We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Mida Ecocamp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gede
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mida Ecocamp
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Whilst staying in Watamu we visited Mida Creek and the Mida Ecocamp we were really impressed with the facilities and with Eric who showed us around. He was so friendly and welcoming. A few days later we needed a place to stay for the night and so decided to try Mida Ecocamp. We stayed in one of the huts, the accommodation was simple but very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, and included a lovely selection of fruit. It was great to support a community project, and Eric and all the staff made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumingscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed in Mida Eco camp for two nights in the Zanzibar hut as a group of four; my friend had booked the accommodation so I had no preconceptions or expectations before visiting and overall I enjoyed my experience, although it won’t appeal to everyone.

The camp is a sustainable tourism initiative located in a small village near the Arabuko Sokoke Forest and Mida Creek. It’s around 15 minutes from Watamu, 10 minutes to Gede Ruins and 20 minutes to Malindi, there is a sign on the main road which shows where to stop and then it is a ten minute walk down a dirt track to reach the accommodation. It’s probably a bit far out if you want to eat out in the evening or spend all your time in surrounding towns as you have to rely on matatus or motorbikes to get around, we had to wait anything from five minutes to half an hour for a ride. However, the location means it’s really peaceful and the nearby Mangroves provide a perfect place to relax.

This is a real back to nature experience which means it isn’t for anyone expecting luxury, the camp is quite basic with no electricity or water in the huts. There is a gas lamp provided for light in the room during the evening and the shared bathrooms are located a short walk away in the main hut which were warm and kept clean. The hut itself was clean enough although the bedding was quite worn, the bed downstairs was comfortable while upstairs was more basic, all beds had mosquito nets. It took a bit of used to sleeping with no walls in the upstairs room especially in the rain but nothing got wet and we slept well once we had got used to the wildlife i.e. being woken up by squirrels running around or having bats fly through the open windows but this is what made the experience. There was a lot of maintenance happening during the day to improve the facilities and the camp is definitely working progress but it didn’t really impact on our stay.

We found the staff to be friendly and very relaxed, breakfast was included in the price and very plentiful including breads, eggs and fruit. We didn’t book any excursions during our stay but you need to stay at least two nights due to location and to get chance to explore the surrounding area.

Overall, I would recommend trying Mida for the experience, it’s not going to suit everyone but it’s a unique experience for a few nights and you will be supporting a good cause, just don’t expect any luxury!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelfiorentino, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

When we arrived at Mida Ecocamo we did not believe our eyes and ears... first of all, although we had booked well in advance and had contacted them shortly before our arrival to confirm the booking, it did not seem like they were expecting us at all!!! It took them half an hour before we were shown our hut! No words can describe how creepy the whole place was! The hut (and especially the bed made impression on me) were so dirty! When they call themselves "ECO" it really means that there is NOTHING!!! No electricity, no toilet in the hut, so after 6:30 when the sun goes down you are completely in the dark... and on top of everything the guys running the place are really creepy and seems very stoned... on the website they promise a lot, but nothing is true!!!
We only stayed there 30 minutes... the time for the taxi to arrive and pick us up! It was such a reliaf to leave that terrible place! I do really warn everyone: do NOT book this place! It will ruin your holiday!!! It was just about to ruin mine... but fortunately we found other accomodation in watamu!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Mida Ecocamp is situated inside the Mida Creek and is a sustainable, community-run camp that offers great campsites and some rooms. Do not expect unnecessary luxury, but a very friendly and authentic accomodation apart from the mass-tourism concrete hotels that pleague the Kenyan coastline. Pitch up your tent in one of the secluded and shady campsites, grab your flip-flops and have a cold beer on the open restaurant platform overlooking the mangroves and the creek - it is amazing.

I do not know about the rooms, but apart from the kitchen and the office there seems to be no electricity (cellphones etc. can be charged at the office) and at night the camp (and each campsite) is being lit by oil lamps. Needless to mention that the staff (a special thanks to Eric!) is very friendly and competent as well. So seems to be the chef since the food is delicious (in fact the sukuma wiki was the best I have had in Kenya), but not on the cheap side. Also, as some already mentioned, the excursions are quite expensive with the notable exception of the Village Walk - do it! You will get an unforgettable and authentic glimpse on how the Giriama people in and around the creek live today.

We will be back!

Room Tip: All of the private campsites offer privacy and a shadowy place to pitch up the tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

All was perfect! Excellent! But just the prices of the excursions is overpriced for what they offer. We felt a little disappointment. Anyway, we will come back if we have a new opportunity, for sure! But we will organize our trips by our own.

Room Tip: All the cottage are perfect because their are so beautiful! Just to prove all of them we should ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul08015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Two years ago I first visited Mida Ecocamp as a solo traveller just for a few days. The creek, the camp and the people were magic, so this year I came with my family (husband, and kids of 16 and 12). We all loved it, our 5 days in Mida were the highlight and the best days of our holiday! The place and the people are so relaxed, we have never experienced such warmth and hospitality, such a welcoming atmosphere. Moreover, the food is excellent!! We stayed in the Zanzibar house and that is really great for a family, the kids slept on the roof terrace. Mateso, Eric, Katana, Katore and all the staff: thank you for being excellent guides and hosts! We so much enjoyed the trips with you, and just hanging out and sharing stories. We hope to be back soon, we already miss the creek and the starry nights...

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Mida Eco Camp is fantastic! We stayed in the Zanzibar hut for three nights at the beginning of June and felt like we were in paradise lounging on our elevated second floor overlooking the forest and mangroves. The whole camp looks beautiful and is made out of local wood, driftwood and thatching. The staff, particularly Mateso and Eric couldn’t do more for us and were always on hand to make sure we had a comfortable stay. I would highly recommend Mateso’s cooking, the fresh fish and coconut rice was delicious!
During our stay we went on the canoe trip to the Gede ruins. After getting over the nerves of being in a dugout canoe in the middle of the creek we relaxed into the experience! Mateso took us into the mangroves and explained all the different species. I think we were the only tourists in Watamu to have visited the ruins by canoe! The other trip was the beautiful boardwalk where we could sit in the sun for a while watching the fishermen come home with the mornings catch and the many birds and crabs.
I would highly recommend Mida Eco camp for anyone visiting Watamu who wants a different experience from the big all –inclusive on the beach drab. It is ran by the Giriama tribe and all proceeds are re-invested into the community and go towards medical supplies and education amongst other things.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenamy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mida Ecocamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mida Ecocamp

Property: Mida Ecocamp
Address: Malindi-Mombasa Road | Mida Village, Gede 80208, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Gede
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Gede
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mida Ecocamp has been built and is operated by the local community under supervision. The profit will be used for further projects in the area. Guests will have a true African experience within the Giriama tribe. The platform bar/restaurant with scenic views offers Giriama delicacies and cold drinks. Accommodation is in the form of traditional huts with proper beds, white sheets and mosquito nets. 7 excursions and Giriama dancing and drumming can be booked from the Camp. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing