with you. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of that offer but it's nice that they do that. Oh, and there's free wifi and complimentary continental breakfast included too.

Just a quick side note, if you're too tired from a day of exploring or you just got in from your long overseas flight, the hotel restaurant on the top floor offers great views of the city and fantastic food. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and typically you overpay for a bad meal. That was not the case here though.

Overall, this was a great experience and I highly recommend basing yourself here for your Auckland stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallywag81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATO M, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking out your time and providing other future guests with this excellent detailed review of our property. It's excellent to read you enjoyed the restaurant and the excellent food, we too believe it has some of the best views in Auckland!
Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Auckland.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Takapuna Oaks is a nice clean affordable hotel, that has a mini kitchen area where you can cook. It is roughly a 15min drive from Auckland. Getting to Auckland via car is very easy and signs direct you to the city centre. The hotel offers free ferry rides over to Auckland (The ferry is 600m walk from the hotel).
Takapuna Oaks has free Wifi, and parking. A continental breakfast is also included in your stay. The only issue i had with the room was the washing machine...it was completely impossible to use, and one load took over an hour and a half, very very confusing.
However overall Takapuna Oaks is a very cosy hotel, i was glad to stay out of Auckland city as it is very expensive to park. Devonport is a short drive from the hotel, and has a number of nice cafes and pubs where you can enjoy a meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyJane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdaiSarin, Director of Sales at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear MurphyJane89

We thank you for the valuable feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your valuable feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you a delightful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have stayed her with my wife and we just love our stay. the staff is friendly and location and view of the room is Speechless. Bed was really comfortable and good air condition and heater facility.

I would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMorya4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATO M, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Ravi

I would like to first of all thank you for the excellent review of our hotel. I am really glad to read you enjoyed the Harbour View rooms at our hotel and the view they have of Auckland City. It is also excellent to read our staff made your stay a great experience.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Jayant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.8 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,302 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Property: VR Takapuna
Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
VR Takapuna Auckland/Bayswater, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing