We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Takapuna Oaks - Fantastic location”
Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Takapuna Oaks - Fantastic location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I organised for our Rotary Cricketing Fellowship to stay at the Takapuna Oaks recently for our annual Cricket Weekend at Devonport. We were a number of couples and single men staying. I found the management so patient and helpful as our numbers and configuration of rooms kept changing. We also organised our Saturday night dinner for 30 people to be held in the restaurant, and we had the whole restaurant to ourselves. The restaurant has views to die for. And again the management could not be more helpful in organising a menu to suit us. They even provided us with a platter free of charge whilst we had our annual general meeting before the dinner.

The views from the restaurant, and from every room we booked were spectacular. It was wonderful being in Auckland but not in the hurly burly of it - just looking across at the city from a distance. The Devonport area is so much more relaxed.

The Apartments were serviced each day and had everything we required.

My only advice is that if you are booking a two bedroom apartment, beware that the only shower is in the ensuite. And with the living area so spacious we were only to happy to manage this with the other couple we were sharing with.

Management also gave us the name of a wonderfully efficient and very reasonably priced shuttle service for our members to get from the airport to the North Shore, and for those who caught the shuttle into the City there were vouchers to get across on the ferry free of charge.

We would definitely stay here again if we come to the North Shore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Rachael B,

It was our pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you would love to stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and offer you a yet another delightful experience.

Thank you,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    180
    68
    30
    13
See reviews for
153
298
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

i have stayed at Takapuna Oaks before. I love the location and the view from the room. I love the little kitchen and the room setup with sleeping room and small living area. but this time my queen bed really "sucked".
it looked very nice and welcoming but it was a soft valley bed. Since I always sleep on my belly, I could not find a comfortable position to sleep. My back was hurting after an uncomfortable night.
The second night i slept first on the floor and later on the fold out couch. .
The location is perfect but the bed of my room needed to be upgraded

Room Tip: get a room with a good firm bed and ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hohepa-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Hohepa-travels,

We thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We always make an effort to delight our valued guests by accommodating certain special requests whenever possible, so I would recommend that you request for a harder mattress for your next stay, so that we can make your stay all the more comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again and offer you a more delightful experience.

Warm Regard,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great place at the end of the Bayswater Ferry from downtown. A quick walk to the top of the hill to this charming little hotel. Great service, super fast Internet and a cute restaurant. Breakfast is included and we used the grill that was living in the parking lot to cook up some fish we got over at the Auckland Fish Mart. I think its a great alternative to staying in Downtown. The ferry ride alone will relax you for whatever is ahead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Peter K,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. We truly value your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always make an effort to delight our valued guests like you.

We wish to welcome you soon and offer you a delightful experience during your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely 1 bed apartment with washer/dryer all very clean and comfortable. Fab views of Auckland from restaurant and wonderful sunsets. It was our last stop after 3 weeks in NZ , and if we ever go back would stay there again. It was lovely to be able to sit on balcony with a glass of wine before dinner and have the facility of a small kitchen.

Room Tip: Reception floor left hand side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Gill W,

We really appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you again and making your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you,

Kind Regards,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom harbour view suite, for 4 of us, for 7 nights. Kids are 1 and 2. The living space was tremendous. We had other family members staying in the hotel at the same time, and so our apartment became the party place at night. The room itself was very clean and made up every day. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom area well laid out and roomy.
We had an issue with the complimentary continental breakfast being pulled halfway through our stay, but without even too much of a fuss, this was quickly reinstated on a voucher system. The ferry is def the way into Auckland (avoids a 30min round trip over the bridge), doesnt make sense that you can stay for 7 nights and get the same number of ferry crossings as those staying for 1 night. I think we went twice and the hotel arranged our tickets both times.
There are not any walkable options for dinner/drinks. There are a large selection of takeaways within 5mins drive, and unfortunately the supermarket has just closed down. The restaurant onsite was good, reasonable selection of food, views stunning. Wifi was free and reliable (i had to do some work and was downloading some rather large files - no worse speed wise than at home).
No problems with the staff. If you had the beginnings of a grump, they quickly resolved it for you. Really friendy

Room Tip: didnt see a 1 bed room, but does not look like many of them have a balcony. 2 bed room was spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Accidentalt0urist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Accidentalt0urist12,

Sincere thank you for your valuable feedback, it was much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you a yet another delightful experience.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

When we stayed at this hotel the first time it was fantastic. Free ferry tickets everyday, a great continental brekky and John? on the front desk a wealth of knowledge. Free parking. A shuttle bus .Clean, spacious etc. It was due to our great first visit we decided to stay again.

This time, the ferry tickets were only one per stay (not one per day as previous visit). Breakfast was basic. Toast and cereal and one juice to choose from. There was also someone asleep in the kitchen.
The girl on the front desk had no knowledge of what was on in auckland or how to get to major attractions.
You wouldn't stay there unless you had a car as it is in suburbia. You really couldn't walk to any shops or restaurants its way too far and they have cut back the shuttle service. Free parking good.

They have improved the free wifi.

However there are minor repairs needed around the place. Broken fire doors, a broken laundry door meant I got stuck in the bathroom.

For the peace and quiet and clean room I might stay again, but they really need to lift their game.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marysmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Marysmith1,

We thank you for the valuable feedback and have noted your concern very carefully. I would like to assure you that we have taken appropriate actions to avoid re-occurrence.

Your valuable feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you a more delightful experience.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had two nights in a lovely spacious and very clean apartment overlooking the harbour. A nice balcony to soak up the views while enjoying a glass of wine or two topped things off nicely. We had dinner in the restaurant which has even more awesome views and the meals we ordered were top class. All the staff were very helpful and the manager of this hotel should be proud of this wonderful establishment. I highly recommend Takapuna Oaks to anyone visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear BrisbaneBonnie,

It was our pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you would love to stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and offer you a yet another delightful experience.

Thank you,

General Manager,

Auckland Takapuna Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
1.8 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Property: VR Takapuna
Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater
VR Takapuna Auckland/Bayswater, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing