We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masons Arms(Branscombe)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
158
29
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
29
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver cottagelyme regiswarm welcomeopen firebrilliant hostessfantastic cooked breakfastbiscuitsset in beautiful countrysidebunk bedsstayed longerjurassic coasta great staynothing is too much troubletwo nightseast devonlarge roomgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We couldn't agree more with the reviews on here regarding Kate's farm B&B. We wee greeted on arrival by Kate and enjoyed a pot of tea by the fire. The children were delighted to find the hidden toy room, filled with lots of toys that they love. We had the large family room and it was perfect for us - lots of space for us all. This was our first break away with our new Golden Retriever puppy and Kate was relaxed and helpful enabling us to enjoy the break without stressing about our puppy causing too much disruption.

Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice. The children helped to feed the chickens and collect the eggs which they loved and they were then able to have them as a dippy egg for breakfast the next day. Happy children.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Kate was a fab host and we would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnsMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Made very welcome again at the rustic old farm house. Tea on arrival in front of the large open fire. Had the down stairs room again, has door straight onto garden, Rooble (our terrier) loves it here. Great breakfast. Cosy room. Treated like we are family. Hope to see you soon Kate.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Iluvdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Cornwall and chose it because of all the great reviews and we were not disappointed. We arrived to a warm welcome from Kate and her woofers and she showed us to our room which was small but cosy and had a separate en-suite shower room and bathroom and it opened directly into the beautiful garden which was perfect for our dog. Kate very kindly recommended a local pub for us to eat in and even called ahead to book a table, which was lucky as it was a Saturday night and very busy, by the way we would recommend The Ship in Axmouth - the food was excellent. Our room at Kates had everything we needed including tea and coffee facilities and toiletries - when we got back from dinner we sat in the communal lounge and had a glass of wine with some of the other guests which was lovely.
Breakfast in the morning was fabulous and had eggs fresh from the chickens in the garden - there is plenty to choose from including a full English or kippers, porridge, cereals and plenty of tea, coffee and juice.
We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend Kate and her lovely home to anyone else wanting a cosy stay in a beautiful location.
Thanks Kate - from Rob and Lesley and Oscar x

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from Kate's Farm this evening, and are already trying to find an excuse to go back.

We visited Devon, on this occasion, to go to River Cottage HQ, and Kate's Farm is conveniently very close. We chose her B&B on the strength of her other complimentary reviews on here; and we can heartily concur with all the good things that people have to say about Kate, her lovely dogs (who Kate makes as visible or invisible as you wish), her unique and welcoming home, and her exceptional cooking.

Our children and rather exuberant puppy were made completely at home, and tended to every bit as attentively and respectfully as we were. Our youngsters were blown away by the huge inglenook fireplace with it's warming and soporific fire (the perfect spot to relax with a glass of wine or beer). Add to that a secret cubby/hideaway/den tucked into the side filled with toys for them to play with, and the children simply could not believe their luck. They were then invited to collect the eggs for the following morning's breakfast and meet the cockerel - making two very happy bunnies.

Our room was also unique. The large family room with ensuite was clean and comfortable, and gave us privacy and space for all the members of the family, including the dog. Free Wi-Fi was gratefully received, too.

A good, non-greasy full English can be hard to find, but Kate's was delicious with high quality, tasty ingredients and a large choice of preserves including honey from down the lane and homemade lemon curd. (I'd love to know how Kate cooks her mushrooms - they were juicy and so savoury at the same time!)

With everything you'd expect from a characterful Devonshire farmhouse including original flagstone floors, impressive oak beams, beautiful grounds and carefully-chosen antiques, Kate opens her home to you in a relaxed, generous and down-to-earth manner.

We will definitely be returning soon. Many thanks again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katesfarm, Owner at Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

I cannot say how touched I was by your wonderful review. Thank you very much.
By the way, I cook my mushrooms in sunflower oil with plenty of ground sea salt on a high heat for approx ten minutes.
Looking forward to your next visit. All best wishes, Kate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for a night at Kate's Farm B&B recently. It was not our first stay and most definitely will not be our last! Kate is a charming hostess and the Farmhouse is cosy and welcoming. Our room, with en suite shower room was very comfortable and quiet. Fantastic cooked breakfast complete with eggs laid by Kate's own chickens. Thanks, Kate, and we hope to stay with you again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews