We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masons Arms(Branscombe)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Chardstock)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
158
29
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
29
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver cottagelyme regiswarm welcomeopen firebrilliant hostessfantastic cooked breakfastbiscuitsset in beautiful countrysidebunk bedsstayed longerjurassic coasta great staynothing is too much troubletwo nightseast devonlarge roomgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were welcomed with coffee tea and biscuits which was lovely. Our room was the large family room which was spacious and clean with a nice en suite. There was no tv in the room which surprised us as we have never come across this before. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice. However we did feel that we couldn't relax properly during our stay. We love dogs but didn't like them being where we eat and we felt that we had no privacy and had to make conversation. I am sure this is a lovely place but I wouldn't recommend for families.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Kate was a very welcoming host and after our stressful journey from London she arranged a welcome pot of tea in the garden overlooking beautiful views. We were going to a wedding at River Cottage and the location was perfect. Kate arranged the taxi there and back and we were very grateful. The breakfasts and hospitality were marvellous. Our family room was very comfortable and spacious. It should be noted that this is a dog friendly B&B. A very enjoyable stay, many thanks Kate!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived quite late and Kate was very welcoming to us and the dogs. Once we unpacked Kate quite happily took us around some of the farms fields so the dogs could stretch their legs and ours too. What a welcome. The area is stunning and Kate gave us lots of local information.
We had the large family room which was very cosy and lovely comfy bed. After a fab nights sleep Kate explained its the amethyst that helps. The bed helped though.
Up for a very tasty cooked breakfast and a another walk up the lane before heading off on our day. We must say that Kate is a wonderful host and her farmhouse is absolutely full of charm.
Next time we shall be taking the Garden room. The view is priceless and the room is beautiful and playful. Thanks also to Mr Bob, Fern and the lovely Masie. See you soon. Marie Kevin

Room Tip: all of them are lovely
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just come back from Kate's for the 4th time. Really great. Fantastic area, beautiful countryside. The farm is wonderful. So clean and interesting , especially the inglenook. Kate is lovely, so helpful and friendly and her breakfasts - oh boy, don't expect to eat for the rest of the day. Our favourite room is the Garden Room. So cozy with a great shower room and separate bathroom. It opens directly into the garden with loads of bird sound but also plenty of silence. We will be back. Marilyn

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived on Monday after booking a couple of weeks before.

Kate met us upon our arrival, and was very welcoming. We had booked one room, but as this was on the small side, and not at all like it looks online, she did offer a larger family room, as it was available, and was a much better size.
The building is old and quaint,and there are areas, as in all old places that need attention.
Unfortunately after being shown through the garden to where the chickens reside, we realised the garden was not one for spending much time in, as the grass wasn't cut and we did see one of her sweet dogs, doing its business amongst the tall grass, which was a little off putting.

Unfortunatley we had to cut our stay very short, as my husband was taken ill, and wanted to get back home,so we were not able to sample Katies' cooked breakfast although she did pack us off with a little gift which was very thoughtful and some eggs from her chickens which were very tasty indeed! (She has a no refund policy)

A very firiendly and hospitable lady, although if I may make one criticsm, we found her to reveal a little too much information about her personal life when we just asked a general question.

Room Tip: The garden room has a very small bed, i would call it a queen size, which is larger than a single bed but not as big as a standard double bed., and the tea making facilties are in the shower room ( along with the loo),
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazziep2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katesfarm, Owner at Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

I was sorry to read these guests were not happy with my garden room. Yes, it is on the compact side but is fully ensuite and does open straight out into the garden, useful for dog owners.
The bed is a standard 4ft 6 inch double, not Queen which I think is smaller. I did offer my large family room, also ensuite with a king sized bed. They were a lovely couple and I hope he is feeling better now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews