We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location for a family reunion”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Compton Dundon, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Henso
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for a family reunion”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Where do you start!

My wife & I booked this house for a week to celebrate our forthcoming golden wedding anniversary by getting together with our family of 3 children + partners and 7 grand-children aged between 10 & 20). Everyone rated it the best time we have ever shared together. Why was that?

The house is large and rambling, with a lot of history around the Hood family (who have a rich naval history). There are 8 double bedrooms, 2 with 4-poster beds and 2 with en-suite facilities, but there were 4 extra bathrooms (counting one downstairs). All were nicely equipped with linen, towels, toiletries, etc. There is a very large kitchen where we could all eat together and a formal dining room (which we used once). There are 2 lounges, a lovely hall/foyer area, with 2 pianos, including a grand piano plus a largish games room with pool and table tennis. The grounds are extensive, with large outdoor eating and grassed areas, a tennis court, a croquet lawn and lots of wooded areas to explore.

That gave everyone plenty of space to do their own thing, while it was easy to get together for games or chatting or just exploring. We have 3 very musical grandchildren and they had a great time playing music on the pianos and their guitars- it was great to see cousins getting on so well!

We spent quite a lot of time playing tennis (the first time for many years for some of us), croquet using some sort of vague rules that descended into hysterical chaos and table tennis & pool, where the teenagers took delight in beating some of their parents or adult relatives- or vice versa! The Samuel Hood monument is close by and just a few miles away is Glastonbury Tor, both of which gave us some hill-climbing exercise.

On the downside, the place is a bit run-down and the rooms were not as clean as we would have liked, especially in the cupboards and drawers. A few things didn't work properly, including a few lights. However, this didn't spoil our enjoyment and it made us feel that we didn't have to be over worried about treading carefully all the time. We could be ourselves and not be too concerned about spoiling the heritage of the place.

All the family want to go again so, who knows???

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Wootton House. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had such a special stay here, it sounds like it was perfectly suited to your needs and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inthetrav...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great country house experience!”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

A group of us spent a long weekend at this country house in November 2015 and had a great time.
Despite the cold Winter mornings, the house was lovely and warm and there was plenty of wood for the two sitting rooms with open fires. (suggestion for future guests that there should also be kindling available or a hatchet in the wood store).
The kitchen has plenty of space for a large group and has all the facilities required.

Games room includes table tennis, darts, a pool table (not level) and loads of other outdoor games and kids toys etc. I'm sure that kids would have a blast here with all the space and corridors and gardens to run around.

Bedrooms and bathrooms. Plenty of well appointed bathrooms. One or two of the double beds were on the small side, but overall, a good mix of twins and doubles etc.

The house has bags of history and lots of original family paintings and photographs. Overall the decor is tired and in some places, slightly distressed, but it all adds to the charm and doesn't inconvenience in any way.

Plenty of parking space and nice gardens.
Definitely recommended and good value for large groups. We were 12 people.

Get detailed directions or stop and ask a local as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Wooton House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertwH1...
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT HOUSE”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

although a bit frayed here & there it made the house more interesting as the owners try to keep it as original as possible.everyone loved the house & the grounds with its own tennis court. lots of places nearby to visit.it was sad to leave as the week went so fast would definately come here again. a great holiday in a brilliant house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ammount of space in the house & original condition
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad you were pleased with the house and grounds and that you enjoyed visiting local attractions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing