We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Musbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Kate was a very welcoming host and after our stressful journey from London she arranged a welcome pot of tea in the garden overlooking beautiful views. We were going to a wedding at River Cottage and the location was perfect. Kate arranged the taxi there and back and we were very grateful. The breakfasts and hospitality were marvellous. Our family room was very comfortable and spacious. It should be noted that this is a dog friendly B&B. A very enjoyable stay, many thanks Kate!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    29
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
70
77
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived quite late and Kate was very welcoming to us and the dogs. Once we unpacked Kate quite happily took us around some of the farms fields so the dogs could stretch their legs and ours too. What a welcome. The area is stunning and Kate gave us lots of local information.
We had the large family room which was very cosy and lovely comfy bed. After a fab nights sleep Kate explained its the amethyst that helps. The bed helped though.
Up for a very tasty cooked breakfast and a another walk up the lane before heading off on our day. We must say that Kate is a wonderful host and her farmhouse is absolutely full of charm.
Next time we shall be taking the Garden room. The view is priceless and the room is beautiful and playful. Thanks also to Mr Bob, Fern and the lovely Masie. See you soon. Marie Kevin

Room Tip: all of them are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just come back from Kate's for the 4th time. Really great. Fantastic area, beautiful countryside. The farm is wonderful. So clean and interesting , especially the inglenook. Kate is lovely, so helpful and friendly and her breakfasts - oh boy, don't expect to eat for the rest of the day. Our favourite room is the Garden Room. So cozy with a great shower room and separate bathroom. It opens directly into the garden with loads of bird sound but also plenty of silence. We will be back. Marilyn

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived on Monday after booking a couple of weeks before.

Kate met us upon our arrival, and was very welcoming. We had booked one room, but as this was on the small side, and not at all like it looks online, she did offer a larger family room, as it was available, and was a much better size.
The building is old and quaint,and there are areas, as in all old places that need attention.
Unfortunately after being shown through the garden to where the chickens reside, we realised the garden was not one for spending much time in, as the grass wasn't cut and we did see one of her sweet dogs, doing its business amongst the tall grass, which was a little off putting.

Unfortunatley we had to cut our stay very short, as my husband was taken ill, and wanted to get back home,so we were not able to sample Katies' cooked breakfast although she did pack us off with a little gift which was very thoughtful and some eggs from her chickens which were very tasty indeed! (She has a no refund policy)

A very firiendly and hospitable lady, although if I may make one criticsm, we found her to reveal a little too much information about her personal life when we just asked a general question.

Room Tip: The garden room has a very small bed, i would call it a queen size, which is larger than a single be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazziep2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katesfarm, Owner at Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I was sorry to read these guests were not happy with my garden room. Yes, it is on the compact side but is fully ensuite and does open straight out into the garden, useful for dog owners.
The bed is a standard 4ft 6 inch double, not Queen which I think is smaller. I did offer my large family room, also ensuite with a king sized bed. They were a lovely couple and I hope he is feeling better now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

if you want a b&b in quiet idyllic setting and to be able to take in the rustic charm of old farm house this is the place for you. Plus free range eggs for breakfast, our dog was made very welcome and would not hesitate to stay if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at Kate's Farm for a few days in May, and had a wonderful visit. Kate is very friendly and accommodating, and offered great suggestions for things to do in the area. The sitting room is inviting, with a large fireplace, and my room was clean and comfortable. The garden is beautiful. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelitripling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We only stayed the one night ahead of the launch day at the Lyme Regis Boat Building Academy. Kate was very welcoming and our dog also fitted in with her hosts! Lovely breakfast followed a comfortable night. We would definitely recommend this B&B for dog owners. Kate also returned a small pillow we left behind. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
1.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.5 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.9 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lower Bruckland Farm, Musbury, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in over 95 acres of rolling Devon hills, 3 miles from the sea, a Grade 2 listed farmhouse over 400 years old, a relaxing base from which to explore the Jurassic Coast. Choose from the large ensuite family room, the double ensuite garden room, or the double room. A traditional full English breakfast ( with eggs from Kate's chickens ) is served in the guest lounge with it's huge inglenook fireplace, real log fires! beams and stone flagged floor. Children and dogs welcome. Ample off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing